HomeDirt Late Model NewsComp Cams Super Dirt Car SeriesBilly Moyer Jr. Surges to CCSDS Checkers at Crowley’s Ridge

Billy Moyer Jr. Surges to CCSDS Checkers at Crowley’s Ridge

Comp-Cams-Super-Dirt-SeriesParagould, Arkansas (09/04/15) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil visited Crowley’s Ridge Raceway (Paragould, Arkansas) for the second time in 2015 on Friday night as the Labor Day Triple Crown came to life.

Despite starting 8th on the grid Billy Moyer Jr. surged through the field to take the lead from Shannon Scott on the fourteenth circuit, and then cruised to the $3,000 victory in the caution-plagued event. Shane Hebert, Brandon Smith, Jack Sullivan, and Wendell Wallace completed the top five finishers.

The victory was the fourteenth series triumph of the Batesville, Arkansas’ driver’s career. He’s now second on the all-time series win list behind only Wendell Wallace.

Shannon Scott won GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Tyler Erb winning Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2. Brandon Smith aced to victory in ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3, while Mark Nichols won Woodco Inc. Heat Race #4.

The Boston’s Sports Bar and Restaurants B-Mains were topped by Gavin Landers and Austin Rettig

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award went to series point leader, Jack Sullivan for advancing from the 13th starting spot to a 4th place finish. Chandler Petty was the recipient of the Wilwood Tough Break of the Race Award after getting upside down early in the feature. He was luckily uninjured.

The holiday weekend tripleheader continues on Saturday, September 5th as the series returns to Mooney Starr’s Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, Arkansas) for the second time in 2015 for the Ozark Nationals. Shannon Babb took his first series’ win during the 23rd Annual COMP Cams Topless 100 in mid-August. Hobby Stocks ($1,250-To-Win), Street Stocks ($500-To-Win), and Factory Stocks ($150-To-Win) will also be part of the program. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with hot laps at 7:30 p.m. and racing action at 8:00 p.m. General admission is $15 with ages 14-and-under free. For more information, please visit www.BatesvilleMotorSpeedway.net .

The weekend draws to a close on Sunday, September 6th at Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi) as the CCSDS competitors invade the ¼ mile oval for the third time in 2015. Bub McCool and Hunter Rasdon have taken honors in the first two events. The $1,500-to-win, Buddy Roncali Memorial accompanies the program for the Street Stocks. Also in action will be NeSmith Crate Late Models, Modifieds, and Pure Stocks. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing action at 7:00 p.m. For more information on the event, please visit www.GreenvilleSpeedway.net .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire South, Kuntz and Co. Racing Engines, New Vision Graphics, GRT Race Cars, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Wilwood, Allen Manufacturing, Boston’s Sports Bar and Restaurant, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Woodco, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mid-State Golf Cars, Henryetta Ford, M&M Paint and Construction, Ronald Surrett Contracting, Tommy Surrett Trucking, Beach Veterinary Services, MSR Mafia Marketing, Sampson Racing Communications, AR Bodies, Schoenfeld Headers, and Keyser Manufacturing.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – September 4th, 2015
Crowley’s Ridge Raceway (Paragould, Arkansas)

Feature Results
1) Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
2) Shane Hebert (Lafayette, LA)
3) Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
4) Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
5) Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR)
6) Shannon Scott (Henryetta, OK)
7) Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO)
8) Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
9) Mason Oberkramer (Broseley, MO)
10) Tyler Erb (New Waverly, TX)
11) Robby Moore (Paragould, AR)
12) Jerry Buck (Paragould, AR)
13) Gavin Landers (Batesville, AR)
14) John Hill (Jonesboro, AR)
15) Travis Ashley (Batesville, AR)
16) Dane Dacus (Lakeland, TN)
17) Scott Tracer (Rector, AR)
18) Chandler Petty (Cabot, AR)
19) Mark Nichols (Bono, AR)
20) Timothy Culp (Prattsville, AR)
21) Carol Thomas (West Memphis, AR)

DNS: Justin Glover, Will Tarry, James West, Johnny Cook, Robert Metz, Jon Gray

Entries: 27
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Shannon Scott
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Tyler Erb
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3 Winner: Brandon Smith
Woodco Inc Race #4 Winner: Mark Nichols
Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: Austin Rettig, Gavin Landers
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Kyle Beard
Wilwood Tough Brake of the Race Award: Chandler Petty
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Jack Sullivan (13th-4th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer Jr.
Leaders: Kyle Beard (1), Shannon Scott (2-13), Billy Moyer Jr (14-35)

Ben Shelton, Owner
MSR Mafia Marketing & Website Services – www.MSRMafia.com
The Midsouth Racing Scene – www.MidSouthRacing.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: