Sponsorship Question

Matt22

I know most people don't readily talk about costs. But I was wondering if you guys could give me some info about approx. what you guys ask potential sponsors for. I currently run a street stock that I fund myself and have bought a Mod for the 2004 season. This is my first attempt to get sponsorship and don't know what a good starting point is. If anyone could help I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

Matt

A good rule of thumb from what I have seen is to accept anything offered and let them deciede how much to give. After you have the sponsers you want give the bigger cotributers the bigger spot. remember not all sponserships involve money.

As A starter take what you can get. as they say beggers can't be chosers:D

You will find very few people or companies willing to give cash to a startup effort without a good record of achievement. So, don't ask for money, ask for help. Tailor your requests so someone can help you out without it costing them anything. Example: ask an auto parts store for replacement parts at cost. Ask a sheetmetal shop for steel, etc.
From what I have seen, the biggest hurdle for racers to overcome is the ability to look professional in their appearance and their racing operation. You need this to relate to people that have the means available to help you out. Cars that look like demo derby escapees do not impress, nor do unshaven and unkempt crew members. Childish mascots attached to the race car and car or team names that refer to bodily functions or alcoholic prowess are also out. You must spend the time and effort needed to be towards the top of your class in appearance.

Matt22,

You’ve been given some very good advice in the preceding posts. Except no answer to your question. Take and use as much of that advice as you possibly can for your situation it’s all good. I’ve got some more advice for ya plus a ballpark number.