HomeDirt Late Model NewsIllini 100 Awaits World of Outlaws Late Model Series This Weekend at...

Illini 100 Awaits World of Outlaws Late Model Series This Weekend at Farmer City Raceway

Farmer CityHigh-banked quarter-mile oval set for prestigious $20,000-to-win event April 25-26

By Chris Tilley

FARMER CITY, Ill. – April 22, 2014 – The Sixth Annual Illini 100 this Friday and Saturday, April 25-26, features the World of Outlaws Late Model Series invading Farmer City Raceway for a $20,000-to-win payday.

Darrell Lanigan, of Union, Ky., leads the Outlaws into familiar territory with a 36-point margin over Brandon Sheppard, of New Berlin, Ill. Rick Eckert of York, Pa, who recently took over the Rocket Chassis house car ride for Sheppard, is third in the championship with 2009 Illini 100 winner Shane Clanton, of Zebulon, Ga., sitting in fourth. The 2006 champion, Tim McCreadie, of Watertown, N.Y., is fifth in points and aiming to break into the win column this weekend.

Other series regulars who will be looking to tame the high banks Farmer City include Morgan Bagley of Tyler, Tex., Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., Frank Heckenast Jr. of Orland Park, Ill., Chub Frank of Bear Lake, Pa., Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., Chase Junghans of Manhattan, Ks., Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., and Rick ‘Boom” Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa. Regional standout and teenage sensation Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill, is off to a hot start to the season, picking up wins recently at Eldora Speedway and 34 Raceway.

Through seven events on the tour this season, there have been seven different winners. Among those drivers have been three new series winners including Casey Roberts and Kyle Bronson, who both claimed victories at Volusia Speedway Park, and Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., who claimed his first World of Outlaws Late Model Series victory April 12 at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway.

Other regional stars expected to be in attendance for the Illini 100 will Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., Daren Friedman of Forrest, Ill., Bob Gardner of Germantown, Ill., Joe Harlan of El Paso, Ill., Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa., Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill, Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis.

Former Illini winners at Farmer City include three-time winner Billy Moyer (2008, 2010 and 2013); Clanton (2009) and Mars (2012).

On Friday, April 25, the WoO LMS gang will open the weekend with practice, Ohlins Shocks Time Trials and Heat Races. On Saturday night, April 26, the event concludes with the Last Chance Showdowns and the 100-lap $20,000-to-win event. An open practice session will be held on Thursday night, April 24.

The weekend’s tire rule will feature the DIRTcar UMP Hoosier compounds of LM20, LM30 & LM40. Friday’s program will also feature UMP Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pro Late Models and Hornets. Saturday’s classes include $1,000-to-win for the UMP Modifieds, $1,000-to-win for the Pro Late Models and the Street Stocks will pay $400-to-win.

Adult general admission is $15 Friday and $35 Saturday. A two-day general admission pass at the gate can be purchased for $45. Adult Pit Passes are $20 Thursday for Practice, $30 Friday and $40 for Saturday. A three-day pit pass can be purchased for $85 while a two-day pit pass is $65.

Hot Laps are slated for 7:00 pm Friday and 6:00 pm on Saturday.

Farmer City Raceway is easily accessible off of Interstate 74 in Farmer City, IL. Take exit 159 off of I-74. From the exit travel 6/10th‘s of a mile South on State Road 54 to US150. Travel 7/10th‘s of a mile West on US150 to the Fairgrounds.

Further information on Farmer City Raceway can be obtained by calling (309) 928-9110 or log on to www.farmercityracing.net.

For more information on the WoO LMS, visit www.worldofoutlaws.com .

Fans can also follow the WoO LMS on Twitter at Twitter.com/WoOLateModels and Facebook at Facebook.com/WorldofOutlaws .

World of Outlaws Late Model Series Championship Standings

Car Driver Residence Wins T-5 T-10 F/T Points Behind
29 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY 1 6 7 1 1062 0
1 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL 1 2 6 3 1026 36
24 Rick Eckert York, PA 0 2 5 1 1002 60
25 Shane Clanton Zebulon, GA 0 1 4 0 986 76
39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY 0 1 4 0 936 126
14M Morgan Bagley Tyler, TX 0 1 3 0 936 126
18 Eric Wells Hazard, KY 0 1 2 0 934 128
99Jr Frankie Heckenast Jr. Orland Park, IL 0 0 4 0 924 138
1* Chub Frank Bear Lake, PA 0 0 1 0 912 150
44 Clint Smith Senoia, GA 0 0 1 0 888 174
18c Chase Junghans Manhattan, KS 0 0 2 0 842 220
18x Jack Sullivan Greenbrier, AR 0 0 1 0 808 254
99B Rick ‘Boom’ Briggs Bear Lake, PA 0 0 1 0 808 254
2 Brady Smith Solon Springs, WI 1 3 4 0 692 370
157 Mike Marlar Winfield, TN 1 1 3 0 684 378
19 Tim Fuller Watertown, NY 0 2 2 0 650 412
21L Ivedent Lloyd Jr. Ocala, FL 0 1 2 0 628 434
101 Casey Roberts Toccoa, GA 1 1 2 0 588 474
76 Brandon Overton Appleton, GA 0 0 1 0 574 488
12M Raymond Merrill Sallisaw, OK 0 0 0 0 502 560

World of Outlaws Late Model Series 2014 Event Winners:

Feb. 14 – Brady Smith-Bubba Raceway Park

Feb. 15 – Brandon Sheppard-Bubba Raceway Park

Feb. 16 – Darrell Lanigan-Bubba Raceway Park

Feb. 20 – Casey Roberts-Volusia Speedway Park

Feb. 21 – Kyle Bronson-Volusia Speedway Park

March 29 – Billy Moyer Sr.-I30 Speedway

April 12 -Tazewell Speedway

Upcoming World of Outlaws Late Model Series Events:

April 25-26-Farmer City Raceway-Farmer City, IL-$20,000 to win Illini 100

May 2-Fayetteville Motor Speedway-Fayetteville, NC-$10,000 to win

May 3-Lavonia Speedway-Lavonia, GA-$10,000 to win

The World of Outlaws Late Model Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: American Racing Custom Wheels (Official Custom Wheel), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Armor All (Official Car Care Products), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Lincoln Welders (Official Welder), STP (Official Fuel Treatment), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel), DirtonDirt.com (Hard Charger Award) and McCarthy’s One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning (Raye Vest Memorial Pill Draw Award); in addition to contingency sponsors: Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, MSD, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Shocks, QuarterMaster, Roush Yates Performance Parts, Superflow Dynos and Wrisco Aluminum; along with manufacturer sponsors Capital Race Cars, Integra Shocks, Jake’s Carts, Racing Electronics, Rocket Chassis and TNT Rescue.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: