HomeRace Track NewsIllinoisWoodworth, Long, Lynch, Gower and Abbott Score Quincy Wins

Woodworth, Long, Lynch, Gower and Abbott Score Quincy Wins

quincy 2014By Jack Walbring

Denny Woodworth, Michael Long, Jim Lynch, Joey Gower and Kimberly Abbott all scored feature event wins at Quincy Raceways during action on Sunday May 3.

Keith Pratt took the lead at the drop of the green flag and pulled out to a significant lead in the Kick Start UMP Super Late Model main event over Denny Woodworth in the second spot. Woodworth slowly started cutting into Pratt’s lead at about the half way mark of the twenty five lap main event and started to really put the pressure on Pratt during the final three laps. Pratt had a slight slip up the high groove in turn two on the final lap allowing Woodworth to slip by to take the win, his first of the year by a mere three tenths of a second. Pratt settled for second with Mark Burgtorf in third, Brian Dively in fourth and Jim Moon in fifth. Justin Reed and Woodworth were the heat race winners.

Frank Wellman Jr. took the lead of the Miller Lite UMP Modified main event at the drop of the green flag and held off the field for the first six laps. Michael Long recovered from a first lap problem and worked his way back to the front of the field by overtaking Wellman on lap seven. Long then cruised away to take his third straight feature win of the season. Wellman settled for the second spot with Dave Wietholder in third, Steven DeLonjay in fourth and Brian Lynn in fifth. Long and DeLonjay were the heat race winners.

The Powder Coat Plus IMCA Stock Car Main event went to Jim Lynch taking his second feature win of the season over Abe Huls in second, Beau Taylor in third, Andrew Hustead in fourth and Jerry Jansen in fifth. The heat winners were Huls and Lynch.

The Summy Tire and Auto Center IMCA Stock Car main event was a wild and wooly affair as it looked like Austin Bercerra would pick up his first feature win of the season at Quincy but a last lap tangle with Tony Dunker in turn two changed all that. Joey Gower took the lead on the restart and Held off Brandon Lennox to take the feature win followed by Lennox in second, Nathan Bringer in third, Jim Gillenwater in fourth and Brandon Dale in fifth. Dale and Bercerra were the heat race winners.

The IMCA Sport Compact feature event was a three way battle between Jeffery DeLonjay, Seith Woodruff, and Kimberly Abbott with all three taking turns at the lead spot with Abbott winning out at the end with Woodruff in second and DeLonjay in third. The fourth spot went to Barry Taft with fifth going to Trenty Orwig. The lone heat race went to DeLonjay.

Coming up next at Quincy Raceways on Sunday May 10 will see the Kick Start UMP Late Models getting the week off but the Miller Lite UMP Modifieds will be going for an increased purse with $750 going to the winner and the Summy Tire and Auto Center IMCA Northern Sport Mods racing for $500 to win. Adult tickets are $10, Seniors $7 and Students 10 to 15 $5. Check out the Quincy Raceways website at www.quincyraceways.com or visit the Quincy Raceways official Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/quincyraceways or call the Hotline at 217-224-4100 for more information.

Quincy Raceways

UMP Super Late Models 5/3/2015
Feature:1. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 2. Keith Pratt (Mendon, IL), 3. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, IL), 4. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 5. Jim Moon (New Florence, MO), 6. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 7. Trace Westling (Fulton, MO), 8. Terry Gallaher (Hannibal, MO), 9. Jamie Wilson (Quincy, IL), 10. Justin Reed (Collinsville, IL), 11. John Hahler (New Florence, MO),
Heat 1:1. Justin Reed (Collinsville, IL), 2. Keith Pratt (Mendon, IL), 3. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, IL), 4. Ron Elbe (Augusta, IL), 5. Trace Westling (Fulton, MO), 6. John Hahler (New Florence, MO),
Heat 2:1. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 2. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 3. Jamie Wilson (Quincy, IL), 4. Jim Moon (New Florence, MO), 5. Terry Gallaher (Hannibal, MO),

UMP Modifieds 5/3/2015
Feature:1. Michael Long (Fowler, IL), 2. Frankie Wellman (Quincy, IL), 3. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 4. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 5. Brian Lynn (Mason City, IL), 6. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 7. Robbie Reed (Mexico, MO), 8. Russ Coultas (Bluffs, IL), 9. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL), 10. Spencer Havermale (Quincy, IL), 11. Cory Brown (St. Louis, MO), 12. Kale Foster (Quincy, IL), 13. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), 14. Danny Lake (New London, MO),
Heat 1:1. Michael Long (Fowler, IL), 2. David Wietholder (Liberty, IL), 3. Shawn Deering (Quincy, IL), 4. Brian Lynn (Mason City, IL), 5. Kale Foster (Quincy, IL), 6. Cory Brown (St. Louis, MO), 7. Spencer Havermale (Quincy, IL),
Heat 2:1. Steven DeLonjay (Quincy, IL), 2. Frankie Wellman (Quincy, IL), 3. Jared Schlipman (Mendon, IL), 4. Robbie Reed (Mexico, MO), 5. Russ Coultas (Bluffs, IL), 6. Jake Griffin (Quincy, IL), 7. Danny Lake (New London, MO),

IMCA Stock Cars 5/3/2015
Feature:1. Jim Lynch (Kahoka, MO), 2. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 3. Beau Taylor (Canton, MO), 4. Andrew Hustead (Rutledge, MO), 5. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL), 6. Jeremy Buss (Quincy, IL), 7. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL), 8. Trevor Hagerbaumer (Quincy, IL), 9. Taylor Lear (Liberty, IL), 10. William Dahl (Rush Hill, MO), 11. Brandon Savage (Canton, MO), 12. Derek Sammons (Kahoka, MO), 13. Michael Larsen (Monroe City, MO), 14. Nathan Anders (Quincy, IL),
Heat 1:1. Abe Huls (Carthage, IL), 2. Beau Taylor (Canton, MO), 3. Jake Powers (Plainville, IL), 4. Michael Larsen (Monroe City, MO), 5. Jeremy Buss (Quincy, IL), 6. Taylor Lear (Liberty, IL), 7. Derek Sammons (Kahoka, MO),
Heat 2:1. Jim Lynch (Kahoka, MO), 2. Jerry Jansen (Plainville, IL), 3. Brandon Savage (Canton, MO), 4. Trevor Hagerbaumer (Quincy, IL), 5. Nathan Anders (Quincy, IL), 6. William Dahl (Rush Hill, MO), 7. Andrew Hustead (Rutledge, MO),

IMCA Northern SportMods 5/3/2015
Feature:1. Joey Gower (Quincy, IL), 2. Brandon Lennox (New London, MO), 3. Nathan Bringer (Lewistown, MO), 4. Jim Gillenwater (Keokuk, IA), 5. Brandon Dale (Memphis, MO), 6. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, IL), 7. Adam Birck (Canton, MO), 8. Cody Henderson (Frankford, MO), 9. Mike Goodwin (Quincy, IL), 10. Jon Lear (Payson, IL), 11. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, IL), 12. Ben Huff (Fowler, IL), 13. Austin Howes (Memphis, MO), 14. Jared Wiemelt (Quincy, IL), 15. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 16. Austen Becerra (Carthage, IL),
Heat 1:1. Brandon Dale (Memphis, MO), 2. Tony Dunker (Quincy, IL), 3. Tanner Klingele (Quincy, IL), 4. Cody Henderson (Frankford, MO), 5. Ben Huff (Fowler, IL), 6. Charles VanZandt (Camp Point, IL), 7. Jared Wiemelt (Quincy, IL), 8. Brandon Lennox (New London, MO),
Heat 2:1. Austen Becerra (Carthage, IL), 2. Nathan Bringer (Lewistown, MO), 3. Joey Gower (Quincy, IL), 4. Adam Birck (Canton, MO), 5. Austin Howes (Memphis, MO), 6. Jim Gillenwater (Keokuk, IA), 7. Mike Goodwin (Quincy, IL), 8. Jon Lear (Payson, IL),

IMCA Sport Compact 5/3/2015
Feature:1. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 2. Seith Woodruff (Carthage, IL), 3. Jeffery Delonjay (Quincy, IL), 4. Barry Taft (Argyle, IA), 5. Trent Orwig (Floris, IA), 6. Cliff Spencer (Pittsfield, IL), 7. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL), 8. Darin Weisinger Jr. (Mendon, IL),
Heat:1. Jeffery Delonjay (Quincy, IL), 2. Trent Orwig (Floris, IA), 3. Seith Woodruff (Carthage, IL), 4. Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL), 5. Cliff Spencer (Pittsfield, IL), 6. Darin Weisinger Jr. (Mendon, IL), 7. Kimberly Abbott (Camp Point, IL), 8. Barry Taft (Argyle, IA),

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

%d bloggers like this: