Home Dirt Late Model News Chris Madden Finally Finds Victory Lane in Southern Nationals Smoky Mountain Stop

Chris Madden Finally Finds Victory Lane in Southern Nationals Smoky Mountain Stop

Southern NationalsBy Chris Tilley – Series Publicist

MARYVILLE, TENNESSEE (August 1, 2014) – It took him nine events to get the job done but Chris Madden finally got to Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series victory lane.

The Gray Court, S.C. competitor led flag-to-flag for the $5,300 victory at the Smoky Mountain Speedway on Friday Night August 1st. Madden, who had not finished outside of the top-ten and had four podium finishes in the first eight races, finally got the job done in front of a great crowd.

Madden took his Century Plastics, Henderson Amusement, Hamrick’s of Gaffney, Cushman Paint & Body and Penske Shocks-sponsored Clements Racing Engines-powered Bloomquist Race Car to victory lane for the 24th career time in series history.

Madden and Randy Weaver would bring the field of 23 to the start for the 53-lapper with Madden jumping to the outside and the commanding lead early on. Madden lapped up to the sixth place car before the end of the main event. The four time series champion was never challenged for the lead after the last restart that took place after the final yellow on lap 13.

Two cautions closed the main event. The first yellow flag came as the field went into turn one on the initial start and Vic Hill spun around setting the field up for another start. The next yellow would wave on lap 13 as eighth running Tommy Kerr got his bumper locked into the right-rear quarter panel of Bo Eaton, sending both cars to the pits for the night with heavy damage.

The series moves to Tazewell (TN) Speedway on Saturday Night for the $5,300-to-win finale event.

Official Summary of Results
Round # 9 of Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series by Old Man’s Garage
Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN
Friday Night August 1, 2014

A-Main Finish:
1. Chris Madden-Gray Court, S.C.
2. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
3. Randy Weaver-Crossville, Tenn.
4. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
5. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
6. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.
7. Eric Jacobsen-Rio Del Mar, Cal.
8. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
9. Anthony Burroughs-Minden, La.
10. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
11. Austin Smith-Cedartown, Ga.
12. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Australia
13. Jason Welshan-Maryville, Tenn.
14. Chris Wilson-Crossville, Tenn.
15. Riley Hickman-Cleveland, Tenn.
16. Mark Douglas-Knoxville, Tenn.
17. Josh Putnam-Florence, Ala.
18. David Crabtree-Maryville, Tenn.
19. Skip Arp-Georgetown, Tenn.
20. Tommy Kerr-Maryville, Tenn.
21. Bo Eaton-Blue Ridge, Ga.
22. Mark Vineyard-Powell, Tenn.
23. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.

Time of Race: 26 minutes, 24 seconds
Margin of Victory: 04.457 seconds
Yellow Flags: Two (laps 0, 13)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Madden (1-53)
Provisional Starters: Stacy Boles, Riley Hickman, Bo Eaton
Entries: 27

FK Rod Ends Fastest Qualifier: Randy Weaver-15.394 seconds

DirtonDirt.com Dash for Cash (4 laps): Chris Madden, Randy Weaver, Mike Marlar, Billy Ogle Jr.

B-Main No. 1 Finish (8 laps, top 6 transfer): Vic Hill, Jason Welshan, Mack McCarter, Donald McIntosh, Anthony Burroughs, Mark Douglas, David Crabtree, Josh Putnam, Ellery Leake, Riley Hickman, Stacy Boles (DNS), Chad Ogle (DNS).

B-Main No. 2 Finish (8 laps, top 6 transfer): Skip Arp, Austin Smith, Tommy Kerr, Ryan King, Eric Jacobsen, Mark Vineyard, Craig Vosbergen, Chris Wilson, Ross White, Robby Moses, Bo Eaton.

Series Championship Points (after August 1):
1. Chris Madden-1,729
2. Eric Jacobsen-1,681
3. Billy Ogle Jr.-1,644
4. Vic Hill-1,632
5. Donald McIntosh-1,626
6. Craig Vosbergen-1,582
6. Austin Smith-1,582
8. Stacy Boles-1,547
9. Anthony Burroughs-1,445
10. Tony Knowles-1,038

AR Bodies Rookie of the Year Points (after August 1):
1. Craig Vosbergen-1,582
1. Austin Smith-1,582

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: