Champions Decided on Final Night with Lite Beer Make-ups at Macon Speedway!


Staff member
By Brett Zerfowski

(Macon, IL) The 65th season of racing came to a close Thursday night with the make-up of the September 18 Lite Beer Twin 50s at historic Macon Speedway. UMP Late Models and Modifieds competed for 50 laps of grueling racing. UMP Street Stocks and Pro Hornets raced to championships and three other divisions competed to end the year.

Ryan Unzicker and Steve Lance, Jr. both competed as champions in the Lite Beer 50-lapper for the UMP Late Models. Racing side-by-side for the final ten laps before lapped traffic caught up to them bringing along a near photo finish. Unzicker controlled the race from the early goings before giving way to Lance, who began dominating the now slick dirt track. Unzicker, who appeared to be cooling his tires, caught back up to Lance and dashed back to battle for the top spot and the $1,500-to-win first-place prize.

As the drivers came out of the final turn to the double checkered flag by flagman Joey Webb, Unzicker had passed the line before Lance to get the win. The race, apart of the ten-race, three-track Midwest Big Ten Series, was one of the best of the series. Lance was the winner of the series and will win the largest portion of the $10,000 point fund.

St. Charles, Mo., native Mike Hammerle won the Macon Speedway UMP Late Model track championship. For him, it was his second title in four years, last winning 2007. Hammerle never won a feature in the 2010 season but raced and completed every Late Model event. Finishing second in the points standings in Indiana native Jim Moon, who also raced in every Late Model event.

Danny Smith of Argenta took top honors in the UMP Modified Lite Beer 50-lapper. He was closing in on leader and champion Dave Crawley, Jr. midway through the event but Crawley smacked the wall and flattened a tire to force a caution. He would go to the back of the field to give Smith the advantage and he would take his only feature win of 2010 and he started 14th in the feature.

Larry Russell, Jr. won the UMP Street Stock feature and thus gave him the 2010 Street Stock championship, his third at Macon Speedway. He started the evening with a 32-point lead on Mike Pickering, a former multi-time champ, and led all 12 laps to claim the checkered flag.

Dave Crawley, Jr. took control of the Touchstone Energy Sportsman feature and the division, easily taking the 2010 championship. The feature win, his ninth, capped an incredible season.

The UMP Pro Hornet Division had the closest points race with Fred Reed, Jr. leading 2009 Amateur Hornets champion Sam McCoy by a slim four points. Reed started the feature event on the pole and McCoy from the middle of the pack. Close racing between Eric and Jim Wilson, along with Michael Webb and Reed brought along an exciting finish as Reed finished the race in first by mere inches in front of Jim Wilson. Reed won his first championship in his career.

The Amateur Hornet championship was wrapped up before the night began as Jonathan Drake came in with a 100-point lead over Michael Gossett. The feature win would go to Kyle Maxwell, his fourth in 2010.

Also in action were the High School Hornets and Dalton Jacobs, a 13-year-old from Warrensburg-Latham won for the first time.

Macon Speedway would like to thank their entire list of sponsors, racers and terrific fans for their support in the 65th season of racing. The 66th season is already taking shape and will be bigger and better than the 65th. We sincerely hope you have a happy and safe off season and look forward to seeing you again in April 2011!