‘Chubzilla’ Recovering From Surgery

jdearing

Administrator
Staff member
By Doc Lehman

Popular dirt Late Model star Chub Frank, affectionately known by his multitude of fans as ‘Chubzilla’, is currently at home recuperating from a recent hospital stay after the World of Outlaws Late Model Series ‘Dirty Dozen’ member recently under went surgery on his knee. Frank will be on crutches and recuperating for up to three weeks according to his surgeon. Frank, 42, of Bear Lake, PA drives the Lester Buildings, Allstar Performance, Corry Rubber, Slavic Custom T-Shirts, Rocket Chassis Monte Carlo #1*. Frank underwent the surgery on November 17.

“There is a piece of cartilage and calcium building that was growing in there and getting lodged under my kneecap and it got pretty big, big as a half dollar,” explained Chubzilla. “I had it operated on 20 years ago and they drilled holes in it and the cartilage or whatever grows back through. I’m not a doctor and I don’t know too much of the technicalities (laughs) but I know it takes longer to heal when they do it the way they did it to me. They were supposed to do it with a scope and they ended up having to cut it to get that piece out. So instead of being a couple days on crutches it looks like three weeks.”

“I was going to go to the PRI Show if I could get healed up but I don’t think I will be able to do that now since they had to cut it. The swelling hasn’t gone down yet.”

With his new shop under construction and with time off to recuperate, Frank will have a busy time until February rolls around and the team heads south to Florida.

“Right now we’re just trying to get my new Lester Buildings garage done and the cars done for Florida,” revealed Frank. “That and get the hauler done. It’s down at Wildside right now getting fixed. The side of it got damaged in the shop fire we had so they’re fixing the damage to that. There is a lot of stuff going on actually.”