Jim Shereck takes MLRA win at I-80 Speedway!

Jim Shereck - Lloyd Collins photo
Jim Shereck – Lloyd Collins photo

Greenwood, NE (April 4th, 2015) – Saturday’s Lucas Oil MLRA Spring Meltdown finale from I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Nebraska was dominated by Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender Jim Shereck. Starting the feature on the pole, Shereck quickly took the lead and kept his car as straight as possible to nail down the biggest win of his career. His 3.6 second margin of victory netted the team $5,000, and they were all smiles in Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane.

“A lot of it was luck,” said Shereck. “Good heat race, good points, getting on the pole. I can’t thank my kids, Marc (crew chief), they did a super job. We’ve got a limited crew, but we get the most out of it. You had to keep it straight or you wouldn’t have any tires. I don’t even know what these look like. I could tell though, at the end, the tires were fading.”

Second place is also the best ever finish in Lucas Oil MLRA action for Norfolk, Nebraska standout Tad Pospisil. Sporting a new Black Diamond Chassis this weekend, Pospisil passed four cars in his heat to earn the third starting spot. He moved to second early and made several charges at Shereck, but never had a good enough run to pull even with him.

“It was a great weekend, this first weekend in the car,” commented Pospisil. “This car is just fabulous from the get go. We’ve got a lot of laps here. To bring a new car to it, at least I got a little comfort with this track. I tried real hard early to get him (Shereck). I wore my tire completely bald.”

Jeremy Payne started the race on the outside of the front row and lost second before he was able to get to the bottom of the track. Once in third he settled in. The trio ran in close quarters briefly while navigating lapped traffic. Once Shereck put a pair of lapped cars between himself and the rest of the field, it was simply a matter knocking down laps and maintaining equipment.

Qualifying heat races were won by; Terry Phillips, Jason Krohn, Jim Shereck and Jeremy Payne.

Stormy Scott left I-80 Speedway with a narrow points lead. He is followed by Jeremy Payne, Terry Phillips, Tad Pospisil and Ryan Gustin.

Next for the Lucas Oil MLRA is a two day stop at Lucas Oil Speedway for the 2nd Annual Spring Nationals presented by RacingJunk.com. Action gets underway Thursday, April 9th with a three hour practice session. Friday night, April 10th the winner’s share is $2,000, and Saturday evening, April 11th pays the winner $3,000. Find out more about the event by visiting LucasOilSpeedway.com.

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at www.MLRARacing.com.

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking www.Facebook.com/lucasoilmlra or follow us on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/MLRA.

I-80 Speedway Contingencies 4/4/15
Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Jim Shereck
AR Bodies – Austin Siebert
Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger – Jason Utter
DirtOnDirt.com Pole Winner – Jim Shereck
Hooker Harness 11th Place – Ryan Gustin
KRC Hard Luck – Terry Bouschee
RacingJunk.com Hard Luck – Terry Bouschee
Landrum Springs Race Winner – Jim Shereck
Fast Track Photos – Jim Shereck
Performance Bodies Performer of the Race – Jim Shereck
RaceNote Crew Chief of the Race – Marc Molnar
Real Racing Wheels – Dave Eckrich
Sunoco Rookie of the Race – Jim Shereck
Wehrs Machine & Racing Products – Jake O’Neil

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Jim Shereck 2. Tad Pospisil, 3. Jeremy Payne 4. Chase Junghans 5. Stormy Scott 6. Dave Eckrich 7. Jason Krohn 8. Tommy Weder Jr. 9. Terry Phillips 10. John Anderson 11. Ryan Gustin 12. Jason Utter 13. RC Whitwell 14. Jake O’Neil 15. Chad Simpson 16. Dustin Walker 17. Ben Schaller 18. Austin Siebert 19. Jeremy Keller 20. Spencer Diercks 21. Scott Lewis 22. Jason O’Brien 23. Dan Shepherd 24. Bill Leighton 25. Kyle Berck 26. Chris Spieker 27. Denny Eckrich 28. JC Wyman 29. Brian Kosiski 30. Bill Koons

HotRodProcessing.com B Feature #1 (12 Laps): 1. JC Wyman 2. Dan Shepherd 3. Ben Schaller 4. Austin Siebert 5. Bill Leighton 6. Chad Simpson 7. Skip Frey 8. Junior Coover 9. Mike Stadel 10. Gary Brown Jr. 11. Bill Koons 12. Robbie Jorgensen 13. Terry Bouschee

Impact Signs, Awnings, Wraps B Feature #2 (12 Laps): 1. Jake O’Neil 2. Jason Utter 3. Jason O’Brien 4. Spencer Diercks 5. Scott Lewis 6. Doug Herrick 7. Brian Kosiski 8. Mike Wiarda 9. Jay Johnson 10. Jim Johnson 11. Kyle Berck 12. Mark Rose

Hoosier Racing Tires Heat #1 (10 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Tad Pospisil 3. RC Whitwell 4. Ryan Gustin 5. Denny Eckrich 6. Chad Simpson 7. Austin Siebert 8. Kyle Berck 9. Mike Wiarda 10. Bill Koons 11. Junior Coover

RacingJunk.com Heat #2 (10 Laps): 1. Jason Krohn 2. Storm Scott 3. Chris Spieker 4. Skip Frey 5. Jason Utter 6. Jason O’Brien 7. Doug Herrick 8. Ben Schaller 9. Bill Leighton 10. Jay Johnson

G2 Gemini Custom Apparel Heat #3 (10 Laps): 1. Jim Shereck 2. Jeremy Keller 3. John Anderson 4. Dave Eckrich 5. JC Wyman 6. Mike Stadel 7. Dan Shepherd 8. Gary Brown 9. Jim Johnson 10. Terry Bouschee

Chix Gear Racewear Heat #4 (10 Laps): 1. Jeremy Payne 2. Chase Junghans 3. Dustin Walker 4. Tommy Weder Jr. 5. Jake O’Neil 6. Scott Lewis 7. Spencer Diercks 8. Brian Kosiski 9. Robbie Jorgensen 10. Mark Rose