It All Comes Down to This for MOWA…Championship Night at Tri-City!

MOWA - Monster Energy Sprint Series(Bill W) October 7, 2012 – It’s hard to believe but the end is near on the 2012 campaign for the Midwest Open Wheel Association sprint car series! This Friday night proves to be a great night of racing at the Tri-City Speedway near Granite City, Illinois. Plenty of heavy hitters are expected to take on the MOWA regulars on the racy 3/8-mile oval!

Jerrod Hull has all but locked up his second consecutive championship with the series. The Sikeston, Missouri native leads in season wins with four. Plenty of spots are up for grabs behind him, however. AJ Bruns, Korey Weyant, Ben Wagoner and Jim Moughan round out the top five in season points. Jimmy Hurley, Jordan Goldesberry, Chris Urish, Robbie Standridge and Logan Faucon complete the top ten in the standings.

Two-time Knoxville Raceway track champion Brian Brown is expected to challenge the usual contingent. Brown has two career wins with the MOWA including this season’s Mary Lee Standridge Memorial. Bill Balog will also be in the house! The “Alaskan Cheesehead” is a five-time IRA champion, and has won the last two Bill Waite Jr. Memorials at the LaSalle (IL) Speedway. Danny Smith, who has won the only other MOWA visit to Tri-City Speedway, and has captured three series wins this year will also be on hand!

Smith also won the last MOWA event Saturday, September 22 at the 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa. It was his fifth career triumph with the series. Joey Moughan captured the “Shaheen’s Blast from the Past” event at Jacksonville (IL) Speedway on Friday, September 21 to record his long awaited first series victory.

Don’t miss the last big 410 sprint car blowout in Illinois this season! Join us at the Tri-City Speedway this Friday night!

Tri-City Speedway has a lot going on Friday night! This will also be the season championship for their PCRA Pro Crate Late Model Series with $1,000 to win and they will have their “Takin’ it to the Streets” Street Stock event with $3,000 going to the winner. For more information, visit!
Local Company helping out MOWA Series and Point Fund
We want to say thank you to Bill and Jodie Baker. Not only do you see them at the MOWA Booth at every MOWA event helping out our great fans they have decided to donate 10% of all proceeds of their own business to the MOWA points fund. So please go and support not only our great contingency sponsors but our local businesses as well. You can view all the great products by going to!

On the Web!

For more information on the Midwest Open Wheel Association, visit today!

MOWA Live!

If you can’t make it to the racetrack, or if you are at the racetrack with a smart phone, check out for real-time results and lineups on race night! You can compete by predicting the winners, and win big prizes!

Follow us on Facebook …

A Look at the Winners at Tri-City Speedway (1 event)

7-28-11 Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH

2012 MOWA Sprint Car Series Point Standings (top 20)
Driver Hometown Car # Total Points

1 Jerrod Hull Sikeston, MO 12 1400.5
2 AJ Bruns Athens, IL 44 1251.5
3 Korey Weyant Springfield, IL 7s/99w 1179.5
4 Ben Wagoner Emden, IL 84 1147.5
5 Jim Moughan Jr. Springfield, IL 1m 1136.5
6 Jimmy Hurley Springfield, IL 35 956.5
7 Jordan Goldesberry Springfield, IL 65 945.5
8 Chris Urish Elkhart, IL 77u 944.5
9 Robbie Standridge Springfield, IL 22 933.5
10 Logan Faucon Elkhart, IL 52F 812
11 Jeremy Standridge Springfield, IL 10s 790.5
12 Joey Moughan Springfield, IL 17m/21x 760
13 Bret Tripplett Lincoln, IL 22T 741
14 Jimmy Davies Oquawka, IL 99 624
15 Andy Baugh Mason City, IL 6B 622.5
Danny Smith Chillicothe, OH 4 622.5
17 Caleb Wankel ® Jacksonville, IL 5 595
18 Paul Nienhiser ® Chapin, IL 9 567
19 Brett Samonds Springfield, IL 47 554.5
20 Ron Standridge Springfield, IL 83 511

2012 Midwest Open Wheel Association (MOWA) Schedule and Winners

Friday, April 20 – Lincoln Speedway (Rain)
Friday, May 4 – Jacksonville Speedway (Rain)
Friday, May 18 – Jacksonville Speedway (AJ Bruns, Athens, IL)
Saturday, May 26 – I-55 Speedway (Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO)
Sunday, May 27 – 34 Raceway (Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO)
Friday, June 15 – Lincoln Speedway (Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL)
Friday, June 29 – Tri-City Speedway (Heat)
Sunday, July 1 – Quincy Raceways (Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL)
Friday, July 6 – Lincoln Speedway (Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO)
Sunday, July 8 – Vermilion County Speedway (Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO)
Wednesday, July 11 – Lee County Speedway (Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA)
Wednesday, July 25 – Highland Speedway (Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH)
Thursday, July 26 – Peoria Speedway (Canceled-Fence)
Friday, July 27 – Jacksonville Speedway – Mary Lee Standridge Memorial $3,000 to win (Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO)
Saturday, July 28 – Macon Speedway (Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH)
Sunday, August 19 – LaSalle Speedway (Billy Balog, Brookfield, WI)
Friday, August 24 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL)
Friday, August 31 – Lincoln Speedway (Rain)
Saturday, September 1 – Plymouth Speedway – Earl Gaerte Memorial (Rain)
Saturday, September 15 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO)
Friday, September 21 – Jacksonville Speedway (Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL)
Saturday September 22 – 34 Raceway (Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH)
Friday, October 12 – Tri-City Speedway – Season Championship (Pontoon Beach, IL)

Bill W Media
Monroe, IA USA
Twitter: @BillWMedia