Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Morgan Bagley Claims Career-Win in Magnolia State Cotton Pickin’ 100

Morgan Bagley Claims Career-Win in Magnolia State Cotton Pickin’ 100

Magnolia Motor SpeedwayTexas Racer Tames the Black Ice for $20,000 Payday at Magnolia Motor Speedway
Columbus, Mississippi (10/10/15) – On Saturday evening the Cooper’s Country Meat Packers Magnolia State Cotton Pickin’ 100 presented by Premier Ford was the scene of the biggest win of Morgan Bagley’s career. The Longview, Texas racer overcame a late-race battle to score the $20,000 victory.

Billy Moyer Jr. and Randy Weaver brought the field to the green flag for the 100-lap affair. Moyer Jr. bolted to the lead at the drop of the green flag with Don O’Neal, Randy Weaver, Brandon Sheppard, and Morgan Bagley in pursuit.

During the opening circuits Moyer Jr. rapidly extended his advantage, and by lap 11 he found himself in lapped traffic. While the leader negotiated lapped traffic a great battle raged supreme for the runner-up position. O’Neal, Weaver, and Bagley raced three wide. O’Neal ultimately took possession of the spot with Bagley moving into the 3rd position.

The first caution of the event flew on lap 14, when Wendell Wallace slowed with nose damage. At the time of the caution Moyer Jr. held the lead over O’Neal, Bagley, Weaver, and Steve Francis.

A couple of additional caution flags plagued the ensuing laps before the race restarted for the final time following a Jason Hiett caution on lap 22. The next several laps found Moyer Jr., O’Neal, and Bagley competing for the top spot.

On lap 43 Bagley slipped under Moyer Jr. to take the lead as the frontrunners endured lapped traffic. Erb Jr. moved into 2nd just past the halfway mark and set his sights on Bagley.

Lapped traffic again intervened on lap 62, when Dennis Erb Jr. became the third different leader of the race. While Erb and Bagley skirted away from the field, O’Neal, Moyer Jr. and McDowell raced three wide for 3rd.

On lap 76 Bagley overtook Erb for the lead in lapped traffic. He would go on to drive away from the field to claim the biggest win of his career. Dale McDowell raced to 2nd in the closing laps but was unable to catch Bagley. Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, and Billy Moyer Jr. completed the top five finishers.

“This has been such a tough year that when he (Erb) passed us for the lead, I just started thinking that maybe I would never win one of these races,” said an emotional Bagley. “But then I got up on the wheel and kept digging and was able to get back to the lead. This is a very special win for me and my team, and I just wish our team owner, Wayman McMillan was here to enjoy it with us.”

16th starting, Evan Ellis overtook Justin McRee on a lap 20 restart, and looked to be on his way to the victory in the $3,000-to-win, NeSmith Chevrolet Crate Late Model finale. However, Riley Hickman, who started 15th took the lead with just six laps remaining to claim the victory in the 50-lapper. Ellis, McRee, Daniel Bridgman, and Jeremy Shaw completed the top five finishers.

The weekend came to a close with the Mississippi Street Stock Series (MSSS) feature, which posted a $2,000-to-win, 30-lap feature. Brooks Strength and Justin McRee paced the field, but it was Brandon Leftwich, who took the lead on the first lap. Lap 2 found Brooks Strength assuming the top spot. A rash of cautions ensued over the next few laps. Brooks Strength went on to take the win, but it was far from easy as Ronald Dunn applied pressure for the duration. Trey Bright, Ronald Dunn, Brandon Leftwich, and Michael Williams.

Magnolia Motor Speedway returns to action on November 6th-7th with the annual USCS Fall Brawl. The event will see USCS Modifieds, NeSmith Late Models, Street Stocks, and 602 Late Model Stocks in action on Friday night. Saturday night’s program will be headlined by the USCS Outlaw Sprint Cars and Super Late Models along with USCS Modifieds, NeSmith Late Models, Street Stocks, and 602 Late Model Stocks. For more information on the event, please contact Pete Walton at 770-865-6097 or visit www.MagnoliaDirt.com .

Magnolia Motor Speedway and complete Magnolia State Cotton Pickin’ 100 information can be found on the Magnolia Motor Speedway website hosted at www.MagnoliaDirt.com . For more information call Johnny Stokes at 662-574-2572 or Dewitt Singleton 601-917-1500 or the track at 662-240-3478.
Magnolia State Cotton Pickin’ 100 Feature Results
Super Late Model (66 Entries) – 100 Laps
1) Morgan Bagley (Longview, TX)
2) Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA)
3) Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, IL)
4) Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN)
5) Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
6) Brandon Overton (Evans, GA)
7) Randy Weaver (Crossville, TN)
8) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (Northport, AL)
9) Chad Thrash (Meridian, MS)
10) Jared Landers (Batesville, AR)
11) Garrett Alberson (Las Cruces, NM)
12) Matt Westfall (Ludlow Falls, OH)
13) Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
14) Hunter Rasdon (Jonesboro, AR)
15) Chandler Petty (Austin, AR)
16) Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO)
17) Chris Brown (Spring, TX)
18) Steve Francis (Ashland, KY)
19) Tyler Erb (New Waverly, TX)
20) Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL)
21) Brandon Sheppard (New Berlin, IL)
22) Jason Hiett (Oxford, AL)
23) Devin Moran (Dresden, OH)
24) Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR)

Factory Stocks (13 Entries) – 12 Laps
1) Jason Byrd
2) Bo Black
3) Brad Gable
4) Brian Jones
5) Austin Rogers
6) John Johnson
7) Heath Beard
8) Carl Kilgore
9) Doug Long
10) Josh Lawley
11) Doug Long
12) Nick Stoop

NeSmith Crate Late Models (52 Entries) – 50 Laps
1) Riley Hickman
2) Evan Ellis
3) Justin McRee
4) Daniel Bridgman
5) Jeremy Shaw
6) Monte Skinner
7) Michael Arnold
8) Grant Pearl
9) Kyle Shaw
10) Bryant Marsh
11) Mike Boland
12) Johnny Stokes
13) Keith Flurry
14) Nick Thrash
15) Peter Hazzard
16) Sid Scarbrough
17) Austin Franklin
18) Montana Dudley
19) Chase Washington
20) Tyler Burgess
21) Doug Sanchagrin
22) Randall Beckwith
23) Shelby Sheedy
24) Shay Knight

Mississippi State Street Stock Series (31 Entries) – 30 Laps
1) Brooks Strength
2) Ronald Dunn
3) Trey Bright
4) Brandon Leftwich
5) Michael Williams
6) Eddie Rickman
7) Steve Bryan
8) EJ Carter
9) Shay Knight
10) Spencer Hughes
11) Terry Taylor
12) Rob Slott
13) Justin King
14) Gary Williams
15) Stacy Robinson
16) Ben Keith
17) Bryan Cox
18) Brian Hansford
19) Mark Barnett
20) Jared Landers
21) Justin McRee
22) Lee Ray
23) Tony Silvestri
24) Sam Maxie

Ben Shelton, Owner
MSR Mafia Marketing & Website Services – www.MSRMafia.com
The Midsouth Racing Scene – www.MidSouthRacing.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email