HomeMissouriCallaway RacewayPayton Looney and Jon Melloway Victorious in ULMA Action!

Payton Looney and Jon Melloway Victorious in ULMA Action!

ULMA-United-Late-Model-AssociationSam Stoecklin
ULMA Public Relations
May 7, 2015

Lucas Cattle Company ULMA Late Model drivers participated in race numbers four and five over the weekend at Callaway Raceway in Fulton, Missouri and Randolph County Raceway (RCR) in Moberly, Missouri. When the final laps were completed, former ULMA Rookie of the Year Payton Looney and Hallsville, Missouri driver Jon Melloway both found their way to victory lane.

For Looney, it was his seventh-career ULMA victory and Melloway’s third. Both drivers are predicted to be among the championship hopefuls when the season comes to a close and claiming wins this early in the season certainly backs up those predictions.

Former track champion Looney raced his way to the Callaway Raceway victory over Dwight Niehoff, Todd McCoin, Jon Melloway and Gage Wineland. Racing continues at Callaway Raceway this Friday, May 8. Visit www.callawayraceways.net for complete details and race program information.

For Melloway, all three of his ULMA career wins have come at RCR, in his latest win at the track he finished ahead of Cody Holtkamp, Kenny Mudd, Brother David Melloway, and Wineland. The next ULMA event at RCR is scheduled for Saturday, May 23. For more information on RCR visit www.randolphcountyraceway.com.

Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri is set for another exciting round of their weekly championship racing series featuring ULMA Late Models this Saturday, May 9 for “Mom’s Night Out” in honor of Mother’s Day weekend. The speedway will host a business expo and features a $5 grandstand admission price for Adults, Senior Citizens, and Youth. Additional information may be found on the track’s website at www.lucasoilspeedway.com.

By virtue of his back-to-back fifth-place finishes, Wineland sits atop the ULMA standings for the first time in his budding career. The teenager leads Jon Melloway, McCoin, Niehoff, and Chris Cox after five events. Drivers keep their 15 best points-earning performances throughout the year.

Current Lucas Cattle Company ULMA Point Standings

POS CAR # NAME STARTS POINTS
1st 12G Gage Wineland 5 460
2nd 74 Jon Melloway 4 398
3rd 7X Todd McCoin 4 390
4th 9D Dwight Niehoff 4 380
5th 1T Chris Cox 4 358
6th 8 Dave Miller 4 352
7th 15 Payton Looney 3 308
8th 0X Justin Russell 3 298
9th 22H Dustin Hodges ® 3 282
10th B1 Vance Wilson 3 224

 

Upcoming ULMA Points-Earning Events

Friday, May 8 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, May 9 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Friday, May 15 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, May 16 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Friday, May 22 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, May 23 – Randolph Cty Raceway

Sunday, May 24 – Central Mo Speedway

Friday, May 29 – Randolph Cty Raceway

Saturday, May 30 – Central Mo Speedway

Friday, June 5 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, June 6 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Saturday, June 6 – Randolph Cty Raceway

Friday, June 12 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, June 13 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Friday, June 19 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, June 20 – Randolph Cty Raceway

Friday, June 26 – Callaway Raceway

Saturday, June 27 – Lucas Oil Speedway

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: