Home Dirt Late Model News Tanner English Pockets $10,000 for Thrilling Hall of Fame Classic Win; Florence...

Tanner English Pockets $10,000 for Thrilling Hall of Fame Classic Win; Florence Next!

NORRIS CITY, ILLINOIS) Tanner English – driving a family owned #96 car – secured his second feature win of 2020 and his biggest payday to date on Saturday evening, August 8 at the historic Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, Indiana! Tanner clicked off the third fastest time in his group during qualifying and ran third in his loaded heat race to earn the inside of the sixth row for the start of the 50-lap ‘Hall of Fame Classic.’ Tanner then methodically worked his way to the front of the stellar field and eventually led the final two circuits of the entertaining race. At the checkers, the young Benton, Kentucky ace was celebrating a $10,000 triumph over Josh Rice, Kent Robinson, Greg Johnson, and Jonathan Davenport!

On Friday night, August 7, the #96 team was at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Kentucky to compete in the annual running of the ‘Pete Abell Memorial.’ The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series presided over the $4,000 to win event and Tanner started off the evening by setting a New Track Record during the qualifying session. After finishing second in his heat race, Tanner moved up to second in the 40-lapper to garner a strong runner-up performance behind only race winner Jonathan Davenport! Full results from both venues can be viewed online at www.ponderosaspeedway.net and www.brownstownspeedway.com.

“I love going to Brownstown (Speedway) any chance I get and it was a huge win for us there the other night,” quoted English earlier this week. “The racetrack was in perfect shape – you could run and pass anywhere from the bottom of the track all the way to the top. I have to thank my dad and my brother for putting a lot of hard work into getting the #96 car ready to race. It was a great weekend for us finishing first and second and I’m excited to jump back in the Riggs Motorsports car at Florence this coming weekend!”

Tanner will be back in his familiar #81e ride with Riggs Motorsports this week in four straight days of wheel-to-wheel action at the venerable Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will preside over all of the competition at the Cincinnati-area speedplant starting tonight with the $12,000 to win ‘Ralph Latham Memorial.’ The ‘North/South Shootout’ will then take center stage at the 1/2-mile oval on Thursday and the winner of the night’s 50-lapper will receive a $10,000 payday.

Two rounds of qualifying heat races will then be on tap at Florence Speedway on Friday with passing points in those prelims setting the lineups for Saturday’s consolation events and the 100-lap ‘North/South 100.’ The 37th edition of the crown jewel event will once again shell out a whopping $50,000 paycheck, while each feature starter will receive at least $2,000. Tanner comes into the four-day stretch from August 12-15 leading the Rookie of the Year chase on the national tour and currently sits tenth in the latest version of the point standings. More information can be located online at www.lucasdirt.com.

Teammate Jason Riggs is once again slated to enjoy the upcoming August 14-15 weekend off from racing action, while Jack Riggs will jump back into action on Saturday evening at Duck River Raceway Park in Wheel, Tennessee. A weekly Super Late Model show is planned at the Volunteer State facility and Jack will look to better his seventh place showing at DRRP back on June 27. More information on this program can be viewed by clicking on www.duckriverracewaypark.com.

Riggs Motorsports would like to thank the following group of sponsors and partners for their continued support: Riggs Drilling Solutions, Best One Tire & Auto Care, Wiles Racing Driveshafts, Allstar Performance, XR1 Rocket Chassis, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil, Slicker Graphics, Swift Springs, AFCO Racing Products, Base Racing Fuel, Hoosier Racing Tires, Pro Power Racing Engines, Jay D1ckens Racing Engines, Budda Bert Transmissions, Frankland Racing Supply, Peterson Fluid Systems, Awesome Racewear, Performance Rod & Custom (PRC), Micro Armor, and Waterman Racing Components.

Keep up with Riggs Motorsports all year long by logging onto www.RiggsMotorsports81.com or follow the team on social media – Facebook @RiggsMotorsports, Twitter @rmsports81, and Instagram @jasonriggs81.

Media Contact: Ryan Delph – Delph Communications

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Springfield Raceway Results – 9/20/20

USRA B-MODS A FEATURE 1 Finish Start # Competitor Hometown +/- 1 3 66 Ryan Gillmore Springfield, MO 2 2 6 8 Dillon McCowan Urbana, MO 4 3 4 21 Jackie Dalton Carthage, MO 1 4 20 13 Scott Crigler Alton, MO 16 5 5 9 Sam Petty Marshfield, MO - 6 1 57 Keith Pratt Ash Grove, MO -5 7 17 10P Dayton Pursley Hermitage, MO 10 8 7 68 Ricky Watkins Brookline, MO -1 9 13 21X Justin Rigel Thayer, MO 4 10 16 64 John...

Randolph County Raceway Results – 9/20/20

B MODIFIEDS A FEATURE 1 Finish Start # Competitor Hometown +/- 1 4 22C Cole Campbell Mexico, MO 3 2 18 53 Logan Anderson Eddyville, IA 16 3 3 7 Terry Schultz Sedalia, MO - 4 5 7V Carter VanDenBerg Oskaloosa, IA 1 5 12 01 Brayton Carter Oskaloosa, IA 7 6 19 57 Austen Becerra Carthage, IL 13 7 13 59 Jamie Aleshire Moberly, MO 6 8 17 0 Dakota Girard Moberly, MO 9 9 8 155 Terry Wilson Bowling Green, MO -1 10 15 17 Mike...

Mike Harrison, Dan Bimson, Terry McCann, Kurt Westerfield & David Lauriston take Tri-City Speedway wins!

MODIFIEDS A FEATURE 1 Finish Start # Competitor Hometown +/- 1 4 24H Mike Harrison Highland, IL 3 2 1 96M Mike McKinney Plainfield, IL -1 3 5 1A Steve Meyer Jr Stanton, IL 2 4 2 59R Jacob Rexing Brighton, IL -2 5 8 0 Tim Hancock Sr Mount Olive, IL 3 6 6 117 Mark Enk St. Ann, MO - 7 7 3W B.J. Deal Brownstown, IL - 8 9 A1 Gary Bentley St. Charles,...

Garrett Alberson takes $10,000 win at Sycamore Speedway

2020 Sycamore Speedway Saturday Results Date: 19-Sep-20   Ump Late Models # Name Town Time Fast Time: 33 Tim Manville Highland 14.054 Heat 1: 25 Jason Feger Bloomington Heat 2: 3m Dale Markham Maple Park Heat 3: 24 Ryan Unzicker El Paso Feature: 1st: 59 Garrett Alberson Dubuque, IA 2nd: 24 Ryan Unzicker El Paso 3rd: 25 Jason Feger Bloomington 4th: 28 Dennis Erb Jr Carpentersville 5th: 74 Mitch...

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: