Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Jesse Stovall takes MLRA win at Lucas Oil Speedway!

Jesse Stovall takes MLRA win at Lucas Oil Speedway!

Jesse Stovall - Lloyd Collins photo

Jesse Stovall – Lloyd Collins photo

By Trenton Berry – WHEATLAND, MO (October 9th, 2015) – A good heat race early in the evening put Jesse Stovall in a prime position to win Friday night in the Lucas Oil MLRA Fall Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri. Stovall rolled off from the inside of the second row for the Lucas Cattle Company 30 laps feature. He raced hard with Josh Hughes making his way around him for the lead and eventual win.

“This track is definitely a different track to race on,” said Stovall. “You just have to have things completely right no matter who’s here. We got a chance to test last night, and I really feel like that made us better for tonight. I just kind of started rolling the outside. I found a strip of brown over in three and four, and just got around him (Josh Hughes) there, and tried to just start driving smart and smooth.”

The win is Stovall’s ninth of the season with the series and 18th overall. Coming into the evening he trailed Terry Philips in the point standings by 44 markers.

Phillips finished the evening fifth, but had a little tougher road to the feature. He won his B-Feature placing him on the inside of the ninth row for the main event. With the benefit of only two yellows, he made his way forward. The difference in points is now 30, with only Saturday’s race left.

Jake O’Neil continued his late season surge, with a strong runner up finish. RC Whitwell was right behind him in third. The two are also contending for the Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Year title. Whitwell holds a 37 point margin there.

Jason Utter had another solid evening like so many times this year. He was right in the thick of the action, finishing fourth.

Tonight wraps up the event and season. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:00 PM, with racing to follow at 6:30 PM. If you cannot make it to the track RacinDirt.com will have it all live on PPV. Visit RacinDirt.com for ordering information or email racindirt@racindirt.com with any questions.

Lucas Oil Speedway Contingency Awards 10/9/15
Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Jesse Stovall
AR Bodies – Kaleb Stolba
Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger – Terry Phillips
DirtOnDirt.com Pole Winner – Josh Hughes
Hooker Harness 11th Place – Scott Lewis
KRC Hard Luck – Jason O’Brien
RacingJunk.com Hard Luck – Jason O’Brien
Landrum Springs Race Winner – Jesse Stovall
Fast Track Photos – Jesse Stovall
Performance Bodies Performer of the Race – Jesse Stovall
RaceNote Crew Chief of the Race – Tony Rogers
Real Racing Wheels – Jason Utter
Sunoco Rookie of the Race – Jake O’Neil
Wehrs Machine – Spencer Diercks

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Jake O’Neil 3. RC Whitwell 4. Jason Utter 5. Terry Phillips 6. Josh Hughes 7. Chad Simpson 8. JC Wyman 9. Tony Jackson Jr. 10. Austin Siebert 11. Scott Lewis 12. Dave Eckrich 13. Rickey Frankel 14. Gordy Gundaker 15. Jason Papich 16. Randy Timms 17. Scott Crigler 18. Jason Hughes 19. Spencer Diercks 20. Mason Oberkramer 21. Jason O’Brien 22. Dan Shepherd 23. Dustin Mooneyham 24. Payton Looney

HotRodProcessing.com B Feature #1 (12 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Chad Simpson 3. Randy Timms 4. Kaleb Stolba 5. Joseph Gorby 6. Cole Wells 7. Bryon Allison 8. Mike Hammerle 9. Larry Jones 10. Brent Raulston 11. David Garmann

Impact Signs, Awnings, Wraps B Feature #2 (12 Laps): 1. Scott Crigler 2. Jason Hughes 3. Jason Papich 4. Dustin Walker 5. Brad Looney 6. Larry Ferris 7. Jason O’Brien 8. RD Peterson 9. Dan Shepherd 10. Richard Kimberling 11. Dalton Ragsdale 12. Jake Davis 13. Mark Burgtorf

Hoosier Racing Tires Heat #1 (10 Laps): 1. Spencer Diercks 2. Dave Eckrich 3. Jesse Stovall 4. Payton Looney 5. Randy Timms 6. Terry Phillips 7. Jason O’Brien 8. Larry Jones 9. Cole Wells 10. Joseph Gorby

RacingJunk.com Heat #2 (10 Laps): 1. Scott Lewis 2. Jake O’Neil 3. RC Whitwell 4. Mason Oberkramer 5. Jason Hughes 6. Chad Simpson 7. Dustin Walker 8. Dalton Ragsdale 9. Brad Looney 10. Dan Shepherd

G2 Gemini Custom Apparel Heat #3 (10 Laps): 1. Jason Utter 2. Rickey Frankel 3. Gordy Gundaker 4. Tony Jackson Jr. 5. Kaleb Stolba 6. Scott Crigler 7. Mike Hammerle 8. David Garmann 9. Brent Raulston 10. Jason Papich

Chix Gear Racewear Heat #4 (10 Laps): 1. Josh Hughes 2. J.C. Wyman 3. Austin Siebert 4. Dustin Mooneyham 5. Jake Davis 6. Bryon Allison 7. Larry Ferris 8. Richard Kimberling 9. RD Peterson 10. Mark Burgtorf

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at www.MLRARacing.com.

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking www.Facebook.com/lucasoilmlra or follow us on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/MLRA.

Photos by Lloyd Collins

Print Friendly, PDF & Email