Home Dirt Late Model News Comp Cams Super Dirt Car Series Payton Looney Lands in COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Victory Lane

Payton Looney Lands in COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Victory Lane

5th Annual Lucas Oil Fall Nationals Up Next

Springfield, Missouri (09/15/18) – Home state driver, Payton Looney shot to the lead on the third circuit of Saturday night’s COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil event at Springfield Raceway and never looked back on his way to his first-career win with the tour.

The victory was worth $3,000 for the Republic, Missouri racer as he became the 13th different winner of 2018 with the series.

Gavin Landers led the first two laps from the New Vision Graphics Pole Position before Looney took control on lap 3. Despite two cautions that slowed the action, Looney went on to lead the final 37 rounds around the southwest Missouri oval. Jack Sullivan, Gavin Landers, Hunter Rasdon, and Cole Wells rounded out the Top-5 finishers.

Hunter Rasdon received the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for motoring from the 15th-starting spot to a fourth-place finish.

Kyle Beard was presented with the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award. The Arkansas traveler saw his night come to an abrupt end when Logan Martin slowed in front of him, leaving Beard with nowhere to go. The two drivers made heavy contact, ending Beard’s night.

The tour will take a three-week break before resuming action with the Lucas Oil Fall Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, Missouri) on October 12-13. The weekend will be co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest Late Model Racing Association (MLRA). Friday night action features a $3,000-to-win program, and Saturday will be headlined by a $5,000-to-win program.

For more information on the weekend of racing, please visit www.LucasOilSpeedway.com .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Larry Shaw Race Cars, New Vision Graphics, Black Diamond Chassis, Midwest Sheet Metal, Beene Oil Co., Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, Mid State Golf Cars, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mark Martin Powersports, Henryetta Ford, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Beach Veterinary Services, Racing Head Service, Kellick Farms, Midwest Automation, P&W Sales, and MSR Mafia Marketing Services.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – September 15, 2018
Springfield Raceway Springfield, Missouri)

Feature Results (40 Laps)
1)Payton Looney 2)Jack Sullivan 3)Gavin Landers 4)Hunter Rasdon 5)Cole Wells 6)B.J. Robinson 7)Joe Godsey 8)Raymond Merrill 9)Kaleb Stolba 10)David Payne 11)Steve Johnson 12)Blonde Bomber Mitchell 13)Kaeden Cornell 14)Logan Martin 15)Kyle Beard 16)Shannon Phillips 17)Shawn Strong 18)Scott Crigler

Entries: 18
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Cole Wells
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Payton Looney
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter:  Gavin Landers
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Kyle Beard
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Hunter Rasdon (15th-4th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Payton Looney
Lap Leaders: Gavin Landers (1-2), Payton Looney (3-40)
Cautions: 2



Ben Shelton, Owner

MSR Mafia Marketing Services – www.MSRmafia.com

Midsouth Racing Scene – www.MidSouthRacing.com


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

World of Outlaws Set For Thrilling Tripleheader Weekend

WHAT TO WATCH FOR: Three Tracks In Three Days Set To Thrill The three-day weekend will set the stage for an epic points title hunt PLYMOUTH,...

Don O’Neal Returns as MasterSbilt House Car Driver Starting in Jackson 100!

(MARTINSVILLE, INDIANA) After competing in only one event so far in his 2020 racing season, Don O'Neal confirmed today that he will return to...

Springfield Raceway Results – 9/20/20

USRA B-MODS A FEATURE 1 Finish Start # Competitor Hometown +/- 1 3 66 Ryan Gillmore Springfield, MO 2 2 6 8 Dillon McCowan Urbana, MO 4 3 4 21 Jackie Dalton Carthage, MO 1 4 20 13 Scott Crigler Alton, MO 16 5 5 9 Sam Petty Marshfield, MO - 6 1 57 Keith Pratt Ash Grove, MO -5 7 17 10P Dayton Pursley Hermitage, MO 10 8 7 68 Ricky Watkins Brookline, MO -1 9 13 21X Justin Rigel Thayer, MO 4 10 16 64 John...

Randolph County Raceway Results – 9/20/20

B MODIFIEDS A FEATURE 1 Finish Start # Competitor Hometown +/- 1 4 22C Cole Campbell Mexico, MO 3 2 18 53 Logan Anderson Eddyville, IA 16 3 3 7 Terry Schultz Sedalia, MO - 4 5 7V Carter VanDenBerg Oskaloosa, IA 1 5 12 01 Brayton Carter Oskaloosa, IA 7 6 19 57 Austen Becerra Carthage, IL 13 7 13 59 Jamie Aleshire Moberly, MO 6 8 17 0 Dakota Girard Moberly, MO 9 9 8 155 Terry Wilson Bowling Green, MO -1 10 15 17 Mike...

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: