i need to pick your automotive minds

RUDY PU RACING

DIRT FAN FOREVER
my wife has a 91 chevy lumina 3.1L fuel injected car. it has a rough idle and dies when she comes to a stop at a light. i have noticed a small hesitation when you get on the gas and a slight miss in the motor when in park.. it only dies when it is in gear.. i replaced the battery last saturday and since then it has develpoed this problem. it had the rough idle before but never died, so i don't think the battery has much to do with it... im leaning toward dirty fuel injectors, just wanting to get a second opinion from some of you chevy mechanics... thanks for any replies....brandon hogenson

Im not a mechanic but i know the 3.1 motors computers have to be reset when you lose power or change a battery.Im sure mechanics have a procedure for this.but im sure your computer has to relearn your settings.

there are so many things that could cause this to happen.check the fuel pump,the coil packs,see what kinda pulse the injectors have,millions of different sensors,tuneup,dirty clogged injectors,weak injectors,you have to go through the process of eliminations.also the variable speed sensor on the tranny when bad will make the car die,they are a pain..good luck!

The 3.1's many times have to relearn idle after loss of power, generally putting 10-20 miles on it it should meet all the criteria to readapt, in short drive it, it should be ok soon.

Engine Computer

If you still have the maual that came with it, it probably says to start and let run for five to ten minutes and it should clear up.

ohm out the injectors. They all should be around 12.4 roughly. One that does not read or chks around 9 or lower. Will cause one hey of a problem. If that is the problem?? And that is a comon one. It will eventualy stop all together. One bad inj. will open or short the rest.

The idle air control is carboned up,there fore when ya killed power to the system