Anthony Nicholson races to his 6th USCS win of 2014 at Poplar Bluff Speedway

USCS-logo-2013-for-marqueePoplar Bluff, MO – October 18, 2014 – Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee stormed from the K&N Filters Pole Position into the lead in turn one of the 30-lap United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters main event and never looked back during the sprint car portion of the 14th annual Cotton Boll Cup at Poplar Bluff Speedway on Saturday night. This was Nicholson’s sixth trip of the season to the USCS victory lane. He bested a tough field of top gun veterans and young guns from five states for his 10th career win in the series in the event that awarded double points.

Four-time and recently crowned 2014 MOWA sprint champion, Jerod Hull from nearby Sikeston, Missouri chased Nicholson across the finish line after battling veteran Danny Smith from Chillicothe, Ohio for the runner-up spot most of the distance. Danny Smith claimed the K&N Filters Podium Award for third place. Ten-time USCS National Champion, Terry Gray, also from Bartlett, Tennessee finished in the fourth position followed by Kyle Bellm from Nixa, Missouri who completed the top five drivers.

Joey Montgomery from Fredericktown, Missouri led the next group of drivers to the checkers in sixth place. Another past USCS National Champion, Eddie Gallagher from Olive, Branch, Mississippi finished in the seventh position followed by the evening’s Hoosier Speed Dash winner, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee in eighth place. Farmington, Missouri’s Kevin Petty raced to the stripe in ninth place and 2013 USCS Mid South Thunder Tour regional series “Rookie of the Year”, Taylor Tidmore from Hernando, Mississippi rounded out the top ten drivers.

Morgan Turpen won the 6 cars, 6 laps Hoosier Tire Speed Dash. Danny Smith won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Anthony Nicholson also won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. After the first heat race winner (Danny Smith ) drew a zero in the K&N Filters Pole Award drawing, Nicholson who was the high passing point’s leader after the qualifying heats, was awarded the K&N Filters Pole Position. Curt Terrell advanced the most positions in the main event to earn the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The next USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car event will be the two-day 6th annual USCS Fall Nationals series at Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas on Friday and Saturday, October 31st and November 1st. The event includes the 51-lap “Fabulous 51” main event for the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour sprint cars that pays $5100 to the winner plus bonuses and contingencies.

For rules, updated schedules and other info on the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour 2014 and 18th annual National tour please visit or call the series office at 770-865-6097.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour results at Poplar Bluff Speedway on Saturday, October, 18, 2014:

Hoosier Speed Dash Race Results: #10M Morgan Turpen, #16 Anthony Nicholson, #10 Terry Gray, #27 Curt Terrell, #28 Jeff Willingham and #44 Ronny Howard.

Engler Machine and Tool Heat #1 Race Results: #4 Danny Smith, 399 Jerod Hull, #32b Taylor Tidmore, 1 Eddie Gallagher, 14k Kyle Bellm, #10m Morgan Turpen, #7d Dylan DeJournett, #17 Mike Pack, 327 Curt Terrell and 44s Greg Merritt.

Butlerbuilt Heat #2 Race Results: #16 Anthony Nicholson, #01 Joey Montgomery, #10 Terry Grey, #28k Jason Keith, #72 Kevin Petty, #55 Donny Howard, #44 Ronny Howard, #28 Jeff Willingham, and Bubba Lofton, (DNS).

USCS presented by K&N Filters Feature Race Results (30-laps) Poplar Bluff Speedway – Poplar Bluff, MO

01. #16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
02. #99 Jerod Hull, Sikeston, MO
03. #4 Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH
04. #10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
05. #14k Kyle Bellm, Nixa, MO
06. #01 Joey Montgomery, Fredericktown, MO
07. #1 Eddie Gallagher, Olive Branch, MS
08. #10M Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
09. #72 Kevin Petty, Farmington, MO
10. #32b Taylor Tidmore, Hernando, MS
11. #27 Curt Terrell, Bartlett, TN
12. #44 Ronny Howard, Nesbit, MS
13. #55 Donny Howard, Hernando, MS
14. #28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
15. #44s Greg Merritt, Nesbit, MS
16. #28k Jason Keith, Fredericktown, MO
17. #7d Dylan DeJournett, Essex, MO
18. #17 Mike Pack, Batesville, AR
19. #44c Bubba Lofton, Cordova, TN

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Race Awards:
Hoosier Tire Speed Dash: #10M Morgan Turpen
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: #4 Danny Smith
Butlerbuilt Second Heat: #16 Anthony Nicholson
K&N Filters Pole Award: #16 Anthony Nicholson
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: #4 Danny Smith (3rd place)
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: #4 Danny Smith
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award: #27 Curt Terrell
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award: #14k Kyle Bellm
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award: #01 Joey Montgomery
Pyrotect Racing Cells Lucky Seven Award: #1 Eddie Gallagher
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award: #32b Taylor Tidmore
PBS Top 305 powered car BONUS: #55 Donny Howard
Long Distance Tow Award: (tie) #4 Danny Smith and Pete Walton

The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in the 2014 and 18th anniversary USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour: K&N Filters,,Engler Machine and Tool, Butlerbuilt, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends. KSE Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, DSR Fuel Systems, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions and Safety-Kleen.