Stephens Wins WAR at LA

WAR - Non Wing Sprint SeriesLa Monte, MO (April 13, 2013)-Taking advantage of a late race caution, Josh Stephens charged from his fifteenth starting spot to pick up his first win of 2013 at LA Raceway Saturday night.

Polesitter Chris Parkinson set the pace with fellow front row starter John Helm in tow.  The duo would remain this way over the first couple of laps.

Lap three would prove to be a bad one for Korey Weyant.  As he jockeyed for position with a group of cars just behind the leaders, Weyant had a great run going into turn three.  As a car moved down, Weyant had to take evasive action as he hit the brakes causing his car to lose traction and slide up the track and over the berm in between turns three and four.  Weyant worked his way back onto the track without stopping and the green stayed out.  The incident caused Weyant to fall near the back of the pack as he lost nine positions.

By lap four, 2012 WAR champ Austin Alumbaugh had moved his way up to third behind Parkinson and Helm.  The lead trio would remain this way as a PJ Grimes spin brought out the yellow with nine laps complete.

The yellow was a huge break for Stephens and Weyant who had both worked their way into the top ten by this point.

Parkinson continued to lead Helm and Alumbaugh as the race went green again.
By lap thirteen, Stephens and Weyant had both worked their way into the top five and began to battle each other for the fourth spot.  The battle would continue for another lap until Will Register brought out the second caution with a spin in turn four.

With fourteen laps now in the books, Parkinson again showed the way as Alumbaugh and Stephens worked their way past Helm with Weyant also in the hunt.

The running order would stay this way until Stephens moved past Alumbaugh for second on lap eighteen.  Helm and Weyant also had a good battle for the fourth spot as the pair traded the spot back and forth.

As Parkinson took the white flag, it appeared he was on his way to his first career WAR win.  As he moved down the backstretch and into turn three towards the checkered,  Grimes spun to a stop in turn four setting up a green-white-checkered finish.
This was the break that Stephens needed.   On the restart, Stephens was able to work his way past Parkinson as Weyant moved past Helm, Alumbaugh, and Parkinson.  The Springfield, IL pilot would now set his sights on Stephens, but would run out of time.

Overcoming a frustrating evening set up by throttle linkage problems in his heat, Stephens would take the win in his Summers Farms/Stephens Automotive Eagle with RMS power.  Weyant was impressive in his Collision Concepts #99 finishing a close second with Parkinson falling to third in his CMP Airworks Maxim with Parkinson power.  Chad Goff was also a big mover as he charged up to fourth over the final couple of laps in his Kercher Racing Engines XXX.  Alumbaugh was fifth in the Rick Smith Engine Connection MRP.  Helm was sixth as he was followed by Taylor Walton.  Rob Hockett, Matthew Fox, and Steven Cross rounded out the top ten.

In qualifying heat race action, WAR regulars Jeff Wingate and Mitchell Moore were both okay after flipping badly in separate incidents.

Weyant was the Keizer Wheels fast qualifier and he also won  Steve Watt Enterprises heat number one.  Alumbaugh was the winner of  SWE heat number two.

The WAR sprint series presented by Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps will next be in action along with the United States Auto Club at the US 36 Raceway in Osborn, MO on Friday May 3rd.  The following day, May 4th, they will travel to Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO.

Please go to for the latest news about Wingless Auto Racing.


Wingless Auto Racing presented by Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps

LA Raceway-La Monte, MO

April 13, 2013


A Main- 20 laps

09-Josh Stephens, Buckner, MO (15), 2. 99-Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL (6), 3. 66-Chris Parkinson, Gladstone, MO (1), 4. 9-Chad Goff, Spring Hill, KS (7), 5. 26-Austin Alumbaugh, Higginsville, MO (5), 6. 12-John Helm, Kearney, MO (2), 7. 14-Taylor Walton, Warrensburg, MO (8), 8. 2AZ-Rob Hockett, Lone Jack, MO (3), 9. 23F Matthew Fox, Hughesville, MO (9), 10. 19S-Steven Cross, Clinton, MO (4), 11. 70-Peter Palazzolo, Pacific, MO (11), 12. 10-Will Register, Sedalia, MO (12), 13. 00-

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: