Hagar charges to 10th USCS win of 2013 at Poplar Bluff Speedway

USCSPoplar Bluff, MO – October 12, 2013 – United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters National points leader Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas charged to his tenth USCS feature win of the 2013 season on Saturday night at Poplar Bluff Speedway during the winged sprint car portion of the 13th annual Cotton Boll Cup. Hagar who started from the K&N Filters Pole Position lead every lap of the main event around the high speed 3/8 mile clay oval. Hagar held off the pressure of ten-time series Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee for the first eighteen laps then fended off the charge of defending (2012) series Champion, Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas over the final twelve caution-free laps for his tenth trip of the season to the www.rockauto.com USCS victory lane.

Tim Crawley crossed the finish line in the runner-up position behind the 22-year old 2006 USCS Rookie of the Year (Hagar) and the veteran Terry Gray claimed the K&N Filters Podium Award in third place. The 2010 USCS National Rookie of the Year, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee charged her way from eighth starting position to finish in fourth place. Another former USCS Rookie of the Year and two-time feature winner in the series, Jerod Roller from Hernando, Mississippi finished in fifth place after starting seventh.

Two-USCS time 2013 feature winner, Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee finished ahead of the next group of drivers in sixth place. Lee Sowell from Nesbit, Mississippi finished in the seventh position. Former series Chanmpion, Marshall Skinner from Marion, Arkansas followed in eighth place. Rookie Curt Terrell from Bartlett, Tennessee followed in ninth place and another talented rookie driver, eighteen year-old Brandon Hanks from Burleson, Tennessee completed the top ten drivers.

Terry Gray won the 6 cars, 6 laps Hoosier Tire Speed Dash. Lee Sowell won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Gray then also won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. After the first heat race winner (Lee Sowell) drew a zero in the K&N Filters Pole Award drawing Derek Hagar who was the high passing point’s leader after the qualifying heats, was awarded the K&N Filters Pole Position. Morgan Turpen advanced the most positions in the main event to earn the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger Award.

The next USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car event will the two-day 5th annual USCS Fall Nationals series season finale at Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas on Friday and Saturday, November 1st and 2nd. The event includes the exciting and unique Flip Flop 50 double features for the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour sprint cars. The exciting event features the first main event starting straight-up from qualifying rounds and pays $2500 to win. The second main event also pays $2500 to win, but the field is fully inverted from the finish of the first main event. A $2500 bonus os posted for any driver who can win both main events after winning the first and starting the second from the final starting position.

For rules, updated schedules and other info on the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour 2013 and 17th annual National tour please visit www.uscsracing.com or call the series office at 770-865-6097.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour results at Poplar Bluff Speedway on Saturday, October, 12, 2013:

Hoosier Speed Dash Race Results: #10 Terry Gray, #9JR Derek Hager, #88 Tim Crawley, #5 Jerod Roller, #10M Morgan Turpen and #16 Anthony Nicholson

Engler Machine and Tool Heat #1 Race Results: #2 Lee Sowell, #88 Tim Crawley #27 Curt Terrell, #5 Jerod Roller, #10M Morgan Turpen, #22 Dustin Barks, #26 Marshall Skinner, #3-H Brandon Hanks, #13 Taylor Tidmore and #25 Ray Bugg.

Butlerbuilt Heat #2 Race Results: #10 Terry Grey, #9JR Derek Hager, #16 Anthony Nicholson, #11 Jake Roach, #28 Jeff Willingham, #7d Dylan DeJournett, #606 Carl Finder, #9 Kevin Petty and #31 Justin Webb.

USCS presented by K&N Filters Feature Race Results (30-laps)
Poplar Bluff Speedway, Poplar Bluff, MO
01. #9JR Derek Hager, Marion AR
02. #88 Tim Crawley, Benton AR
03. #10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
04. #10M Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
05. #5 Jerod Roller, Hernando, MS
06. #16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
07. #2 Lee Sowell, Nesbit, MS
08. #26 Marshall Skinner, Marion, AR
09. #27 Curt Terrell, Bartlett, TN – Rookie
10. #3H Brandon Hanks, Burleson, TN
11. #22 Dustin Barks, Farmington, MO
12. #13 Taylor Tidmore, Hernando, MS
13. #25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
14. #7d Dylan DeJournett, Essex, MO
15. #11 Jake Roach, Sardis, TN – Rookie
16. #606 Carl Finder, Farmington, MO
17. #9 Kevin Petty, Farmington, MO
18. #28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
19. #31 Justin Webb, Drummonds, TN

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Race Awards:
Hoosier USCS Sprint Speed Dash: 10 Terry Gray
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: 2 Lee Sowell
Butlerbuilt Second Heat Award: 10 Terry Gray
K&N Filters Pole Award: 9Jr. Derek Hagar
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: 10 Terry Gray
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger Award: 10m Morgan Turpen
DMI/Bulldog rear Ends top Ten Award: 3H Brandon Hanks