48th Allen Crowe 100 Sunday at Illinois State Fair


Staff member
Contact Track Ent at 2177643200 for more infromation

Seven time Allen Crowe 100 winner Frank Kimmel of Clarksville, Indiana looks for his first ARCA series win of 2010 as the Automobile Racing Club of America Menard’s-RE/MAX Stock Car Series comes with a new look to end the Illinois State Fair’s two-day festival of speed with the 48th AlIen Crowe 100 on Sunday August 22. Kimmel is the current point leader in search of a tenth title and heads a field of nearly 35 ARCA cars vying for starting positions at one of two dirt track races on the 2010 ARCA schedule.

Nine time ARCA title winner Kimmel has a ten point lead after the New Jersey road race and is still looking for his first win of the year. Fans can expect him to be one of the favorites at Springfield as Kimmel has become the ‘king of dirt’ in the ARCA series as the all-time leading race winner on dirt in the modern era. Kimmel is also king at the Illinois State Fairgrounds, his seven race wins are the most in stock cars and he leads in laps led at Springfield with 604 as well as money won.

Justin Marks, a twenty-nine year old Californian, had one win and nine top ten finshes after the race at New Jersey and dropped to fourth in the points. New Jersey’s Craig Goess has staged a torrid battle with Marks for the point lead and is second in points with one win and ten top ten finishes.. Mikey Kile of Louisiana, Indiana’s Dakoda Armstrong, New York’s Tim George, Michigan’s Rob Brent and Florida’s Joey Coulter are all in the current top ten in points and could find their way to Springfield. Brent drives for the 2006 Allen Crowe winning team of Mike Allgaier based in Springfield while Armstrong is a veteran of USAC midget car competition.

Two in the top ten have to be considered strong contenders for a win on the Springfield Mile. Florida’s Patrick Sheltra held the point lead for part of the season and is a veteran of dirt late model competition with several strong runs at Springfield and DuQuoin. New Jersey’s Tom Hessert has run midgets and USAC Silver Crown cars before moving to the ARCA series: Hessert is now third in the 2010 title chase with Sheltra fifth.

One of the ARCA regulars who is looking forward to the dirt is Canadian Steve Arpin, a veteran of dirt modified racing. Other ARCA regulars expected include Indiana’s Darrell Basham, Florida’s Bryan Silas and Michigan’s Brad Smith. North Carolina’s Chad McCumbee returns driving for Andy Belmont.

Illinois drivers help boost ticket sales and last year was no exception as six dotted the entry list and five making the starting field. Galesburg’s A.J. Fike has done ‘double duty’ the last few years competing in the Saturday Tony Bettenhausen 100 USAC dirt car race and will try to join Al Unser as the only other driver in the history of the Illinois State Fair to sweep the dirt car and stock car races on the same weekend. Fike has two top ten finishes in five starts in the Crowe 100 and a pole in his rookie year of 2004. Springfield’s Kelly Kovski has five starts in the Crowe 100 and two top ten finishes while Mark Littleton of Arenzville has three starts. Southern Illinois dirt late model veteran Rodney Melvin of Benton looks to make his debut at Springfield.

Unfortunately one driver who will not return is defending winner Parker Kligerman. The 19 year old Kligerman led 18 laps last year enroute to becoming the youngest winner in Springfield stock car history and posted a stunning upset. He has moved on to the NASCAR Nationwide Series.

Frank Kimmel will try to break the tie for most overall stock car wins at Springfield with the late Dean Roper in Sunday August 22 while others try to join legends like Butch Hartman, Don White, Jack Bowsher and Ramo Stott as Allen Crow~ 100 victors. Practice for the 48th Allen Crowe 100 is slated to begin at 9 a.m. Sunday morning with one lap trials for the pole position at 11. The Allen Crowe 100 gets a flying start at approximately 1 p.m.
Entry List
Illinois State Fairgrounds, Springfield Illinois, 8-21-10
Official Entry List, Allen Crowe 100
Updated 8-17-10, 2:54 PM ET
0 Wayne Peterson/Pulaski TN Wayne Peterson Racing Ford Wayne Peterson
1 Chad McCumbee/Supply NC Modspace-Red Cross Disaster Relief Ford Jennifer Belmont
5 Mark Littleton/Arenzville IL Mason Sound Chevrolet Bill Gerhart
6 TBA ESR Development Toyota Jessica Sharp
7 Rob Jones/Bowie MD Hixson Construction Chevrolet Bill Gerhart
8 Kyle Logue/Cisco IL Building Systems of IL/JS Electric/Sav-Mor Pharmacies Chevy John Mackling
10 AJ Fike/Galesburg IL RFMS-Liberty Village Ford Andy Hillenburg
11 Bryan Silas/Stuart FL Rockingham Speedway-PBG Ford Andy Hillenburg
13 Frank Wilson/Belmont WV Drug Testing Centers of America Chevrolet Ron Cox
14 Nick Igdalsky/Long Pond PA Modspace-Red Cross Disaster Relief Ford Jennifer Belmont
15 TBA Venturini Motorsports Chevrolet Bill Venturini
16 Joey Coulter/Miami Springs FL Darrell Gwynn Foundation-Rip It Energy Fuel-Tempest Chevy Joe Coulter
17 Kelly Kovski/Springfield IL Central Illinois Security-Hoosier Tire Midwest Chevrolet Russ Roulo
18 TBA Fast Track High Performance Driving School Dodge James Hylton
22 Dakoda Armstrong/New Castle IN Ferrellgas Dodge Kerry Scherer
23 Ron Cox/Soddy Daisy TN Dan Shaver Memorial Scholarship Chevrolet Wayne Hixson
25 Mikey Kile/Westlake LA Venturini Motorsports Toyota Cathy Venturini
26 Brad Smith/Shelby Township MI Copraya Computers & Website Design Ford Brad Smith
28 Jeff Buice/Charlotte NC Shaver Motorsports Chevrolet Wayne Hixson
31 Tim George Jr./New York NY RCR Development Chevrolet Richard Childress
32 Justin Marks/Rocklin CA Construct Corps Dodge Kevin Cywinski
34 Darrell Basham/Henryville IN Darrell Basham Racing Chevrolet Darrell Basham
36 Robb Brent/Shelby Township MI Orchard Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Dodge Mike Allgaier
44 Frank Kimmel/Clarksville IN Ansell-Menards Ford Frank Kimmel
48 James Hylton/Inman SC Radon.com Ford James Hylton
55 Steve Arpin/Fort Frances Ontario Mike's Hard Lemonade Toyota Billy Venturini
57 Rodney Melvin/Benton IL Kimmel-Chaplain Pharmacy Ford Bill McCreery
59 Mark Gibson/Winder GA Mark Gibson Racing Dodge Mark Gibson
60 Patrick Sheltra/Indiantown FL Recycling Services-Ferguson Pipe Dodge Patrick Sheltra
68 Will Kimmel/Sellersburg IN Messina Wildlife-Menards Ford Bill Kimmel
77 Tom Hessert/Cherry Hill NJ Cherry Hill Classic Cars Dodge Briggs Cunningham
81 Craig Goess/Greenville NC Greenville Toyota of NC Toyota Eddie Sharp
06 TBA Wayne Peterson Racing Ford Wayne Peterson