Home Dirt Late Model News Chris Madden takes Volunteer Speedway's Southern Nationals win!

    Chris Madden takes Volunteer Speedway’s Southern Nationals win!

    Chris Madden

    By Chris Tilley, Series Publicist

    BULLS GAP, TENNESSEE (July 13, 2020)—Chris Madden’s win total on the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series by Sunoco Race Fuels keeps growing. The Gray Court, S.C. driver earned $3,500 for his Monday Night victory at Volunteer Speedway and now owns 26 career paydays in the series win column.

    Madden grabbed the lead from Vic Hill on lap seven and held on to the point for the remainder of the race. One caution flag slowed the field on lap 21 as Pearson Lee Williams slowed with a right-rear flat tire.

    Five-time series champion Chris Madden drove the Millwood Motorsports, Millwood Plumbing, Machine Construction Company, Drydene, On-Time Hauling, Penske Shocks and Competition Race Equipment-sponsored Clements Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis to the victory.

    The next event for the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series will be Tuesday July 14 at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, Tenn. paying $3,500-to-win. This will mark the series’ first-ever visit.

    For more information on the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels, please log on to or call promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353.

    Sponsors of the Southern Nationals Series include: Schaeffer’s Oil & Specialized Lubricants, Sunoco Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Delph Communications, E-Z-GO, Arizona Sport Shirts, Capital Race Cars, Collins Signs,, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars,, Wiles Driveshafts, Vic Hill Racing Engines, The Steering Buddy, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies, Coosa Heating & Air, The Joie of Seating, and

    Official Summary of Results
    Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels
    Volunteer Speedway-Bulls Gap, TN
    July 13, 2020

    Feature Finish:

    1. Chris Madden-Gray Court, S.C.
    2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
    3. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
    4. Ross Bailes-Clover, S.C.
    5. Logan Roberson-Waynesboro, Va.
    6. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
    7. Tyler Millwood-Kingston, Ga.
    8. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
    9. Jensen Ford-Johnson City, Tenn.
    10. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
    11. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
    12. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
    13. Clay Coghlan-Dandridge, Tenn.
    14. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
    15. John Baker-Norman Park, Ga.
    16. Ryan Crane-Panama City, Fla.
    17. Aaron Guinn-Russellville, Tenn.
    18. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.
    19. Jadon Frame-Winchester, Tenn.
    20. Dusty Carver-Englewood, Tenn.
    21. Pearson Lee Williams-Dublin, Ga.
    22. Travis Fultz-Tazewell, Tenn.
    23. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.

    Time of Race: 13 minutes, 20 seconds
    Margin of Victory: 02.379 seconds
    Yellow Flags: One (lap 21)
    Red Flags: None
    Lap Leaders: Hill (1-6), Madden (7-35)
    Entries: 24
    Overall Fast Qualifier: Chris Madden-13.488 seconds
    Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
    Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): Aaron Guinn
    Provisional Starters: Donald McIntosh, Craig Greer & Jadon Frame

    Heat One Finish: David Payne, Travis Fultz, Jake Knowles, Mack McCarter, Ryan Crane, Donald McIntosh, Jadon Frame.

    Heat Two Finish: Pearson Lee Williams, Forrest Trent, John Baker, Dusty Carver, Aaron Guinn, Craig Greer, Ahnna Parkhurst (DNS).

    Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Points (after 7/13/20)
    1. Chris Madden-596
    2. Brandon Overton-588
    3. Ross Bailes-574
    4. Cory Hedgecock-558
    5. Donald McIntosh-554
    6. Tyler Millwood-552
    7. Vic Hill-538
    8. Jake Knowles-516
    9. Pearson Lee Williams-508
    10. Ryan Crane-415

    2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Schedule:
    Friday July 10-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-CHRIS MADDEN
    Saturday July 11-Wythe Raceway-Rural Retreat, VA-BRANDON OVERTON
    Monday July 13-Volunteer Speedway-Bulls Gap, TN-CHRIS MADDEN
    Tuesday July 14-I-75 Raceway-Sweetwater, TN-$3,500 to win
    Thursday July 16-Senoia Raceway-Senoia, GA-$3,500 to win
    Friday July 17-Needmore Speedway-Norman Park, GA-$10,000 to win
    Saturday July 18-Screven Motor Speedway-Sylvania, GA-$10,000 to win
    Sunday July 19-Cochran Motor Speedway-Cochran, GA-$3,500 to win
    Tuesday July 21-Tri-County Race Track-Brasstown, NC-$3,500 to win
    Thursday July 23-Crossville Speedway-Crossville, TN-$3,500 to win
    Friday July 24-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-$10,000 to win
    Saturday July 25-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$10,053 to win

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Previewing the Superstars Chasing the USA Nationals Title at Cedar Lake This Weekend

    WHO'S WHO: Star-Studded Field Ready to Chase Coveted USA Nationals Title This Weekend Best Drivers in the Country Head for Cedar Lake with Massive $250,000 Purse NEW...

    Jason Feger’s Dedication, Self-Made Nature Propels Him Forward

    BEHIND THE HUSTLE: Feger’s Dedication, Self-Made Nature Propels Him Forward in 2020 Illinois DIRTcar Late Model champ reflects on win at Highland, progress in career CONCORD,...

    Jacob Allen Turning Confidence Into Strong Performances

    POSITIVE MIND: Jacob Allen finds new groove in 2020 The Shark Racing driver will go for his first Ironman 55 win this weekend PEVELY, MO –...

    Three Tracks, States, and Weekends Equals Impressive August for Lucas Oil

    BATAVIA, OHIO (August 3, 2020) - The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series teams will return to racing for three huge weekends, at three...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email