HomeDirt Late Model NewsCrate Late Model Series NewsLance Jr. Continues To Dominate With Third Win

Lance Jr. Continues To Dominate With Third Win

Steve Lance, Jr.
Steve Lance, Jr.

Cuba, Illinois’ Steve Lance Jr. has by now made it perfectly clear to both his competitors and series officials as well as race fans across the Midwest that he IS the man to beat night in and night out on the QuickCar Dirt Late Model Series circuit this year as he earned his third victory of the season in four tour stops with the only blemish being a runner-up finish last night at the Plymouth Speedway in northern Indiana.

Starting alongside polesitter Steve Shannon, Lance Jr. wasted no time taking the point and he never looked back as he would lead all 25 laps to earn the $1,000 top prize. However, he wasn’t without company as Tommy Sheppard kept pace but could never muster a serious challenge as Lance smoothly worked his way in and out of lapped traffic on his way to the checkered flag. Myles Moos, who started sixth on the grid, would fall back several positions in the early going but rally up the third spot late in the race but would just run out of time to mount a run at the top spot.

Shannon despite starting on the pole would fall back ever slowly but still hold onto a top five finish in the end. Problems would befall on both Nick Bauman and Logan Moody, who started third and fifth, respectively. Bauman, the defending Spoon River Speedway track champion who claimed the third heat race win would be hampered by an early race tangle and hold on to finish tenth, while Moody suffered suffered either a broken rear end or wheel thus ending his night very early. Sheppard would claim second ahead of Moos, while Kolby Vandenbergh and Shannon rounded out the top five.

The series takes a short break before returning to action at Tommy Helfrich’s always immpeccably prepared Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, IN on Saturday night, June 7th.

Summary of Results (18 cars)

Heat 1 8-laps – 1. 15 Steve Shannon 2. T6 Tommy Sheppard 3. 84 Myles Moos

Heat 2 8-laps – 1. 25 Steve Lance 2. 162 Logan Moody 3. 6P Jose Parga

Heat 3 8-laps – 1. B1 Nick Bauman 2. T1 Tylen Allen 3. 15K Kolby Vandenbergh

Feature 25-laps, $1,000 to win
1. 25 Steve Lance Jr. (2) $1,064
2. T6 Tommy Sheppard (4) $600
3. 84 Myles Moos (6) $400
4. 15K Kolby Vandenbergh (9) $350
5. 15 Steve Shannon (1) $300
6. T1 Tyler Allen (7) $250
7. 19 Chad Osterhoff (13) $200
8. 6P Jose Parga (8) $175
9. 78 Shawn Diggs (16) $150
10. B1 Nick Bauman (3) $125
11. 11 Brad Denney (10) $100
12. 95 Dave Polak Jr. (12) $100
13. 34 Jeremy McLaughlin (14) $100
14. 1A Levi Ashby (15) $100
15. 78C Jeff Cunningham (17) $100
16. 48 Stephanie Lance (18) $100
17. 162 Logan Moody (5) DNF $100
18. 23H Doug Hayes (11) DNF $100

Hard Charger – 78 Shawn Diggs +7

Lap Leaders – 25 Steve Lance Jr. 1 – 25

Hard Luck Award – 162 Logan Moody

Paul D. Bayne
Director of Public Relations
Kankakee County Speedway

Quick Car Dirt Late Model Series

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

%d bloggers like this: