HomeOpen Wheel Modified NewsMatt Cooper wins K&N USCS Outlaw Modified final at Tennessee National

Matt Cooper wins K&N USCS Outlaw Modified final at Tennessee National

Matt Cooper
Matt Cooper

Hohenwald, TN – Saturday, March 16, 2013 – West Tennessee open wheel modified hot-shoe, Matt Cooper from McKenzie, Tennessee bested a field of top Mid South area Outlaw modified drivers to win Saturday night’s K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Series 25-lap main event at Tennessee National Raceway. Cooper started the $1000 to win contest from the outside of the third row for the Tennessee 200 Modified final. He took over the lead from Parsons, Tennessee driver John Alexander on lap 3 and led the final 23 laps of the contest to the www.rockauto.com USCS victory lane.
The previous night’s feature winner in the two-day contest, Todd Bates from Hurricane Mills, Tennessee who initially started in third position chased Cooper home in the runner-up spot. This was after Bates went to the rear of the field after being involved in a first lap tangle that KO’ed several of the top entries. Young gun J.C. Waller from Arlington, Tennessee crossed the finish line in third place after starting eleventh. Dustin Castleberry from Malden, Missouri finished in the fourth position after a seventh place start. A previous USCS Modified Rookie of the Year, Cody Mea from Southaven, Mississippi rounded out the top five drivers.
John Alexander, who was a two-time 2012 Tennessee National Raceway feature winner led the balance of the field in sixth place. Luke Riddle from Hartselle, Alabama followed in seventh place and Joseph Leister from Millington, Tennessee finished eighth. Steve Maughan from Clifton, Tennessee finished in the ninth position and Justin Cross from Centerville, Tennessee rounded out the top ten.

John Alexander won the Wildwood Disc Brakes First Heat Race. Michael Turner from Paris, Tennessee won the Xtreme Race Graphics Second Heat and Todd Bates collected the victory in the Aero Race Wheels Third Heat. Luke Riddle earned the Comp Cams Hardcharger Award after charging from 18th starting position to finish 7th. John Alexander also collected the K&N Filters Pole Award.
K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified results from Tenn. National Raceway on Saturday, March 16, 2013:
K&N Filters USCS Modified Dash: Chris Moore, Troy Dow, Michael turner, J.C.Waller, Justin Cross and Todd Bates.
Wilwood Disc Brakes First Heat: John Alexander, Kody Mea, Dustin Castleberry, Jason Skinner, Justin Cross and Jonathan Rowan
Xtreme Race Graphics Second Heat: Michael Turner, Eddie Rhinehart, Chris moore, J.C.Waller, Jeff Scott and Tyler Wood DNS.
Aero Race Wheels Third Heat: Todd Bates, Matt Cooper, Joseph Leister, Steve Maughan plus Luke Riddle who DNS and Troy Dow who DNS.
K&N Filters USCS vs. Mississippi modified Challenge Series Main Event 25-laps
1. 18 Matt Cooper, McKenzie, TN
2. B25 Todd Bates, Hurricane Mills, TN
3. 7w J.C. Waller, Arlington, TN
4. 76 Dustin Castleberry, Malden, MO
5. 26s Kody Mea, Southaven, MS
6. 15 John Alexander, Parsons, TN
7. 28 Luke Riddle, Hartselle, AL
8. 89 Joseph Leister, Millington, TN
9. 7m Steve Maughan, Clifton, TN
10. 00 Justin Cross, Centerville, TN
11. 00s Jason Skinner, Hartselle, AL
12. 27 Michael Turner, Paris, TN
13. 13 Jeff Scott, Senatobia, MS
14. 21 Troy Dow, Arlington, TN
15. Jonathan Rowan, Jackson, TN
16. 45x Chris Moore, Hernando, MS
17. 93 Eddie Rhinehart, Lawrenceburg, TN
18. 17Jr. Tyler Wood, Centerville, TN
K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Race Awards:
K&N Filters Pole Award: 15 John Alexander
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: 7w J.C.Waller
Comp Cam Hardcharger Award: 28 Luke Riddle
Wilwood Disc Brakes First Heat Award: John Alexander
Xtreme Race Graphics Second Heat Award Turner
Aero Race Wheels Third Heat Award: Todd Bates
Rock Hard Powder Coating Top Five Award: Kody Mea
DMI/Bulldog Rear End Top Ten Award: 00 Justin Cross

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

%d bloggers like this: