Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Brandon Sheppard takes Peoria UMP Summer Nationals win!

Brandon Sheppard takes Peoria UMP Summer Nationals win!

Brandon Sheppard - Jim Denhamer photo

Brandon Sheppard – Jim Denhamer photo

By Jordan Morris
PEORIA, Ill. – June 23, 2014 – Defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Brandon Sheppard found his way back to victory lane Monday night, capturing the checkered flag at Peoria Speedway for the first time in the 2014 season.

Sheppard started the 40-lap feature up front next to Sunday winner Brian Shirley, who was looking to join Rick Eckert and Billy Moyer as the only multiple race winners so far this season. Unfortunately for Shirley, Sheppard rocketed past the pole-sitter at the drop of the green flag, using the outside line to grab the lead and never let Shirley lead a lap. After securing the top spot, Sheppard pulled away from Shirley, who found himself battling Bobby Pierce for much of the race.

Pierce, last year’s runner-up to Sheppard in the championship, managed to get around Shirley for second on lap 32, but Sheppard had already built an insurmountable margin. Sheppard went on to dominate, leading all 40 laps en route to capturing the $5,000 checkered flag.

“We’ve been waiting for things to fall into place,” said Sheppard, of New Berlin, Ill. “Finally they did. I’m pretty confident going into the rest of [the DIRTcar Summer Nationals season] now.”

Pierce, Shirley, Ryan Unzicker and Shannon Babb rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Sheppard, Ray Guss Jr., Pierce and Shirley.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Wednesday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, Tenn.

Heat 1:
1. Brandon Sheppard
2. Kevin Weaver
3. Jim Moon
4. Donny Walden
5. Bo Brockway
6. Steve Thorsten
7. Mike Spatola
8. Mike Mullvain

Heat 2:
1. Ray Guss, Jr.
2. Shannon Babb
3. Justin Reed
4. Bob Gardner
5. Steve Lance, Jr.
6. Jason Riggs
7. Todd Bennett
8. Mark Larson

Heat 3:
1. Bobby Pierce
2. Jason Jaggers
3. McKay Wenger
4. Ryan Little
5. Jason Feger
6. Rich Bell
7. Jeff Riddell
8. John Gardner, Jr.

Heat 4:
1. Brian Shirley
2. Ryan Unzicker
3. Billy Drake
4. Russ Adams
5. Evan Fink
6. Dennis Vandermersch
7. Myles Moos
8. Jake Little

1. Bo Brockway
2. Jason Feger
3. Evan Fink
4. Rich Bell
5. Dennis Vandermersch
6. Scott Schmitt
7. Todd Bennett
8. Steve Thorsten
9. Mike Spatola
10. Myles Moos
11. Jason Riggs
12. Jeff Riddell
13. Jake Little
14. Mark Larson
15. John Gardner, Jr.
16. Mike Mullvain
17. Steve Lance, Jr.

1. Brandon Sheppard
2. Bobby Pierce
3. Brian Shirley
4. Ryan Unzicker
5. Shannon Babb
6. Kevin Weaver
7. Jason Jaggers
8. Billy Drake
9. Justin Reed
10. Mike Spatola
11. Jason Feger
12. Donny Walden
13. McKay Wenger
14. Ray Guss, Jr.
15. Ryan Little
16. Bob Gardner
17. Bo Brockway
18. Russ Adams
19. Jason Riggs
20. Todd Bennett
21. Scott Schmitt
22. Jim Moon

Print Friendly, PDF & Email