Home Race Track News Illinois BRANDT Season Finale Set For Saturday Night At Macon Speedway

    BRANDT Season Finale Set For Saturday Night At Macon Speedway

    Championship To Be Decided Plus Giveaways For Fans

    (Macon, IL) The 2018 racing season comes to an end this coming Saturday, September 29 at Macon Speedway with the BRANDT Season Finale “Racing For The Cup” Night.  Six divisions of action will be on track plus fans will have the chance to win giveaway items throughout the evening.  In addition, powder puff races and mechanics races will be held.

    Going into the final night, three point championships are still up for grabs, mathematically.  The Sportsman and Hornet championship races are extremely close, while the B-Mod championship could be claimed by just starting the feature.  Guy Taylor, of Springfield, IL, won the Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Model class championship last weekend, while Tommy Sheppard, of New Berlin, IL, has an insurmountable lead in the Modifieds.  Boody, IL’s Shawn Ziemer will be on his way to a Street Stock championship, leading by 102 points in that class.

    The tightest of the point races comes in the Sportsman class, as Scott Williams, of Le Roy, IL, leads by just four over Taylorville, IL’s Tim Bedinger.  That is a difference of just two feature spots.  If the two end in a tie, the tiebreaker will be wins.  Right now, Bedinger has a win, while Williams does not.  Scott Landers, Dennis Vander Meersch, and Danny Smith complete the top five in standings.

    In the Hornet division, Springfield, IL’s Mike Eskew holds just an eight point lead on Decatur, IL’s Jeremy Reed, a difference of four feature spots.  The tiebreaker would go to Reed, as he has six feature wins, to Eskew’s two.  Matt Reed, Steve Stine, and Adam Webb round out the top five in the Hornet class, heading into the final night.

    Godfrey, IL’s Cody Stilwell has all but wrapped up the B-Mod championship, having a 42 point lead on Jerry Thompson.  Stilwell will likely clinch the point title by just starting the feature, if 20 cars or less start the event.  Following the two are Tom Riech, Kevin Crowder, and Tim Hancock.

    In addition to Sportsman, Hornets, and B-Mods, the Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Micros will be on track.  Fans will also be treated to a few extra races, with Powder Puff events for the ladies in the Street Stock and Hornet divisions and Mechanics races for Modifieds/B-Mods and Sportsman/Street Stocks.

    Officials have collected prizes throughout the last couple of weeks to give out to fans as part of “Give Back To Fans” night.  Plenty of giveaways will be had, including plenty of Texas Roadhouse appetizer cards for those who arrive early in the night.

    Pit gates open Saturday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, hotlaps will start at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is just $12, while kids 11 and under are free.

    About Macon Speedway:

    For more information, follow Macon Speedway online at, on Facebook ( and Twitter (@maconspeedway). It’s easy to join the Macon Speedway text service. Fans can text MSFANS to 74574 to receive fan information. Drivers text MSDRIVERS to 74574 to receive driver information. Message and date rates apply. Updates are also available by calling Macon Speedway at 217-764-3000.

    Macon Speedway is located nine miles south of Decatur on U.S. 51, then 0.6 miles west on Andrews Street and south to 205 N. Wiles. Macon Speedway hosts racing every Saturday night, plus many weeknight specials. Macon Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $150,000 Racer Rewards Program


    Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Models (FINAL)

    Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
    1 4T Guy Taylor Springfield IL 970 0
    2 14 Donny Koehler Macon IL 804 166
    3 32M Cody Maguire Carlinville IL 794 176
    4 25 Dakota Ewing Warrensburg IL 762 208
    5 33H Roben Huffman Midland City IL 672 298
    6 38J Jake Little Springfield IL 634 336
    7 2K Kyle VanDorn New Berlin IL 468 502
    8 51 Jarod Shasteen Macon IL 436 534
    9 45M Kyle McMahon Mt Vernon IL 428 542
    10 15M Colby Eller Taylorville IL 374 596 Modifieds

    Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
    1 T6 Tommy Sheppard New Berlin IL 874 0
    2 98 Danny Smith Argenta IL 704 170
    3 11 Zach Rhodes Taylorville IL 658 216
    4 10 Curt Rhodes Taylorville IL 654 220
    5 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 434 440
    6 77 Guy Taylor Springfield IL 398 476
    7 71 Jeff Graham Stonington IL 396 478
    8 43 Jared Thomas Edinburg IL 356 518
    9 72A Austin Lynn Mason City IL 342 532
    10 7 Blake Thompson Troy IL 338 536


    Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
    1 00s Cody Stillwell Godfrey IL 932 0
    2 18 Jerry Thompson Troy IL 890 42
    3 57R Tom Riech Springfield IL 842 90
    4 15C Kevin Crowder Argenta IL 826 106
    5 0 Tim Hancock Mount Olive IL 762 170
    6 55 Tim Riech Petersburg IL 758 174
    7 74 Billy Adams Shelbyville IL 440 492
    8 93J JR Wiltermood Windsor IL 404 528
    9 13 Dante Brown Morrisonville IL 308 624
    10 61S Ricky Smith Alton IL 288 644


    Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
    1 112 Scott Williams Le roy IL 520 0
    2 17B Tim Bedinger Taylorville IL 516 4
    3 41 Scott Landers Taylorville IL 480 40
    4 25 Dennis Vander Meersch Springfield IL 448 72
    5 98 Danny Smith Argenta IL 362 158
    6 93 Ty Nation Taylorville IL 352 168
    7 87 Wes O’Dell Springfield IL 342 178
    8 12M Terry Myers Buffalo IL 338 182
    9 94 Mitch Ringler Taylorville IL 332 188
    10 7S Ethan Schnapp Springfield IL 270 250

    Street Stocks

    Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
    1 23Z Shawn Ziemer Boody IL 838 0
    2 24 Justin Crowell Lincoln IL 736 102
    3 X7 Larry Russell Decatur IL 674 164
    4 58 Jerit Murphy Lodge IL 652 186
    5 5 Terry Reed Decatur IL 608 230
    6 08 Brian Dasenbrock Decatur IL 430 408
    7 19 Matthew Yaden Monticello IL 430 408
    8 22X Darrell Dick Monticello IL 428 410
    9 16 Nick Macklin Argenta IL 404 434
    10 31 Roy Beal Springfield IL 394 444


    Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
    1 21 Mike Eskew Springfield IL 880 0
    2 33 Jeremy Reed Decatur IL 872 8
    3 4 Matt Reed Decatur IL 834 46
    4 04 Steve Stine Stonington IL 818 62
    5 40 Adam Webb Decatur IL 780 100
    6 39M Marty Sullivan Decatur IL 740 140
    7 44 John Lewis Cerro Gordo IL 664 216
    8 64CK Cook Crawford Lincoln IL 656 224
    9 66D Carson Dart Springfield IL 642 238
    10 D7 Carter Dart Springfield IL 614 266
    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Huset’s Returns!

    (Bill W) August 5, 2020, Monroe, IA – In 1954, Til Huset carved out a racetrack in the Split Rock Creek Valley south of...

    Danny Burton’s Hoosier Race Report – 8/2/20

    The Hoosier Race Report: Racing, Interrupted You can't say that USAC officials and Joe Spiker Productions didn't try. But the one thing that promoters can't...

    Looking Back on the History of USA Nationals at Cedar Lake

    BACK IN TIME: Reviewing 32 Years of USA Nationals History From $8,000-to-win 50-lapper in 1990 to Formidable $50,000-to-win Crown Jewel in 2020 NEW RICHMOND, WISC. - This...

    Braaksma is first at Fairmont for third IMCA Speed Shift TV Dirt Knights win

    FAIRMONT, Minn. (Aug. 5) – Ethan Braaksma’s first visit to Fairmont Raceway ended with his third Speed Shift TV Dirt Knights Tour for IMCA...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email