Home Race Track News Indiana 2018 INDIANA SPRINT WEEK SCHEDULED FOR JULY 20-28


    Seven dates for the 31st annual edition of Indiana Sprint Week have been set for the 2018 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car season.

    The prestigious summertime tradition will have a familiar look with seven races in nine nights from July 20-28, 2018, featuring a slate of the top sprint car tracks in the Hoosier state.

    Indiana Sprint Week will begin at a yet-to-be-determined venue on Friday, July 20 before following it up a night later at Kokomo Speedway on Saturday, July 21. The first weekend concludes Sunday, July 22 in the southeastern part of the state at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

    After a two-day hiatus, the series returns for a final four-day stretch that begins at the Terre Haute Action Track on Wednesday, July 25. Then, it’s off to Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville on Thursday, July 26, Bloomington Speedway on Friday, July 27 and concludes with the ISW finale Saturday, July 28 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt.

    The changing landscape on the racing calendar within the Midwest region opened new opportunities, instigating a change to a slightly later date in the month of July for ISW to create a better balance for the series’ drivers and teams during a busy summer stretch.

    “We know this is a change for the promoters, our teams and fans, but we feel the need to take advantage of the opportunity to keep growing the event as a whole,” USAC Series Director Levi Jones said. “We plan to carry the momentum we’ve built over the last couple of decades and make Indiana Sprint Week an even bigger success for everyone involved.”

    The tracks on the ISW schedule each include its own characteristics, ranging from relatively flat to high banks, from quarters to half-miles and from wide-sweeping turns to paperclip-shaped venues, offering a unique challenge to both driver and machine.

    Indiana Sprint Week debuted in 1988, but first became USAC-sanctioned in 1996. Since then, the event has grown from three races to seven and has become the marquee event on the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car trail that draws massive crowds and welcomes travelers from around the world, both driver and fan alike.

    The USAC National Sprint Car division’s winningest driver, Dave Darland, owns the most Indiana Sprint Week victories with 18. Levi Jones and Kevin Thomas have the most ISW titles with four.


    Fri., July 20: TBA – TBA

    Sat., July 21: Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Indiana

    Sun., July 22: Lawrenceburg Speedway – Lawrenceburg, Indiana

    Wed., July 25: Terre Haute Action Track – Terre Haute, Indiana

    Thu., July 26: Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Indiana

    Fri., July 27: Bloomington Speedway – Bloomington, Indiana

    Sat., July 28: Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Indiana

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Brandon Sheppard Rolls to $20,000 Payday at Cedar Lake

    Another WoO Wisconsin Doubleheader on Deck SHINNSTON, W.Va. (07/06/20) – Brandon Sheppard led 39 laps of Saturday’s 40-lap Independence Day Spectacular at Cedar Lake Speedway...

    Macon Speedway Herald & Review 100 Rescheduled For Thursday, August 13

    (Macon, IL) Arguably the most historic and well attended event in Macon Speedway history, the Herald & Review 100, is now set for Thursday,...

    Veterans and Military Appreciation Night set for this Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway

    WHEATLAND, Mo. (July 6, 2020) - Military members, whether active duty or veterans, always are recognized before each racing program at Lucas Oil Speedway...

    Tyler Millwood and Chris Madden Join Forces for Southern Nationals Run

    Madden to Pilot Team’s Backup Car KINGSTON, Ga. (07/06/20) – As he prepares for a run at an inaugural Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series championship,...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email