Home Dirt Late Model News Corn Belt Clash Stovall perfect in Alphabet Soup win at I-80

Stovall perfect in Alphabet Soup win at I-80

Jesse Stovall - Lloyd Collins photo
Jesse Stovall – Lloyd Collins photo


Greenwood, Nebraska (June 24, 2016) – Jesse Stovall led every lap from his DirtonDirt.com pole position to collect his 2nd MLRA win of the 2016 season in the $3,000 to win Alphabet Soup Classic at the I-80 Speedway. Stovall began his night by winning his heat race in dominating fashion, a race where he started in the 8th position only to be leading by the end of lap one.
Stovall started the main event alongside Tony Jackson, Jr. but immediately took advantage of the clean air at the drop of the green flag. In a race that saw four cautions Jesse had to defend his top spot on each of the ensuing restarts. Among the drivers that took a shot at Stovall was Slayton, MN driver Jason Krohn, who was able to pull alongside the eventual winner late in the event. However, a few laps later Krohn would slow on the race track bringing out the night’s final caution. Krohn would take his ride pit side and retire from the event with mechanical issues.
The final restart came with only 8 laps remaining and this time it gave the inside track to Chad Simpson. Simpson attempted to cut under Stovall exciting turn four on the re-start but Stovall was able to protect his line and drive away for his 2nd Lucas Oil MLRA win of the year.
In Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane Stovall commented about the heavy pressure on the re-starts. “I was a little concerned about every one of them (re-starts). Chad, Terry and Jason are all really good racers”. “I’ve never won a (points) race here at I-80, and I’m really excited to be able to finally do it.”
Stovall went on to say, “I didn’t know quite what to do entering that last corner but I guess on the last re-start I did things like I needed to and got to driving away again”.
Second finishing Chad Simpson said, “We had a couple of shots at him, I just couldn’t get through one and two like I needed. In three and four I was really good, but in one and two I just needed a little more.” Simpson finished by saying, “We started deep, (8th) and came up and ran 2nd, we’ve got nothing to hang our heads about tonight.”
Defending MLRA Champion Terry Philips rounded out a solid podium finish in 3rd. Phillips who ran the top side for most of the event said, “We got the car too tight and I just couldn’t run the bottom very well. Tonight we just had a 3rd place car.”
Rounding out the top five was Tony Jackson Jr. and Brantlee Gotschall, while Kyle Berck secured the Casey’s General Store Hard Charger award by advancing 13 positions to finish in 8th. Heat race wins were collected by Gotschall, Stovall and Phillips.
The Lucas Oil MLRA moves east on Saturday night to the Adams County Speedway in Corning, IA. Jesse Stovall will look to defend his 2015 series win at the ½ mile facility when the green flag drops on the $5,000 to win, “Liberty 50”.
ProtectTheHarvest.Com A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Chad Simpson 3. Terry Phillips 4. Tony Jackson, Jr. 5. Brantlee Gotschall 6. J.C. Wyman 7. Tad Pospisil 8. Kyle Berck 9. Jason Papich 10. Justin Asplin 11. Matt Buller 12. Austin Siebert 13. Cale Osborn 14. Scott Lewis 15. Bryon Allison 16. Dave Eckrich 17. Dean Moore 18. Jeff Roth 19. Randy Roth 20. Jason Krohn 21. Ben Schaller 22. Mike Stadel 23. Payton Looney
Impact Signs, Awnings, & Wraps B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Jason Papich 2. Austin Siebert 3. Ben Schaller 4. Dean Moore 5. Cale Osborn 6. Jeff Roth 7. Mike Stadel 8. Randy Roth 9. Junior Coover 10. Curt Drake 11. Kyle Berck 12. Chad Jensen
Bilstein Shocks Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Brantlee Gotschall 2. Chad Simpson 3. Jason Krohn 4. Tad Pospisil 5. Jason Papich 6. Kyle Berck 7. Ben Schaller 8. Cale Osborn 9. Curt Drake 10. Mike Stadel
Casey’s General Stores Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Scott Lewis 3. Dave Eckrich 4. Payton Looney 5. Bryon Allison 6. Junior Coover 7. Chad Jensen 8. Rece Vaught.
Chix Gear Racewear Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Tony Jackson Jr. 3. Justin Asplin 4. Matt Buller 5. J.C. Wyman 6. Austin Siebert 7. Dean Moore 8. Jeff Roth 9. Randy Roth


I-80 Speedway Contingencies 6/24/16

  • Hooker Harness “11th Place” – Matt Buller
  • Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane – Jesse Stovall
  • Fasttrack Photos – Jesse Stovall
  • Crew Chief of the Race – Tommy Rogers
  • Casey’s General Stores “Hard Charger of the Race” – Kyle Berck
  • Sunoco “Rookie of the Race” – Tad Pospisil
  • Real Racing Wheels – Austin Siebert
  • Wehrs Machine – Dave Eckrich
  • DirtonDirt.com “Pole Award”- Jesse Stovall
  • Malvern Bank & Trust “Most Laps Led” – Jesse Stovall
  • AR Bodies – Brantlee Gotschall
  • KRC – J. C. Wyman
  • RacingJunk.com “Hard Luck Award” – Jason Krohn
  • Landrum Springs “Top Performer” – Kyle Berck
  • Performance Bodies “Performer of the Race” – Jesse Stovall

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at www.MLRARacing.com.


Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking www.Facebook.com/lucasoilmlra or follow us on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/MLRA.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: