Brandon Overton Powers to 14th Career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Victory at Wythe Raceway

By Chris Tilley, Series Publicist

RURAL RETREAT, VIRGINIA (July 11, 2020)—Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga. took the lead from Chris Madden on lap 21 and led the remaining distance, being challenged at the end by Madden but went on to take the $10,053 payday Saturday at Wythe Raceway.

Overton drove the Wells and Sons Motorsports, Crossfit Overton, Allstar Concrete, RW Powell Construction, Allstar Performance, Hoosier, Penske, E-Z-GO and Big Dog Stump and Tree-sponsored Cornett Racing Engines-powered Longhorn Chassis to his 14th career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals by Sunoco Race Fuels victory.

Two cautions slowed the event. The first caution would come on lap three as GR Smith slowed in turn four. The final yellow came on lap 19 as a driveshaft from Cory Hedgecock’s car came out on to the racing surface.

The next event for the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series will be Monday July 13 at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn. paying $3,500-to-win.

For more information on the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels, please log on to or call promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353.

Sponsors of the Southern Nationals Series include: Schaeffer’s Oil & Specialized Lubricants, Sunoco Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Delph Communications, E-Z-GO, Arizona Sport Shirts, Capital Race Cars, Collins Signs,, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars,, Wiles Driveshafts, Vic Hill Racing Engines, The Steering Buddy, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies, Coosa Heating & Air, The Joie of Seating, and

Official Summary of Results
Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels
Wythe Raceway-Rural Retreat, VA
July 11, 2020

Feature Finish:

1. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
2. Chris Madden-Gray Court, S.C.
3. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
4. Ross Bailes-Clover, S.C.
5. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
6. Kyle Hardy-Stephens City, Va.
7. Mark Whitener-Middleburg, Fla.
8. Chris Ferguson-Mt. Holly, N.C.
9. Tyler Millwood-Kingston, Ga.
10. Trent Ivey-Union, S.C.
11. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
12. Pearson Lee Williams-Dublin, Ga.
13. Corey Gordon-Charlotte, N.C.
14. Ryan Crane-Panama City, Fla.
15. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
16. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
17. Jensen Ford-Johnson City, Tenn.
18. Rick Utsman-Blountville, Tenn.
19. G.R. Smith-Cornelius, N.C.
20. Daniel Baggerly-Kernesville, N.C.
21. Brian Nuttall Jr.-Claxton, Ga. (Did Not Start)

Time of Race: 24 minutes, 46 seconds
Margin of Victory: 00.188 seconds
Yellow Flags: Two (laps 3, 19)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Madden (1-20), Overton (21-53)
Entries: 21
Overall Fast Qualifier: Dale McDowell-16.526 seconds
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: None

Heat One Finish: Chris Madden, Dale McDowell, Brandon Overton, Mark Whitener, Cory Hedgecock, Tyler Millwood, Pearson Lee Williams, Jake Knowles, Ryan Crane, G.R. Smith, Brian Nuttall Jr.

Heat Two Finish: Ross Bailes, Donald McIntosh, Vic Hill, Kyle Hardy, Chris Ferguson, Trent Ivey, Jensen Ford, Corey Gordon, Daniel Baggerly, Rick Utsman.

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Points (after 7/11/20)
1. Chris Madden-396
2. Brandon Overton-392
3. Dale McDowell-390
4. Ross Bailes-382
5. Chris Ferguson-372
6. Mark Whitener-372
7. Donald McIntosh-370
8. Tyler Millwood-366
9. Cory Hedgecock-364
10. Kyle Hardy-356

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Schedule:
Friday July 10-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-CHRIS MADDEN
Saturday July 11-Wythe Raceway-Rural Retreat, VA-BRANDON OVERTON
Monday July 13-Volunteer Speedway-Bulls Gap, TN-$3,500 to win
Tuesday July 14-I-75 Raceway-Sweetwater, TN-$3,500 to win
Thursday July 16-Senoia Raceway-Senoia, GA-$3,500 to win
Friday July 17-Needmore Speedway-Norman Park, GA-$10,053 to win
Saturday July 18-Screven Motor Speedway-Sylvania, GA-$10,053 to win
Sunday July 19-Cochran Motor Speedway-Cochran, GA-$3,500 to win
Tuesday July 21-Tri-County Race Track-Brasstown, NC-$3,500 to win
Thursday July 23-Crossville Speedway-Crossville, TN-$3,500 to win
Friday July 24-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-$10,053 to win
Saturday July 25-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$10,053 to win