Home Race Track News Illinois Spencer Bayston Takes Macon POWRi Checkered Flag

Spencer Bayston Takes Macon POWRi Checkered Flag

Macon Speedway(Macon, IL) Spencer Bayston won his heat race from the second row and got a front row outside starting spot and held the lead for the majority of the 30-lap feature and was essentially unchallenged. Decatur’s Terry Babb finished third in his heat race and was placed fourth in the starting lineup. He would finish fourth but was running a strong second place until the final three laps of the feature race when he was passed by Justin Peck. Peck started 12th. Bayston of Lebanon, Ind., was fast out of the restarts and would not be in jeopardy of giving up the lead.

Blue Mound’s Jeremy Camp returned to the track just down the road from his home and dominated the POWRi Micro Sprint 20-lap feature event. He has won many micro sprint features at Macon Speedway with and without the POWRi sanctioning.

Nick Justice came into the night with the Street Stock points standing lead with two feature wins out of four race events. At the night’s conclusion, he would have three features and pad his lead over the division. Justice looked in control from the beginning and would stay on top with Kyle Waters, Luke Force, Brian Dasenbrock and Terry Reed in chase.

Jake Little looked smooth in the Pro Late Model 20-lap A-Main feature event. Matt Taylor gave Little a battle through the first 15 laps but the final five laps were all Little as he pulled away for his first-ever feature win. Little formerly raced UMP Super Late Models before getting a UMP Pro Crate Late Model.

The night completed with the 4-cylinder Hornet division and Tony Reed looked strong until Adam Webb, who started in the back of the field, came charging to take the lead out of the fourth turn on the eighth lap of the 15-lap feature. Jared Matherly was running along with Reed in the race for second as Webb dashed away with the checkered flag. Reed would manage to keep second from Matherly.

Macon Speedway wishes to thank Casey’s General Stores for their sponsorship of the evening’s program and the members of the Armed Forces for being on hand for the night’s Armed Forces program. Next Saturday night brings the monster truck Raminator and a full stock car racing program.

POWRi Midgets–1. Spencer Bayston (Lebanon, IN), 2. Justin Peck, 3. Colten Cottle, 4. Terry Babb, 5. Matt Ponder, 6. Dayne Kingshott, 7. Ryan Robinson, 8. Holly Shelton, 9. Brayton Lynch, 10. Kyle Schuett

POWRi Micro Sprints–1. Jeremy Camp (Blue Mound), 2. Nathan Benson, 3. Levi Curry, 4. Garrett Duff, 5. Ryan Frantz, 6. Tony Clifton, 7. Zeb Wise, 8. Kris King, 9. Shelby Bosie, 10. Slater Helt

Street Stocks–1. Nick Justice (Decatur), 2. Kyle Waters (Oreana), 3. Luke Force (Argenta), 4. Brian Dasenbrock (Decatur), 5. Terry Reed (Decatur), 6. Dustin Reed (Decatur), 7. Greg Osman (Bloomington), 8. Matthew Reed (Blue Mound), 9. Rudy Zaragoza (Jacksonville), 10. John Bright, Jr. (Long Creek)

Pro Late Models–1. Jake Little (Springfield), 2. Matt Taylor (Springfield), 3. Roben Huffman (Midland City), 4. Eric Wilson (Downs), 5. Guy Taylor (Springfield), 6. Cody Maguire (Carlinville), 7. Shawn Ziemer (Boody), 8. Dakota Ewing (Warrensburg)

Hornets–1. Adam Webb (Decatur), 2. Tony Reed (Decatur), 3. Jared Matherly (Decatur), 4. Michael Gossett (Decatur), 5. Mike Eskew (Springfield), 6. Travis Sumpter (Decatur), 7. Mike McChristy (Mt. Zion), 8. Cook Crawford (Lincoln), 9. Marty Sullivan (Decatur), 10. Ben McChristy (Mt. Zion)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Ruble Rules Haubstadt Hustler for First USAC Sprint Win

By: Richie Murray - USAC Media Haubstadt, Indiana (September 19, 2020).........In a year that had produced one first-time USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car winner at...

Josh Harris Wins Hope for Harlie Finale at Cedar Ridge Speedway

RIGHT PLACE, RIGHT TIME: Harris Capitalizes on Spinning Leaders to Win Hope for Harlie Finale at Cedar Ridge Krup, Hoffman and Nicely tangle in Turns...

Rickey Frankel, Timmy Hill, Ryan Hamilton, Joel Ortberg & Joshua Hawkins take Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 wins!

DIRTCAR LATE MODELS A FEATURE 1 Finish Start # Competitor Hometown +/- 1 1 33F Rickey Frankel Quincy, IL - 2 3 11H Jeff Herzog Herculaneum, MO 1 3 2 78 Chad Zobrist Highland, IL -1 4 5 52 Matt Bailey Highland, IL 1 5 11 26 Rusty Griffaw Festus, MO 6 6 7 5 Greg Williams Haubstadt, IN 1 7 8 11T Trevor Gundaker St. Charles, MO 1 8 4 50 Kaeden Cornell Willard, MO -4 9 6 11K Shannon Kuhn Highland,...

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: