Home --> Race Track News --> Missouri --> Central Missouri Speedway --> Kid’s Night Takes Center Stage this Saturday at Central Missouri Speedway!

Kid’s Night Takes Center Stage this Saturday at Central Missouri Speedway!

CMS Public Relations
August 3, 2016

(Warrensburg, MO) The next generation of race fans and drivers take center stage this weekend at Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) for one of the track’s most enduring events. Kid’s Night at CMS is a many times copied but never duplicated action-packed night for boys and girls up to age twelve.

Kids will receive a free hot dog and drink courtesy of long-time promoters Earl and Susan Walls and then, come intermission time, the kids will report to the track for their highly anticipated foot races in six age groups for boys and girls ages 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-10, and 11-12. Race winners will go away with a medallion for their victory. All kids up to age 12 have a chance to win donated bicycles from racers and fans. In addition, every child up to age 12 will receive a free goodie bag stuffed with school supplies, trinkets, coupons, hero cards, and other small donated items.

Donations may be taken right up until race time; however, the CMS staff will begin assembling the goodie bags at 10 a.m. in the CMS Tech Barn on the pit-side of the speedway on Saturday at 10 a.m.

Although the kid’s races will be hotly contested, the racing by the drivers will certainly entertain the crowd as well. Last week’s main events were memorable in a variety of different ways. Three different leaders in the USRA Modified division before Shad Badder emerged victorious. A last-lap win for Darrin Christy in the Pure Stock division for the second-straight week. A track-leading sixth victory for Jacob Ebert in the B-Mods. John Brooks capturing his 94th CMS career win by coming from last on the grid to first in the Street Stocks, and Dillon Raffurty being in the right place at the right time in the Midwest Mod-Lite main event after the early leaders tangled. Just some of the great action that took place last week.

Once again this Saturday, weekly racing continues with the USRA Modifieds, Street Stocks, B-Mods, and Pure Stocks. The Midwest Mod-Lites also return for their second-straight week of competition and the Allstar Midget Series returns for another night of action as well. At CMS, we keep the show moving and do not drag things out, expect a well-run, swift-moving and action-filled evening of fun for the whole family!

For any new drivers wanting to come out to CMS and give things a try, registration is now just $10 for the remainder of the season for USRA Modified, B-Mod, Street Stock, and Pure Stock drivers. This Saturday pit gates open at 4:30 with admission gates opening at 5. Driver pill draw cutoff is 6:15 (no passing points awarded to late-arriving drivers). Pit Meeting takes place at 6:30, followed by hot laps at 7, and racing at 7:30.

For complete weekend details head over to www.centralmissourispeedway.net and click on the Independence Day Weekend Special Event Info! CMS is located 3.5-miles north of Warrensburg, MO from the junction of Highways 50 and 13 in Warrensburg just north of the new Hwy 13 by-pass round-a-bout, or from the Higginsville exit off I-70, head south on Highway 13 for twelve and half miles.

Admission prices for this weekend are: $12 adult general mission, $10 military with I.D., seniors 65 to 74 $10, kids aged 6 to 12 $5. Children 5 and under and seniors 75 and over free. All pit passes $30.

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/pages/Central-Missouri-Speedway. Join our email group by emailing info@centralmissourispeedway.net. Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to www.centralmissourispeedway.net. Don’t forget about the all-new CMS Going Green YouTube video page!

CMS and Lakeside Speedway once again will team up for their end-of-season banquets for one single night of awards, camaraderie and bench-racing, food, music, and fun on November 5th at the Blue Springs Elk’s Lodge. Stay tuned for further details in the coming weeks as the race season nears completion in September. Here’s a look at how the championship point standings are unfolding to determine the 2016 CMS Track Champions.

1 25x- Rodger Detherage, Windsor 1138
2 13- Amanda Akers, Independence 1029
3 25xx- Nick Pickard, Leeton 858
4 53k- Larry Norris, Lone Jack 823
5 58- Jeremiah Wilson, Concordia 822

1 44- Troy Carlyle, Kearney 1151
2 94- Jacob Ebert, Oak Grove 1107
3 7b- Bobby Russell, Smithville 970
4 28s- Bill Small, Holden 930
5 12- Olen Stephens, Warrensburg 922

1 30c- Clayton Campbell, Otterville 1218
2 7- Brett Wood, Warrensburg 1163
3 43- Brian Inlow, Concordia 941
4 25xxx- Jay Prevete, Windsor 923
5 25- Brian Eckhoff, Higginsville 897

1 26k- Kevin Blackburn, Fulton 1338
2 75- Gunner Martin, Blue Springs 1316
3 97k- Brian Johnson, Independence 1006
4 92- Danny Scrogham, Peculiar 1001
5 12v- Nathan Vaughn, Sedalia 964

Print Friendly, PDF & Email