HomeTennesseeCrossville SpeedwayDale McDowell Wires Spring Nationals Field at Crossville Speedway to Bolster Point...

Dale McDowell Wires Spring Nationals Field at Crossville Speedway to Bolster Point Lead!

(CROSSVILLE, TENNESSEE) Current Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series point leader Dale McDowell, of Chickamauga, Georgia, had been kept out of victory lane in the first three series events, but that all changed on Friday, April 30 at Crossville Speedway! Dale sported a fast racecar right out of the box at the Crossville, Tennessee facility, as he laid down the quickest lap in Group B during FK Rod Ends qualifying to earn the outside pole position for the night’s 40-lap headliner. From there, the Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer kept the talented field behind him for each and every circuit around the 1/3-mile oval to secure the $4,053 paycheck.

Finishing behind McDowell’s familiar #17m machine at the unfurling of the checkers was runner-up Donald McIntosh, polesitter Jensen Ford, Will Roland, and tenth-starting Brandon Williams. A total of six caution flags slowed the action at the Volunteer State venue – the most notable coming on the 16th circuit when Cory Hedgecock, who came into the race second in series points, went for an unfortunate spin while battling with McDowell for the point in lapped traffic. The Loudon, Tennessee ace was forced to battle back from the tail in the second half of the contest to salvage a tenth place performance.

Dale’s win last night at Crossville Speedway marked his series-leading 13th career visit to Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals victory lane. His victory came aboard a Shane McDowell Racing (SMR) Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship from E-Z-GO, Klotz Lubricants, Cometic Gasket, Waddell Transfer, Fox Racing Shox, and Northeastern Fabrication.

A 29 car field assembled at Crossville Speedway and Jensen Ford picked up Fast Time honors on the evening with his quick lap of 13.081 seconds. Race winner Dale McDowell posted the fastest time in Group B during qualifying with a lap of 13.185 seconds. John Ownbey and Spencer Hughes took home wins in their respective consolation races, while Jeff Neubert and Johnny Cloer received series provisionals.

The lucrative doubleheader for the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series will wrap up later tonight (May 1) with the first-ever series visit to Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, Tennessee! A stellar group of cars is expected at Clarksville to vie for the $10,053 top prize. Gates open at 4:00pm local time, hot laps are at 6:00pm, and racing starts at 7:30pm. Along with the ground-pounding Super Late Models, all of the track’s weekly classes will also be in competition tonight at Clarksville Speedway. More information can be found online at www.ClarksvilleSpeedway.com.

Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels

Race Summary

Friday, April 30, 2021

Crossville Speedway – Crossville, Tennessee


Schaeffer’s Oil Feature Finish (40 Laps):

  1. (2) Dale McDowell $4,053
  2. (3) Donald McIntosh $2,000
  3. (1) Jensen Ford $1,400
  4. (5) Will Roland $1,000
  5. (10) Brandon Williams $800
  6. (12) Spencer Hughes $700
  7. (13) Jadon Frame $600
  8. (6) David Crabtree $550
  9. (11) John Ownbey $525
  10. (4) Cory Hedgecock $500
  11. (15) Stacy Boles $480
  12. (9) Ruben Mayfield $470
  13. (22) Johnny Cloer $460
  14. (16) Steve Smith $450
  15. (21) Jeff Neubert $440
  16. (20) Joe Denby $430
  17. (7) Ashton Winger $420
  18. (8) Clay Coghlan $410
  19. (18) Karl Tipton $400
  20. (14) Josh Putnam $400
  21. (17) David Payne $400
  22. (19) John Minon $400


Entries: 29

Lap Leaders: Dale McDowell (Laps 1-40)

Cautions: 6 (Lap 1 for David Payne who lost a wheel, Lap 4 for a spinning Jeff Neubert, Lap 16 for a spinning Cory Hedgecock, Lap 20 for a stopped Clay Coghlan, Lap 29 for Ashton Winger with a flat tire, and Lap 34 for a stopped Joe Denby)


