Home Dirt Late Model News Scott Bloomquist wins $15,000 Tennessee Tipoff!

Scott Bloomquist wins $15,000 Tennessee Tipoff!

Scott Bloomquist - Heath Lawson photo
Scott Bloomquist – Heath Lawson photo

Contact: Chris Tilley

Spring Nationals Series P.R. Coordinator

606-219-1723 | tilleyracing@gmail.com

MARYVILLE, Tenn. – Mar. 12, 2016 – Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. rolled to his first-career Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series victory while also becoming the 17th different tour winner on Saturday Night during the Tennessee Tipoff Classic presented by Hard Rock Café of Pigeon Forge at the Smoky Mountain Speedway.

Bloomquist and pole-sitter Randy Weaver swapped the lead multiple times during the mid-race point of the 75-lapper with Bloomquist going on to win the $15,000 first place prize. Bloomquist drove the Reece Monuments, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Allstar Performance, Sorbea Chiropractic, Horton Oil, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Hoosier Racing Tire, Lucas Oil Products, Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Sweet Manufacturing and Wels Wheels-sponsored Andy Durham Racing Engines-powered Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars to the victory.

Three caution flags slowed the event. On lap 38, an inadvertent caution came out, on lap 58 the next yellow came out as Tommy Kerr stopped in turn four and the final yellow flew on lap 39 as Robby Moses slowed on the front-chute with a right-front flat tire.

The next Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series by Schaeffer’s Oil events are on Friday March 25 and Saturday March 26 at Senoia (Ga.) Raceway paying $4,000-to-win and $6,000-to-win respectively.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com .

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results of “Tennessee Tipoff Classic” at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. on March 12, 2016:

  1. Scott Bloomquist-Mooresburg, Tenn.
  2. Randy Weaver-Crossville, Tenn.
  3. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
  4. Darrell Lanigan-Union, Ky.
  5. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
  6. Jimmy Owens-Newport, Tenn.
  7. Don O’Neal-Martinsville, Ind.
  8. Jared Landers-Batesville, Ark.
  9. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
  10. Earl Pearson Jr.-Jacksonville, Fla.
  11. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
  12. Joey Coulter-Concord, N.C.
  13. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
  14. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
  15. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
  16. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
  17. Kyle Pierce-Statesville, N.C.
  18. Tommy Kerr-Maryville, Tenn.
  19. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
  20. Greg Johnson-Bedford, Ind.
  21. Jason Welshan-Maryville, Tenn.
  22. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
  23. Bobby Giffin-Maryville, Tenn.

Time of Race: 34 minutes, 46 seconds

Margin of Victory: 08.579 seconds

Yellow Flags: Three (laps 38, 58, 59)

Red Flags: None

Lap Leaders: Weaver (1-34), Bloomquist (35-36), Weaver (37), Bloomquist (38-75)

Entries: 27

FK Rod Ends Overall Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist-14.901 seconds

Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Shannon Buckingham

Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None

Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): None

Provisional Starters: Stacy Boles, Bobby Giffin, Kyle Pierce

Heat-One Finish: Randy Weaver, Darrell Lanigan, Shanon Buckingham, Vic Hill, Cory Hedgecock, David Payne, Stacy Boles.

Heat-Two Finish: Joey Coulter, Dale McDowell, Robby Moses, Ryan King, Tommy Kerr, Bobby Giffin, Kyle Pierce.

Heat-Three Finish: Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Jimmy Owens, Jason Welshan, Mack McCarter, Mark Douglas, Chris Madden (DQ’ed).

Heat-Four Finish: Mike Marlar, Donald McIntosh, Earl Pearson Jr., Don O’Neal, Greg Johnson, Steve Smith.

Consolation Race Finish: Cory Hedgecock, Tommy Kerr, Greg Johnson, David Payne, Bobby Giffin, Stacy Boles, Kyle Pierce, Mack McCarter, Steve Smith (DNS), Mark Douglas (DNS).

Current Spring Nationals Series Points (after March 12, 2016)

  1. Scott Bloomquist-200
  2. Randy Weaver-196
  3. Mike Marlar-194
  4. Darrell Lanigan-192
  5. Dale McDowell-190
  6. Jimmy Owens-188
  7. Don O’Neal-186
  8. Jared Landers-184
  9. Donald McIntosh-182

10. Earl Pearson Jr.-180

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: