Home Dirt Late Model News MARS Racing Series Sold to Tony Izzo, Jr. and Sixteens Race Promotions

MARS Racing Series Sold to Tony Izzo, Jr. and Sixteens Race Promotions

SOMERSET, KY (October 21, 2019)—The MARS Racing Series has been sold to Tony Izzo, Jr. and Sixteens Race Promotions effective October 18, 2019, series promoter Chris Tilley announced today. An agreement between the two parties was reached on October 18, 2019.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank each promoter & race track, each race team & driver, every sponsor & race fan along with all of our great staff who made the last two seasons the best the MARS tour had ever seen,” stated Tilley. “I would like to thank Schaeffer’s Oil for being our title sponsor last season and we will continue to work with them on our Iron-Man Series in the Southeast and they’ll remain with us on our Southern tours,” stated Tilley again.

Tilley cited his busy schedule that attributed to the sale of the tour. “I stretched myself thin last year but we were able to cover all of the events with the crew we had. I know that Tony (Izzo) will be able to schedule more events and I’m sure he’ll be able to secure a lot more sponsors to help the racers get up and down the road,” said Tilley. “The future of MARS looks very bright and I’m happy to turn the keys over to someone who will have time to make it grow even more and continue what we started and I’m sure Tony and company will get the job done. We look forward to transitioning everything over,” Tilley went on to say.

During the last two seasons, Tanner English of Benton, Ky. and David Seibers of Chapel Hill, Tenn. won the series titles in 2018 and 2019 respectively. The series ran 23 events with 14 different winners, eight of those being first-time winners. The series saw a total of 152 different winners in 2018 and 134 different winners in 2019.

For more information on the MARS Racing Series, all correspondence will need to be directed to Sixteens Race Promotions at (815) 715-1616 or log on to www.SixteensRacePromotions.com or www.MARSRacingSeries.com .

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Michael Kloos, Mike Harrison, Clint Young, Trevor Isaak, Rickey Carriker & Jordan Clary take Tri-City Speedway wins!

NAPA LATE MODELS A FEATURE 1 Finish Start # Competitor Hometown +/- 1 10 6K Michael Kloos Trenton, IL 9 2 4 0 Dewayne Kiefer Bloomsdale, MO 2 3 8 82 Billy Laycock Marine, IL 5 4 7 11T Trevor Gundaker St. Charles, MO 3 5 3 52 Matt Bailey Highland, IL -2 6 5 26 Rusty Griffaw Festus, MO -1 7 2 30 Mark Voigt Marine, IL -5 8 6 4 Jason Suhre Highland, IL -2 9 11 24N Kyle Novak Traverse...

Owens Tops McCreadie at I-80 Speedway on Friday Night

GREENWOOD, NE (September 18, 2020) - Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Point Leader Jimmy Owens continued his spectacular 2020 racing season by winning...

Smith, Clouser score repeats on Night 2 of Hockett-McMillin Memorial at Lucas Oil Speedway

WHEATLAND, MO. (Sept. 18, 2020) - Night Two of the Jesse Hockett-Daniel McMillin Memorial produced familiar faces in Lucas Oil Speedway victory lane. Mark Smith...

6th Annual KerbyStrong To Run Saturday Night At Macon Speedway

(Macon, IL) One week after a night that produced 152 car entries, Macon Speedway is back at it this coming Saturday, September 19 with...

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: