Reputation Points (what are they, how to use them)

Cowracer

Cogito Ergo Moo
Jimmy asked me to post about this because I have some knowledge of the Reputation point system.

Some of you may have noticed a little green "jewel" under your total posts number when you make a post. You might have even hovered your cursor over it and gotten a message like "XxXxXxX IS ON A DISTINGUISHED ROAD". You may have wondered what that is all about.

Well, here is the skinny on it all.

Those are reputation points. The reputation system is provided by STLRACING.COM so that the forum members can recognize the people that they feel provide good advice, colorful and meaningful posts, or people with whom they've had dealings with.

To give reputation, click on the Scale Icon on the upper border on the post you wish to leave feedback on.

This will bring up a window that says you approve or disapprove of a post. There is also a place to give comments as to why.

Approving of a post gives the person who posted it positive reputation and ADDS to there overall reputation. Dis-approving of a post give negative rep. which SUBTRACTS from the overall rep.

Now here comes the fun part, As your rep grows, you will give out more rep points. You cannot specify how much rep to give. But if you have 700 rep point and approve of a post, that person will get a lot more rep that if you only had 50 points.

The reputation points system does have a few rules that need to be followed:
When you see a post that is helpful, colorful, meaningful, cool, etc... Leave an "I Approve" reputation feedback. When you see a flame, personal attack, spam, etc, leave an "I Disapprove" reputation feedback.​

Dont ask or beg for rep. This is considered rude.​

You cannont give rep to more than 30 people a day, nor can you give rep to the same person once a day. Dont try any pyramid schemes to garner more rep. There are routines in place that will detect that and hammer your rep back to zero​