Home Race Track News Indiana Hoosier Hundred Rookies Looking for Big Win Thursday at Indianapolis!!

    Hoosier Hundred Rookies Looking for Big Win Thursday at Indianapolis!!

    USACINDIANPOLIS, IN (May 17, 2013)-A large number of rookies, including two females, are looking to become the first rookie winner of the Hoosier Hundred USAC Silver Crown race in thirty nine years on May 23 at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. Oklahoma’s own Jackie Howerton was the last rookie winner of the prestigious 100-mile dirt track race when he scored a stunning upset win over Mario Andretti and Al Unser in 1974, driving a unique turbocharged Offenhauser dirt car for legendary mechanic George Bignotti. Howerton was just the second rookie winner (Eddie Sachs in 1958 the first) in the now 60 year history of the Hoosier Hundred.

    Second generation driver Miranda Throckmorton of nearby Avon and Taylor Ferns of Michigan are two young ladies currently working their way up the racing ladder and seek to become the first females to make the Hoosier Hundred starting lineup at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. Throckmorton, daughter of former driver Billy Throckmorton, has been running sprint cars in central Indiana. Ferns is a midget driver in both the USAC Mopar Midget Series and the Lucas Oil Powri Midget Series. Sarah Fisher attempted the Hoosier Hundred in 1998 but never took a qualifying lap as the clutch gave out on her machine. Cheryl Glass is the only female to make a starting lineup for a Silver Crown race at the fairgrounds, running the 1982 Hulman 100.

    Second generation driver Casey Shuman will attempt to follow in father Ron’s footsteps next Thursday. Ron won the 1992 Hoosier Hundred in a thriller that saw he, Steve Butler and Jeff Swindell battle and bang wheels on the last lap of the race. Other second generation drivers looking for their first Hoosier Hundred start include Kentucky’s Kenny Gentry and Rich Camfield of Illinois.

    Californian Robert Ballou is one of the most exciting drivers on the USAC Sprint Car tour and he too makes his first attempt at the Hoosier Hundred driving for the legendary Bob Hampshire and car owner Ralph DePalma.

    Fans can see the Hoosier Hundred on a new night, Thursday May 23 at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. Its expected that many of the particpants and dignitaries at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway will make their way for an evening of competition at the fairgrounds.

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Charleston Speedway Results – 8/8/20

    B Modifieds A Feature 1 00:00:00 Pos Start Driver Hometown Car 1 2 Deece Schwartz Ashmore, IL 121 2 1 Cody Zobrist Highland, IL 787 3 3 Anthony Tucker Charleston, IL 55 4 5 B.J. Deal Brownstown, IL 3W 5 7 John Seets III Brighton, IL 360 6 8 Ryan Hamilton Fairview Heights, IL 58R 7 6 Steve Phillips Neoga, IL 24S 8 10 Jimmie Naylor Brighton, IL 23 9 12 Timmy Boldrey Saint Marie,...

    Kids Night Wins go to Blackburn, Campbell, Walker, Raffurty, and Russell at Central Missouri Speedway!

    Central Missouri Speedway August 8, 2020 For Immediate Release (Warrensburg, Missouri) Overnight and morning rain showers could not dampen the spirit of racing on Kids Night at...

    Ramirez sails to USMTS Slick Mist Show-Me Shootout win at Lucas Oil Speedway

    WHEATLAND, MO. (August 9, 2020) - Dereck Ramirez led all but the opening lap in picking up his fifth United States Modified Touring Series...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email