Feger and Wallace Win on All-Star Thursday


Staff member

Jason Feger


Kenny Wallace

<a href="http://www.stlracingphotos.com/Macon-Speedway/NASCAR-Night-7-22-10" target="_blank">CLICK HERE FOR MORE PHOTOS FROM MACON SPEEDWAY!</a>

By Brett Zerfowski

(Macon, IL) It’s been a tough two weeks for Bloomington, IL., native Jason Feger. He felt he should have been the winner of the 30th Annual Herald & Review 100 during the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals but finished second to Dennis Erb, Jr. Feger had the last laugh, however, winning the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals series.

Feger was the fast qualifier of 24 UMP Late Models during the Northern All-Star Late Model Series event Thursday at Macon Speedway, started on the pole of the heat he also won, and started front row outside opposite to Kyle Logue. He was having a good night. The night got better as he passed Logue on the fourth lap of 30 to take the lead. Feger used the high groove to race and finish second at the Herald & Review 100 but Thursday, Feger raced on the bottom to hold the lead and take the $2,000-to-win top prize. Logue would finish second. Roger Brickler stayed ahead of Richie Hedrick for third. Of note, Macon Speedway co-owner Ken Schrader finished eighth as he spent the majority of the race fending off Terry Reed. Schrader did manage to win the second heat bypassing Hedrick on the race’s last lap.

Kenny Wallace has been looking for victory lane at Macon Speedway all season and finally got ahold of it Thursday in front of NASCAR legend Bill Elliott on NASCAR Night. Wallace and Schrader joined Elliott for an autograph session prior to the night’s racing and Elliott stayed to watch the show from the track’s Turn 4 Lounge.

Wallace led all 15 laps of the UMP Modified feature and had little competition but on the restarts did have to hold off the defending feature winner Mark Tullis. Tullis would not be able to overcome the fast Wallace and he would finish runner-up but did starve off Wes O’Dell, who finished third-which was the finishing spot for the All-Service Racing Parts and Sheet Metal Best Fan in the Stands $100 bonus-and Clark Robertson finished fourth.

The 2010 Summer of Fun continues at Macon Speedway with the return of the POWRi Midgets and Micros Saturday night. UMP Modifieds, Street Stocks and both Pro and Amateur Hornets are scheduled to race.

NALMS Feature Finish
1) Jason Feger
2) Kyle Logue
3) Roger Brickler
4) Richie Hedrick
5) Brian Shirley
6) Tim Lance
7) Brian Dively
8) Ken Schrader
9) Terry Reed
10) Steve Lance Jr
11) John Beck
12) Dillian White
13) Mike Hammerlee
14) Russ Adams
15) Bobby Brandon
16) Kevin Weaver
17) Chris D!ck
18) Brandon Sheppard
19) Rodney Standerfer
20) Ryan Unzicker

UMP Modified Feature:
1 1 36 Kenny Wallace St. Louis, MO
2 5 T2 Mark Tullis Macon , Il
3 7 87 Wes O'dell Springfield , Il
4 3 35 Clark Robertson Shelbyville , Il
5 6 44 Aaron Burcham Decatur , Il
6 9 28 Joe Strawkas Buffalo , Il
7 13 9 Danny Smith Argenta , Il
8 4 71 Jeff Graham Stonington , Il
9 10 N59 Chad Evans Mattoon , Il
10 11 96 Greg Nelson Decatur , Il
11 12 22 Scott Jones Macon , Il
12 2 37X Nick O Dell
13 16 01 Jeremy Nichols , Il
14 8 37 David Crawley Jr. Decatur , Il
15 17 18 Gene Reed Shelbyville , Il
16 14 57 Danny Page Mount Zion, Il
17 15 05 Tom Lambdin Lovington , Il