FK Rod Ends Time Trials:

Fast Time Overall: Jensen Ford 13.081

Group A (Top Five Locked In): Jensen Ford, Donald McIntosh, Will Roland, Ashton Winger, Ruben Mayfield

Group B (Top Five Locked In): Dale McDowell, Cory Hedgecock, David Crabtree, Clay Coghlan, Brandon Williams


Sunoco Race Fuels Consolation Race #1 Finish (Top Five Transfer):  1. John Ownbey, 2. Jadon Frame, 3. Stacy Boles, 4. David Payne, 5. John Minon, 6. Johnny Cloer, 7. Jeff Neubert, 8. Jeff Walker, 9. Phil Helton, 10. Richard Standbridge


American Racer South Consolation Race #2 Finish (Top Five Transfer):  1. Spencer Hughes, 2. Josh Putnam, 3. Steve Smith, 4. Karl Tipton, 5. Joe Denby, 6. Randy Todd, 7. Perry Delaney, 8. Craig Greer, 9. Eddie Brown


Series Provisionals: Jeff Neubert, Johnny Cloer


Current Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Point Standings:

  1. Dale McDowell – 780
  2. Donald McIntosh – 754
  3. Cory Hedgecock – 744
  4. David Payne – 696
  5. Stacy Boles – 684
  6. Jeff Neubert – 595
  7. Johnny Cloer – 583
  8. Jensen Ford – 510
  9. Brandon Overton – 384
  10. Will Roland – 374


2021 Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series Schedule:

Saturday, April 3 – Tazewell Speedway (Tazewell, TN) – JONATHAN DAVENPORT

Friday, April 16 – I-75 Raceway (Sweetwater, TN) – BRANDON OVERTON

Friday, April 23 – Tri-County Race Track (Brasstown, NC) – DAVID PAYNE

Friday, April 30 – Crossville Speedway (Crossville, TN) – DALE MCDOWELL

Saturday, May 1 – Clarksville Speedway (Clarksville, Tennessee) – $10,053 to win

Friday, May 7 – Wythe Raceway (Rural Retreat, Virginia) – $10,053 to win

Saturday, May 8 – Smoky Mountain Speedway (Maryville, Tennessee) – $10,053 to win

Saturday, May 29 – Dixie Speedway (Woodstock, Georgia) – $4,053 to win

Sunday, May 30 – Rome Speedway (Rome, Georgia) – $4,053 to win

Monday, May 31 – 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, Tennessee) – $10,052 to win


For more information on the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels, please point your Internet browser to www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com or feel free to call series promoter Ray Cook at 828-360-5353. You can also follow us across social media platforms on facebook.com/southernnationalsseries and on Twitter @sonationals.


The Spring Nationals Series would like to thank all of our 2021 marketing partners including: Schaeffer’s Oil & Specialized Lubricants, Sunoco Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Delph Communications, E-Z-GO, Arizona Sport Shirts, Capital Race Cars, Collins Signs, DirtonDirt.com, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars, RockAuto.com, Wiles Driveshafts, Vic Hill Racing Engines, The Steering Buddy, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies, Coosa Heating & Air, The Joie of Seating, and DirtCarLift.com.


About Schaeffer’s Oil & Specialized Lubricants:

Schaeffer’s Specialized Lubricants: synthetic motor oils, hydraulic fluids, and diesel fuel additives have achieved a world-class reputation for improving engine performance and fuel economy, but their diverse product line includes all types of industrial lubricants, industrial greases, and industrial oils as well as specialty items like their chain lubes and degreasers. Founded in 1839, their philosophy is to provide advanced lubricants for improved performance, reliability, and fuel economy. Learn more or find a rep near you at www.SchaefferOil.com.


Media Contact:  Ryan Delph – Delph Communications


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

%d bloggers like this: