Jackson and Dickinson win Battles, Slone and Otto Win the War on Season Championship Night at I-44 S


Staff member
Lebanon, MO; The Monster Energy Chase for the Cup saw five drivers crowned champions on Teacher Appreciation and Season Championship Night on Saturday night.

Mike Slone came into the night needing only a top ten finish in the Late Model feature to capture the Late Model Championship in the Monster Energy Chase for the Cup over veteran Ken Dickinson. Slone started out deep in the field, rolling off from the tenth position while Dickinson would start third. Slone would waste no time at all, immediately charging up through the field. Tony Jackson, Jr. grabbed the lead away on lap 11 and immediately checked out on the field. Slone would make his way up to second position and would try to run down the leader Jackson. Jackson was not to be denied, picking up yet another dominating Late Model feature win. Slone would clinch the championship over Dickinson with his second place finish to complete a very successful rookie season. Jackson and Slone were followed to the line by Jim Vanzandt in third, Dave Wilson fourth and Chris Beaver rounded out the top five.
Jason Otto’s championship night was cut short when rear end problems took him out early in the Modified feature. Luckily for Otto, his back to back feature wins the previous two weeks made it to where he only had to complete one lap in the feature to clinch the title over runner up Brian Brown. Ken Dickinson took the lead in the feature and went on to celebrate his second win in his Modified this season. Terry Taylor came home second, Shane Roach third, Brown fourth, and Roderick Icenhower rounded out the top five.

Payton Lucas became the youngest track champion in I-44 Speedway history by winning the Pure Street feature and clinching the track championship in the process. Mike Scott came home second, Steve Shaw third, Missy Shaw fourth and Adam Lawrence rounded out the top five. Dale Roper, Jr. celebrated his track championship in style in the Coca Cola Street Stocks by winning the feature. Rob White came home second, Zach Zeugin third, and Tom Claus came home fourth.

Gary Davenport won his second Charger feature in a row to cap off his championship season. Nick Moore came home second, Reggie Jackson third, Jimmy Poindexter fourth and Larry Hunter rounded out the top five. Ashley Deschanes took home her second feature in a row in the final OMSRA event of the season. Michael Deschanes came home second, Joe Bunkers third, Tyler Berry fourth and J.W. Blakenship rounded out the top five.

The Dirt B-Mods will be on the asphalt highbanks on Saturday night for Firefighter and Police Officer Appreciation night. The Dirt Modifieds will be running under local “B Modified Rules” including running only dirt tires. All other regular classes will also be in action including, Late Models, Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pure Streets and Chargers. The track is going to honor all Firefighters and Police Officers on Saturday night with free grandstand admission for them on Saturday Night. Gates will open at 5 followed by hot laps at 6 and racing at 7:30. Grandstand admission is $10 for adults, $6 for juniors, and 10 and under is free. Tier Parking on the Budweiser Wild side is $12 for adults, $7 for juniors and children 10 and under are free. There is a $2 discount for all military and senior citizens over the age of 62.

September 4th results-
Heat Race Winners:
Late Models- Jimmy Vanzandt, Springfield and Tony Jackson, Jr., Lebanon
Modifieds- Shane Roach, Shawnee, Ks., and Ken Dickinson, Lebanon
Pure Streets- Payton Lucas, Fair Grove
Street Stocks-Rob White, Lebanon
Chargers- Nick Moore, Richland
Mini Stocks- Michael Deschenes, Lee's Summit and Kevin Hunt, Spring Hill, Ks.

Late Model Feature

1-Tony Jackson, Jr., Lebanon
2-Mike Slone, Rolla
3-Jimmy Vanzandt, Springfield
4- Dave Wilson, Greenwood
5-Cris Beaver, Joplin
6-Dale Roper, Jr., Fair Grove
7-Caleb Hall, Lee's Summit
8-Robert Baltzell, Ozark
9-Terry Limberopolous-Cuba
10-Ken Dickinson, Lebanon
11-Steve Holt, Strafford

Charger Feature

1-Gary Davenport, Marshfield
2-Nick Moore-Richland
3-Reggie Jackson, Lebanon
4-Jimmy Poindexter, Willard
5-Larry Hunter, Laquey

Pure Street Feature

1-Payton Lucas, Fair Grove
2-Mike Scott, Rogersville
3-Steve Shaw, Rogersville
4-Missy Shaw, Rogersville
5-Adam Lowrance, Lebanon

Street Stock Feature

1-Dale Roper, Jr., Fair Grove
2-Rob White, Lebanon
3-Zack Zeugin, Fair Play

Modified Feature

1-Ken Dickinson, Lebanon
2-Terry Taylor, Fair Grove
3-Shane Roach, Shawnee, Ks.
4-Brian Brown, Springfield
5-Roderick Icenhower, Fair Grove
6-Rocky Rash, Elkland
7-Mike Coryell, Lebanon
8-Phil Harris, Springfield
9-Jason Otto, Richland

OMSRA Mini Stock Feature

1-Ashley Deschenes, Lee's Summit
2-Michael Deschenes, Lee's Summit
3-Joe Bunkers, Harrisonville
4-Tyler Berry, Spring Hill, Ks.
5-J.W. Blankenship, Warrensburg
6-Tiffany Stewart, Warrensburg
7-Kevin Hunt, Spring Hill, Ks.

2010 Monster Energy Chase for the Cup Points Champions

Late Models: Mike Slone, Rolla
Modifieds: Jason Otto, Richland
Chargers: Gary Davenport, Marshfield
Pure Streets: Payton Lucas, Fair Grove
Street Stocks: Dale Roper, Jr., Fair Grove