Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> IMCA Late Model Series News --> Deery Brothers Series News --> Kay is A-OK at Independence, ends Harris’ streak with first career Deery win

Kay is A-OK at Independence, ends Harris’ streak with first career Deery win

Justin Kay – Mike Ruefer photo


INDEPENDENCE, Iowa, (July 2) – One streak ended and another began Tuesday night at Independence Motor Speedway.

Justin Kay topped the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature for IMCA Late Models, ending the rec­ord-tying string of four straight tour victories by Brian Harris.

Kay impressed in earning his career-first series win, catching Harris on the 30th circuit and pulling away to win by most of a straightaway in a fast-paced 50-lapper that ran green to checkered.

The win paid $3,000.

“It was awesome. The last two weeks, this car has just been great,” said Kay, coming off back-to-back weekly wins at Davenport. “With the seconds and thirds we’ve been getting, I thought the Deery win would come eventually. To be able to race with these guys and beat them is tough, that’s for sure.”

Harris had started on the pole and ended as the runner-up despite a power steering pump that quit on him early. Jeff Aikey, Tyler Bruening and Joel Callahan com­pleted the top five in a mid-week show that played out before a nearly full grandstand.

After grappling with fellow front row starter Rick Dralle at the onset, Harris had Aikey on his back bumper when they caught up with the back on the field on lap 15. Aikey, winner of the two previous Deery features at Indee, was just in front at the flagstand when the 21st lap was scored.

Harris was back in front the next time around, with Aikey, Bruening and Kay all right behind.

Kay went to the bottom to pass Aikey for second on lap 27. He shot past Harris in the first set of turns and was starting to pull away when lap 30 was scored.

The race stayed green and no one could keep pace with Kay, who’d finished second twice during Harris’ streak, at Farley on May 21 and again on June 11 at Tipton.

Harris remains on top of the standings heading to Davenport Speedway for the Friday, July 5 Deery show. Kay and Andy Eckrich are next in the points race.

Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. for the ninth of 17 events on the 2013 series schedule. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.

Jason Utter advanced nine positions to finish seventh and take hard charger honors. Nate Beuseling was the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner at Independ­ence.

Leah Wroten was the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock winner Tuesday night. The victory was the ca­reer first for Wroten, also the first female driver to win a feature at Independence since 1971.

Alex Zwanziger was the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod winner.

Feature Results

Deery Series – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 2. Brian Harris, Davenport; 3. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 4. Tyler Bruening, Decorah; 5. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 6. Rick Dralle, Waterloo; 7. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction; 8. Curt Martin, Independence; 9. Tom Goble, Burlington; 10. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin; 11. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque; 12. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 13. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove; 14. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 15. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 16. Chad Holladay, Muscat­ine; 17. Nick Marolf, Moscow; 18. Darren Ackerman, Readlyn; 19. Luke Merfeld, Dubuque; 20. Rob Moss, Iowa City; 21. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill.; 22. Spencer Diercks, Davenport; 23. Dan Shelliam, Hazel Green, Wis.; 24. Colby Springsteen, Wapello.

1st heat (top three) – 1. Callahan; 2. Aikey; 3. Harris; 4. Merfeld; 5. Guss; 6. Travis Smock, Independ­ence; 7. DeFrance; 8. Marolf; 9. Dale Hackwell, Washburn.

2nd heat – 1. Ackerman; 2. Bruening; 3. Kay; 4. Shelliam; 5. Diercks; 6. Andy Eckrich; 7. Jon Pas­sick, Waterloo; 8. Dain Sires, Cedar Falls.

3rd heat – 1. Martin; 2. Dralle; 3. Holladay; 4. Utter; 5. Moss; 6. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 7. Ron Boyse, Kalona; 8. Beuseling; 9. John Emerson, Waterloo.

4th heat – 1. Springsteen; 2. Zrostlik; 3. Goble; 4. Hurst; 5. Denny Eckrich; 6. Matt Ryan, Daven­port; 7. Dean Wagner, Evansdale; 8. Jason Rauen, Farley.

1st “B” feature (top four) – 1. Shelliam; 2. Diercks; 3. Merfeld; 4. Andy Eckrich; 5. DeFrance; 6. Sires; 7. Marolf; 8. Hackwell; 9. Guss; 10. Passick; 11. Smock.

2nd “B” feature – 1. Hurst; 2. Utter; 3. Denny Eckrich; 4. Moss; 5. Ryan; 6. Johnson; 7. Rauen; 8. Boyse; 9. Beuseling; 10. Emerson; 11. Wagner.

Hard charger – DeFrance. Point provisionals – Guss, Beuseling and Marolf.

Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods – 1. Alex Zwanziger, Nashua; 2. Kip Siems, Cedar Falls; 3. Shane Ebaugh, Evansdale; 4. Curt Hilmer, Dysart; 5. Ryan Maitland, Waterloo; 6. Austin Moyer, Dubuque; 7. Tyler Soppe, Sherrill; 8. Brian Hilbert, Independence; 9. Jim Buhlman, Cedar Falls; 10. Joe Harken, Waterloo; 11.  Lucas Lundry, Maynard; 12. Rod McDonald, Manchester; 13. Synjun Bauer, Prairie du Chien, Wis.; 14. Brennen Chipp, Waterloo; 15. Ben Chapman, Clarence; 16. Dakoda Sellers, Vinton; 17. Dave Schulze, Keystone; 18. Mike Hogencamp, Waterloo; 19. Mike Nielsen, Evansdale; 20. Matt McCahen, Waterloo.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Leah Wroten, Independence; 2. Benji Irvine, Cedar Falls; 3. Justin Stander, Vinton; 4. Jim Ball, Independence; 5. Quinton Miller, Independence; 6. Brian Happel, Vinton; 7. Shawn Kuennen, Hazleton; 8. Justin Wacha, Vinton; 9. Matt Lundry, Oelwein; 10. Chris Luloff, Independence.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email