Brandon Overton Grabs First Southern Nationals Series Victory at Modoc Raceway

Southern NationalsBy Chris Tilley – Series Publicist

MODOC, SOUTH CAROLINA (July 24, 2014) – Brandon Overton just needed the final few laps to get the job done at Modoc Raceway. The Appling, Ga. driver captured his first-career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series by Old Man’s Garage victory and became the 27th different winner when he overtook race leader Brent Dixon on lap 33 and never looked back in route to the $3,500 payday. Overton drove to the victory in the Troy Baird owned, Baird Transport and Elite Concrete sponsored Clements Racing Engines powered Bloomquist Race Car.

“This car has been just so good since we got in it, I went out west and raced two weeks, I can’t thank Troy Baird enough, all these fans, it’s good to be back home and to get one in front of everybody,” said Overton after his big victory.

Overton talked about his run in the final laps with Dixon and the pass on the outside. “I finally rolled him, you know, it’s about time, we’ve been working hard, I can’t thank Cody Mallery, my little brother, he’s my new tire man, and my family, everybody that supports me enough, like I say Troy Baird, I couldn’t do it without him,” Overton went on to say.

Dennis Franklin and Dixon brought the field of 22 to life with Dixon grabbing the early lead. Caution would fly after one lap complete as second place runner Franklin and Chris Madden made contact on the back-chute sending Madden racing towards the turn three wall. Madden would go to the work area and come back and tag the tail for the restart and work his way up to finish seventh in the final rundown.

On the third lap, Vic Hill went over the turn two embankment and brought out the yellow flag. The next yellow would fly on the 28th circuit for debris on the back stretch. The final yellow would wave on lap 32 as Craig Vosbergen shred his right-rear tire and slowed on the main straightaway.

The Southern Nationals will be in action on Friday Night July 25th for Round Four paying $5,300 to win at Swainsboro Raceway in Swainsboro, GA.

Official Summary of Results
Round # 3 of Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series by Old Man’s Garage
Modoc Raceway-Modoc, SC
Thursday Night July 24, 2014

A-Main Finish:
1. Brandon Overton-Appling, Ga.
2. Brent Dixon-Elberton, Ga.
3. Dennis Franklin-Gaffney, S.C.
4. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
5. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
6. Eric Jacobsen-Rio Del Mar, Cal.
7. Chris Madden-Gray Court, S.C.
8. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-Ocala, Fla.
9. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
10. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
11. Anthony Burroughs-Minden, La.
12. Austin Smith-Cedartown, Ga.
13. G.R. Smith-Concord, N.C.
14. Scott Shirey-Gaston, S.C.
15. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
16. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Australia
17. Anthony Sanders-Spartanburg, S.C.
18. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
19. Frank Coates-Hodges, S.C.
20. Tony Knowles-Newnan, Ga.
21. Jordy Nipper-Gray, Ga.
22. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.

Time of Race: 29 minutes, 2 seconds
Margin of Victory: 00.956 seconds
Yellow Flags: Four (laps 1, 3, 28, 32)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Dixon (1-32), Overton (33-35)
Provisional Starters: Tony Knowles and Austin Smith
Entries: 28

FK Rod Ends Fastest Qualifier: Brandon Overton-15.754 seconds Dash for Cash Finish (4 laps):Dennis Franklin, Brent Dixon, Chris Madden, Brandon Overton.

B-Main No. 1 Finish (8 laps, top 8 transfer): Vic Hill, Billy Ogle Jr., Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Craig Vosbergen, G.R. Smith, Stacy Boles, Aaron Ridley, Scott Shirey, Cecil Eunice, Tony Knowles, Pierce McCarter, Kevin Godwin.

B-Main No. 2 Finish (8 laps, top 8 transfer): Casey Roberts, Eric Jacobsen, Donald McIntosh, Kenny Collins, Anthony Burroughs, Jordy Nipper, Anthony Sanders, Frank Coates, Josh Adkins, Austin Smith, Jak Kicklighter, Donnie Shealy Jr. (DNS)

Series Championship Points (after July 24):
1. Chris Madden-577
2. Stacy Boles-559
3. Eric Jacobsen-558
4. Vic Hill-548
5. Austin Smith-547
6. Donald McIntosh-544
7. Billy Ogle Jr.-532
8. Anthony Burroughs-530
9. Tony Knowles-520
10. Craig Vosbergen-512
11. Kenny Collins-496
12. Pierce McCarter-407

AR Bodies Rookie of the Year Standings (after July 24):
1. Austin Smith-547
2. Craig Vosbergen-512
3. Kenny Collins-496
4. Pierce McCarter-407

Series Winners:
Jonathan Davenport-Wythe Raceway July 21st
Randy Weaver-411 Motor Speedway July 22nd
Brandon Overton-Modoc Raceway July 24th