Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> IMCA Late Model Series News --> Deery Brothers Series News --> Deery Series heads to Quad City for Hershel Roberts Memorial

Deery Series heads to Quad City for Hershel Roberts Memorial

Quad City SpeedwayEAST MOLINE, Ill. (April 30) – After five straight rainouts, the Deery Brothers Summer Series gets back on track with a Sunday, May 5 show at Quad City Speedway.

The third annual Hershel Roberts Memorial event for IMCA Late Models pays $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start.

Ray Guss Jr. of Milan won the two previous events, held in memory of his late friend and car owner.

Pit gates open at 3 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 3:30 p.m. The drivers’ meeting is at 5:15 p.m., with hot laps and racing to follow.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, $8 for kids ages 6-12 and free for youngsters five and under. Pit passes are $30.

This will be the 15th tour event held at East Moline dating back to 1990. The only other multiple winner was Rob Toland, now of Colona, in 1998 and 2004.

Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa was the winner when the 27th annual Deery Series got its one event in on April 6 at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.

Four previous tours, the most recent of them in 1999, had seen just a single Deery date recorded before the calendar turned to May.

A pair of rescheduled dates follow the Quad City show, at Dubuque, Iowa, Speedway on May 8 and at Farley, Iowa, Speedway on May 21. Boone, Iowa, Speedway hosts the traditional Memo­rial Day special on May 27.

IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds are also on the Sunday card at East Moline.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, Iowa, 50; 2. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 49; 3. Brian Harris, Davenport, Iowa, 48; 4. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa, 47; 5. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction, Iowa, 46; 6. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, Iowa, 45; 7. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, Iowa, 44; 8. Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa, 43; 9. Tom Goble, Burling­ton, Iowa, 42; 10. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, Iowa, 41; 11. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, 40; 12. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa, 39; 13. Spencer Diercks, Bettendorf, Iowa,  38; 14. Jeff Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, Iowa, 37; 15. Matt Strassheim, Morning Sun, Iowa, 36; 16. Tom Dar­byshire, Morning Sun, 35; Iowa, 17. Dan Shelliam, Hazel Green, Wis., 34; 18. Mike Murphy Jr., Colona, 33; 19. Ron Klein, Sherrill, Iowa, 32; 20. Dean Wagner, Evansdale, Iowa, 31.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email