Carrier and Moyer on Front Row of Optima Batteries Dirt Track World Championship

2014-DTWCPORTSMOUTH, OH (October 17th, 2014) – Eddie Carrier Jr. and Billy Moyer will start from the front row of Saturday Night’s 34th Annual Optima Batteries Dirt Track World Championship-presented by NAPA Auto Parts at Portsmouth Raceway Park. The six heat race winners re-drew for the first three rows of the $50,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event.

Jonathan Davenport captured the first heat race on Friday Night. After a torrid battle with R.J. Conley, Jimmy Mars and Earl Pearson Jr.; Davenport bolted to the lead and the eventual win. Gregg Satterlee came from the sixth starting spot to finish second. Miller Welders Fast Qualifier, R.J. Conley grabbed the final transfer spot finishing third.

Former DTWC winner, Billy Moyer, out-dueled pole-sitter Jackie Boggs early in the second heat race and stormed away from the field to win the second heat race. Boggs and Mason Zeigler got together down the back straightaway, forcing Boggs out of a transfer spot. Zeigler finished second, with 10th starting Rod Conley, charging to third to claim the final transfer position.

Scott Bloomquist, the hottest driver in Dirt Late Model Racing, blistered the field in heat number three in leading all 20 laps. Teammates Josh Richards and defending DTWC winner, Brandon Sheppard finished second and third to transfer into Saturday’s main event.

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader, Don O’Neal roared from his seventh starting spot to claim heat number four. O’Neal used the outside line to sweep by the field to take over the lead. Jason Feger held off Frank Heckenast Jr. for the second finishing positioning to transfer to the DTWC. Heckenast finished third for the final transfer position.

Jimmy Owens, who started on the outside front row led all the way in heat five to take the win. John Blankenship tried to challenge Owens after several restarts, but settled for the runner-up spot. Doug Drown nabbed the third and final spot to put another home state driver in the show.

The sixth and final heat race of the night went to 2014 Sunoco North-South 100 winner, Eddie Carrier Jr. Carrier held off a late-race charge from Steve Casebolt to take the victory. Seventy-two year-old veteran Delmas Conley joined his two sons in the DTWC line-up as he grabbed the third and final transfer spot.

In preliminary action, RJ Conley set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 89 entrants, with a lap of 14.706 seconds. Jason Feger set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.015 seconds. Jonathan Davenport, Billy Moyer, Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens and Eddie Carrier Jr. won their respective heat races.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on and

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary
Friday Night, October 17th, 2014
Portsmouth Raceway Park – Portsmouth, OH

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: RJ Conley / 14.706 seconds

Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jason Feger / 15.015 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Gregg Satterlee, RJ Conley, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jimmy Mars, Jason Riggs, Tommy Bailey, Mike Meyers, Rick Bond, Danny McGowan, Zack Dohm, Kevin Wagner, Victor Lee, Larry Ferrell, Shannon Thornsberry

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Mason Zeigler, Rod Conley, Jackie Boggs, Tim McCreadie, Chris Garnes, Stephen Breeding, Dennis Barton, Duane Chamberlain, Michael Smith, Steve Francis, Tim Dohm, Daniel Williams, Josh Hall-DNS, Tyler Carpenter-DNS
Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Josh Richards, Brandon Sheppard, Dale McDowell, Jason Papich, Corey Conley, Nick Bocook, Jake Keaton, Mick Sansom, JT Conley, Jeep VanWormer, Jon Hodgkiss, Mike Marlar, Kenneth Howell, Richie Edwards-DNS
FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Don O’Neal, Jason Feger, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Brandon Overton, Jared Landers, Josh Bocook, Travis Brookover, Brian Shirley, Chad Hollenbeck, Casey Noonan, Brandon Fouts, Rick Mardis, Ben Adkins, Avery Taylor, Chris Combs

Fast Shafts Heat Race #5 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Doug Drown, Scott James , Dennis Erb, Jr., Davey Johnson, Chris Stotts, Derek Fisher, Charlie Jude, Devin Moran, Steve Shaver, Bobby Pierce, Steve Stollings, Kenny McCann, Lee Logan-DNS

Eibach Springs Heat Race #6 Finish (20 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Steve Casebolt, Delmas Conley, Dustin Linville, Steve Lucas, Billy Gullion, Chris Wilson, Michael Wright, Lauren Longbrake, Jeremy Berwanger, Ralph Withem, Audie Swartz, Jason Hughes, Paul Davis

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (20 Laps, Top 2 Transfer) Line-Up:

Earl Pearson, Jr. 44 4b Jackie Boggs
Jimmy Mars 28m 39 Tim McCreadie
Jason Riggs 81jr 88 Chris Garnes
Tommy Bailey 11B 5b Stephen Breeding
Mike Meyers 10m 35 Dennis Barton
Rick Bond 007 20c Duane Chamberlain
Danny McGowan 21MC s1 Michael Smith
Zack Dohm 17d 15 Steve Francis
Kevin Wagner 33 A1 Tim Dohm
Victor Lee 4L 12d Daniel Williams
Larry Ferrell 48 26 Josh Hall
Shannon Thornsberry 17T c4 Tyler Carpenter


CV Products B-Main #2 (20 Laps, Top 2 Transfer) Line-Up:

Dale McDowell 17m 5X Brandon Overton
Jason Papich 91p 777 Jared Landers
Corey Conley 14 B1 Josh Bocook
Nick Bocook 1B 12b Travis Brookover
Jake Keaton 10 81 Brian Shirley
Mick Sansom 20m 4-Ds Chad Hollenbeck
JT Conley 71J 1n Casey Noonan
Jeep VanWormer 55 81F Brandon Fouts
Jon Hodgkiss 69 88D Rick Mardis
Mike Marlar 157 b7 Ben Adkins
Kenneth Howell 21h 159 Avery Taylor
Chris Combs 47 3 Richie Edwards



JRi Shocks B-Main #3 (20 Laps, Top 2 Transfer) Line-Up:

Scott James 83 D8 Dustin Linville
Dennis Erb, Jr. 28e 2 Steve Lucas
Davey Johnson 1J 11 Billy Gullion
Chris Stotts s8 17w Chris Wilson
Derek Fisher 38 18 Michael Wright
Charlie Jude CJ1 27 Lauren Longbrake
Devin Moran 99m 44J Jeremy Berwanger
Steve Shaver 1s 15w Ralph Withem
Bobby Pierce 32 10 Audie Swartz
Steve Stollings 17 12 Jason Hughes
Kenny McCann 85 11L Lee Logan
Paul Davis 2D

Feature Line Up (100 Laps):

Eddie Carrier, Jr. 28 21 Billy Moyer
Jimmy Owens 20 0 Scott Bloomquist
Jonathan Davenport 6 5 Don O’Neal
Gregg Satterlee 22 25F Jason Feger
Mason Zeigler 25Z 23 John Blankenship
Josh Richards 1 c9 Steve Casebolt
RJ Conley 71c 99JR Frank Heckenast, Jr.
Rod Conley 71R 20d Doug Drown
Brandon Sheppard 1bx 71d Delmas Conley