Home Dirt Late Model News Jimmy Owens on Sunoco North/South 100 Pole

    Jimmy Owens on Sunoco North/South 100 Pole

    Jimmy Owens Leads A Heat Race to Victory

    UNION, Ky. (August 9, 2019) – Friday night’s portion of the Sunoco Race Fuels North/South – Presented by Lucas Oil kicked off with 53 of the nation’s top dirt late model drivers battling in twelve heat races of passing points.


    In the first round, heat one was won by Mike Marlar. He led all the way to pick up the victory. Marlar stayed in front of a fantastic battle for second that lasted for the entire distance. Ultimately, he was followed to the line by Michael Norris and Ricky Weiss.


    In the second heat, Zak Blackwood led all the way to win. Dale McDowell charged from the fourth starting position to take the runner-up spot. Scott Bloomquist took the third spot.


    In heat three, Frank Heckenast Jr. passed Billy Moyer Jr. on the white flag lap to win an exciting battle between the two. Moyer Jr. would cross the line in second over seventh-starting Stormy Scott.


    Hudson O’Neal made a daring move early in heat four as the 18-year-old went on to win the heat after starting in eighth, collecting the most passing points in round one with his winning effort. Duane Chamberlain would finish in second followed by Florence first-timer Chris Garnes.


    The fifth heat race saw a torrid battle between the top three finishers. Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport and Bobby Pierce ran away from the rest of the field over the last half of the race. Jonathan Davenport, who started seventh and Bobby Pierce, who started eighth rocketed through the field to finish second and third.


    The sixth and final heat race of round one saw Kyle Bronson use his outside front-row starting spot to take the win as a hotly contested battle for second took place, with Nick Hoffman finally edging Brandon Overton for the second spot.


    In the second round, heat one turned out to have a battle of number 8 cars as Mike Benedum took the lead at the start and stretched it out from the other number 8, Kyle Stickler. Strickler trailed at the line in second position, and eighth-place starter Devin Gilpin finished in third.


    The second heat went to outside front row starter Bobby Pierce as he had to contend with youngster Billy Green for the first half of the race. Robby Hensley, the two-time Florence Speedway track champion finished in third.


    Earl Pearson Jr. fought off the field for the win in the third heat, followed to the checkers by Ricky Weiss and Jonathan Davenport.


    The fourth heat saw Scott Bloomquist come from the seventh starting spot to take the win. Devin Moran edged out Donald McIntosh at the stripe for second.


    The fifth heat in round two saw Stormy Scott take the victory over Chris Madden and Tim McCreadie.


    The sixth and final heat saw Jimmy Owens advance from the sixth starting position to take the win. With the victory, he earns the pole position for tomorrow night’s Sunoco Race Fuels North-South 100. Zack Dohm came from the same row as Owens to finish in second. Tyler Erb was third.


    Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
    Race Summary
    Friday, August 9, 2019
    37th annual Sunoco North/South 100 – Presented by Lucas Oil
    Florence Speedway – Union, Ky.

    Round 1:
    Penske Race Shocks
    Heat Race #1 Finish: Mike Marlar, Michael Norris, Ricky Weiss, Tyler Erb ®, Kyle Strickler, Kevin Weaver, Robby Hensley, Paul Stubber, Victor Lee-DNS

    FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish: Zak Blackwood, Dale McDowell, Scott Bloomquist, Jason Jameson ®, Donald McIntosh, Tim McCreadie, Josh Rice, Johnny Scott, Todd Brennan

    Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish: Frank Heckenast, Jr., Billy Moyer, Jr., Stormy Scott, Greg Johnson, Kody Evans, Earl Pearson, Jr., Scott James , Jeff Alsip, Roger Williams

    Lucas Oil Products Penetrating Oil Heat Race #4 Finish: Hudson O’Neal, Duane Chamberlain, Chris Garnes, Chris Madden, Devin Moran ®, Zack Dohm, Jason Miller, Billy Green, Jesse Lay

    Sunoco Race Fuels Heat Race #5 Finish: Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport, Bobby Pierce, Trevor Landrum, Kent Robinson, Shanon Buckingham, Mike Benedum, Joey Moriarty, Austin Rettig

    Arizona Sport Shirts Heat Race #6 Finish: Kyle Bronson, Nick Hoffman, Brandon Overton, Devin Gilpin, Josh Richards, David Webb, Mike Provenzano, Austin Burns

    Round 2:
    Penske Race Shocks
    Heat Race #1 Finish: Mike Benedum, Kyle Strickler, Devin Gilpin, Josh Richards, Mike Marlar, Joey Moriarty, Johnny Scott, Chris Garnes, Kody Evans

    FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish: Bobby Pierce, Billy Green, Robby Hensley, Shanon Buckingham, Jason Jameson ®, Scott James , David Webb, Jesse Lay

    Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish: Earl Pearson, Jr., Ricky Weiss, Jonathan Davenport, Hudson O’Neal, Brandon Overton, Dale McDowell, Greg Johnson, Trevor Landrum, Duane Chamberlain

    Lucas Oil Products Penetrating Oil Heat Race #4 Finish: Scott Bloomquist, Devin Moran ®, Donald McIntosh, Austin Rettig, Jason Miller, Jeff Alsip, Paul Stubber, Austin Burns, Billy Moyer, Jr.

    Sunoco Race Fuels Heat Race #5 Finish: Stormy Scott, Chris Madden, Tim McCreadie, Kent Robinson, Nick Hoffman, Michael Norris, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Todd Brennan

    Arizona Sport Shirts Heat Race #6 Finish: Jimmy Owens, Zack Dohm, Tyler Erb ®, Kyle Bronson, Josh Rice, Zak Blackwood, Mike Provenzano, Roger Williams, Kevin Weaver

    Lucas Oil Products Red “N” Tacky Spray Grease B-Main #1 Line Up:

    Donald McIntosh 7m 8B Mike Benedum
    Michael Norris 5 14 Josh Richards
    Kent Robinson 7R 94M Jason Miller
    Billy Moyer, Jr. 21 11 Josh Rice
    Austin Rettig 94 4G Kody Evans
    Paul Stubber 31AUS 30 Todd Brennan
    Victor Lee 1X    

    FAST Shafts
    B-Main #2 Line Up:

    Nick Hoffman 2H 17m Dale McDowell
    Frank Heckenast, Jr. 99JR 50 Shanon Buckingham
    Robby Hensley 21H 42 Chris Garnes
    Greg Johnson 17J 83 Scott James
    Joey Moriarty 51 78 Jeff Alsip
    Johnny Scott 1st 33 Jesse Lay

    Sunoco Race Fuels B-Main #3 Line Up:

    Zack Dohm 17d 2 Brandon Overton
    Tim McCreadie 39 12J Jason Jameson ®
    Billy Green 49G 20c Duane Chamberlain
    Trevor Landrum 18L 13W David Webb
    Mike Provenzano m27 B12 Kevin Weaver
    Austin Burns 22B 12 Roger Williams

    Lucas Oil Feature Line Up (100 Laps):

    Jimmy Owens 20 0 Scott Bloomquist
    Bobby Pierce 32P 2s Stormy Scott
    Hudson O’Neal 71 7w Ricky Weiss
    Jonathan Davenport 49 40B Kyle Bronson
    Mike Marlar 157 0m Chris Madden
    Devin Gilpin 1G 1T Tyler Erb ®
    Zak Blackwood 93 1M Devin Moran ®
    Kyle Strickler 8S 1 Earl Pearson, Jr.
    B-Main Transfer     B-Main Transfer
    B-Main Transfer     B-Main Transfer
    B-Main Transfer     B-Main Transfer
    LOLMDS Provisional     LOLMDS Provisional


    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Pair of Top-10’s for Sheppard in WoO Wisconsin Swing

    Four-Day Swing Through PA and OH Next for Rocket1 SHINNSTON, W.Va. (08/10/20) – Closing out a grueling 40-day stint, Brandon Sheppard drove the Valvoline No....

    Brandon Overton Banks $56,000 with USA Nationals Sweep

    Four Nights at Florence Speedway on Deck EVANS, Ga. (08/10/20) – It was a weekend that Brandon Overton will never forget. The driver of the Wells...

    Knoxville Raceway Set To Host Biggest World of Outlaws Event Of 2020

    WHAT TO WATCH FOR: ‘The One and Only’ at Knoxville Set To Be Biggest Sprint Car Event Of 2020 The three-day event will see a...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email