Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Set For $24,999 to win “99” Race at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway on


Staff member
LEXINGTON, KY (April 28, 2007)-For the first time the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will sanction the “99” event at the Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway in Calvert City, KY on Friday and Saturday, May 4th and 5th. The Sherri Heckenast promoted facility will host the third edition of the “99” event which will carry a total purse in excess of $100,000 with $24,999 to the winner and an even more impressive $1,999 just to start the event. Also on the race program both days will be Modifieds paying $2,000 to win both nights.

Activity will get underway on Friday Night, May 4th with Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series LifeLong Locks Time Trials followed by the Hawk Brake and Quarter Master sponsored heat races. On Saturday Night, May 5th the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will run their Mason Racin’ Rebel Shock Dyno and Penske Shocks sponsored B-mains and then the 99 lap $24,999 to win Third Annual “99” main event will take to the track.

The first “99” took place in 2005 with Steve Francis of Ashland, KY taking the win and last year two-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, FL picked up the victory in the rain delayed event that was contested at the end of May.

Several of the nation’s best dirt late model drivers are scheduled to be on hand for the event including the defending race winner, Earl Pearson, Jr., defending Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway Track Champion, Terry English of Benton, KY Two-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Points Runner-up, Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, Three-time World of Outlaws Champion Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR, Two-time and defending Dirt Track World Champion Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL along with former Dream Winner Matt Miller of Waterville, OH, former World 100 Champion, Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI, the winningest driver in the ’06 season for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and 2005 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series “Rookie of the Year” Scott James of Lawrenceburg, IN.

Other drivers expected to be on hand include 2006 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series “Rookie of the Year” Steve Casebolt of Richmond, IN, four-time World 100 Champion Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH, Darren Miller of Chadwick, IL Jeep VanWormer of Pinconning, MI, Greg Johnson of Bedford, IN, Michael England of Glasgow, KY, former World 100 winner Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA, Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC, John Mason of Millersburg, OH and five-time Dirt Track World Champion Freddy Smith of Seymour, TN along with defending Show-Me 100 champion, Wendell Wallace of Batesville, AR, former WDRL Champion, Brady Smith of Solon Springs, WI, Terry Casey of New London, WI, Illinois Standouts Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, IL and Dennis Erb, Jr. of Carpentersville, IL and California’s Eric Jacobsen.

Also in attendance will be the six drivers competing for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series COMP Cams “Rookie of the Year” candidates including Damon Eller of Crumpler, NC, Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, KY, Ricky Arms of Moss, TN, Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY, Mike Mataragas of De Kalb, IL and Garrett Durrett of Simsboro, LA.

Gates will open at Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway at 12 Noon both days with race time at 7:00 PM. There is no reserved grandstand seating. Adult general admission on Friday Night will be $20 and $25 for Saturday Night. There will be a 2 day pass available for $40. Children 12 and under are admitted free both nights with a paying adult. Pt admission is $30 for Friday Night and $35 for Saturday Night with a 2 day pit pass for $60 available.

Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway is conveniently located off of I-24 in Calvert City, KY. For more information you can call (270) 395-3600 or visit the track’s website at

Area lodging for the “99” is available at the Super 8 of Calvert City, KY located at 3503 U.S. Highway 62. For reservations you can call (877) 395-5566. The Inn by the Lake on U.S. Highway 62 is available by calling (877) 360-4278.

For more information on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series you can log on to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Friday and Saturday, May 4th and 5th

Third Annual “99”

Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway-Calvert City, KY

“99” Feature Payoff

  1. $24,999.00
  2. 12,000.00
  3. 8,000.00
  4. 6,500.00
  5. 6,000.00
  6. 5,000.00
  7. 4,000.00
  8. 3,500.00
  9. 3,250.00
  10. 3,000.00
  11. 2,800.00
  12. 2,600.00
  13. 2,500.00
  14. 2,400.00
  15. 2,300.00
  16. 1,999.00
  17. 1,999.00
  18. 1,999.00
  19. 1,999.00
  20. 1,999.00
  21. 1,999.00
  22. 1,999.00
  23. 1,999.00
  24. 1,999.00
  25. 1,999.00