Clay County Speedway     Haubstadt, IN – July 1, 2014 – The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will be in action again this weekend.  The 410 non-wing series will make a special appearance at the Clay County Speedway in Flora, Illinois, on Saturday, July 5th.

Everyone will have an opportunity to continue to celebrate the country’s independence with an evening at the races.  Fireworks will be replaced by the thunderous roar of sprint car engines.  The sprints will headline a show which will also include all the regular divisions at the track.  In all five divisions of race cars will be in competition.  The MSCS sprint car feature is scheduled to be pushed off first.

The sprint car drivers will be racing for a purse that pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $200 to start.  The normal starting field for MSCS is 20 cars.  The series has averaged 29.6 cars per event through the first nine races this season.  The race at Flora is an important stop.  The season is half over and this race is the first to be run in the second half of an 18 date season.  The 1/3 mile facility will be the most spacious track the series will compete on this season.  The Terre Haute race on a half mile was rained out.

For those who are first time travelers, Clay County Speedway is located on U.S. 45, 1.9 miles North of U.S. 50 just West of Flora.

This is a closer opportunity for sprint car competitors and fans who live in Illinois or Missouri to attend a MSCS race.

The track does race non-wing sprint cars on a regular basis.  Those drivers are familiar with the track, and the match-ups with regular MSCS drivers should make for some interesting qualifying heats.

Matt Humphrey won the most recent sprint feature to be held there.

MSCS will be returning to the banks of Clay County Speedway following an absence of five years.  The MSCS driver roster has changed since then, so some drivers following the series will be making their first laps around the oval.  This would include some of the current crop of MSCS rookies.  But not all – MSCS Rookie Points leader James Lyerla picked up a feature win there in September of 2013.

The first half of this MSCS season has featured performances by drivers who are keeping things interesting with hot streaks.  Robert Ballou could make it three in a row with a victory Saturday night!

Jeff Bland Jr. won two features in a row Memorial Day weekend.  Hunter Schuerenberg won two of the first three races to start the season.

However, Kyle Cummins has the current points lead.  He is looking for that first win this season and closing in with runs of 4th, 2nd, and 3rd in his last three appearances.  Daron Clayton and Tyler Courtney also have feature wins with MSCS this season.

The top five in MSCS Points are Kyle Cummins, Bradley Sterrett, Robert Ballou, Carson Short, and Brady Short.  Brady Short won one of the last 2 MSCS features held at Clay County.

The top five in track points are Matt Humphrey, Aric Gentry, Donny Brackett, Steve Thomas, and Anthony Loehr.  Promoter Kevin Bayer has additional information posted on the track website at www.claycountyspeedway.net.  Hot laps are set for 7 o’clock with racing set for 7:30 P.M.  It is the last appearance for the MSCS series in Illinois this season.


Provided as News and Publicity for MSCS.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email