Kyle Steffens goes back-to-back with last lap pass at I-44 Speedway!


Staff member
Lebanon, MO; In one of the most thrilling features ever, Kyle Steffens passed Scott Atkinson on the last turn of the last lap to win the 30 lap Late Model feature Saturday night at the Lebanon I-44 Speedway.

Scott Atkinson dominated the Late Model feature on opening night, and was looking for his second win of the season on Saturday night. Atkinson started on the pole and jumped out to the early lead, quickly pulling away from the rest of the field. The caution flag flew with seven laps remaining erasing Atkinson’s lead over Steffens. When the race restarted Atkinson and Steffens pulled away from the rest of the field. Atkinson held the lead as the field took the white flag while Steffens started making his final charge. Steffens made his move as the two headed in to turns three and four, bolting to the bottom of Atkinson. Steffens pulled the slide job, sliding up just in front of Atkinson coming out of turn four to take his third victory of the season. “It was great to win, and I want to thank Scott Atkinson for running a clean race; it was awesome,” said Steffens .Point leader Ken Dickinson came back from an early incident with Jim Vanzandt to finish third, Dave Wilson fourth, and Mike Slone rounded out the top five.

Dale Roper, Jr. of Fair Grove extended his point lead in the Coca-Cola Street Stocks, denying Lebanon’s Mike Coryell his fourth win in a row. Coryell came home a strong second while Rick Sharp came home third. Payton Lucas won his fourth Pure Street feature win in a row, making another cut into point leader Steve Shaw’s lead in the Monster Energy Chase for the Cup. Shaw came home second, Mike Scott third and fellow young gun Stephen Counterman came home fourth. Gary Davenport returned to Monster Energy victory lane in the Chargers, with Shawn Jones coming home second, Nick Moore third, Caston Jones fourth and Larry Hunter rounded out the top five.

In the OMSRA Mini Stocks, Michael Deschenes made yet another late race charge, this time taking the Saab to victory lane. “They were trying to wad em’ up there in front of me, and I was just waiting to see how it sorted out,” said Deschenes. Kevin Hunt came home second, opening night winner Ashley Deschaenes third, Mark LaFoe fourth and Tyler Berry rounded out the top five.

Jason Otto gave up his seats to the truck race in St. Louis on Saturday, (it was postponed Friday night when the lights went out at the speedway) trying to make his fourth trip in a row to victory lane in the Modifieds. Otto’s trip home would pay off as he would bring home the Carget Motors Dash for Cash money and the feature win. Ken Dickinson came home second, Roderick Icenhower third, Robert Baltzell fourth and Jim Reaves rounded out the top five.

The kids Big Wheel races will return to the Lebanon I-44 Speedway this Saturday night for kids 10 and under. The Late Models, Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pure Streets and Chargers will all be in action as well as the Monster Energy Chase for the Cup continues. Gates will open at 5:00, hotlaps at 6:00, with racing at 7:30. For more information please visit the tracks website or call (417) 532-2060.

Saturday July 17 results:

Street Stock
Heat- Dale Roper, Jr.-Fair Grove
1) Dale Roper, Jr.- Fair Grove
2) Mike Coryell-Lebanon
3) Rick Sharp-Fair Grove

Pure Street
Heat- Payton Lucas-Fair Grove
1) Payton Lucas-Fair Grove
2) Steve Shaw-Rogersville
3) Mike Scott-Rogersville
4) Stephen Counterman-Fair Grove

Heat- Gary Davenport-Marshfield
1) Gary Davenport -Marshfield
2) Shawn Jones-Belle
3) Nick Moore-Richland
4) Caston Jones-Belle
5) Larry Hunter

OMSRA Mini Stocks
Heats- Michael Deschenes Lee's Summit and Mark LaFoe Grain Valley
1) Michael Deschenes-Lee's Summit
2) Kevin Hunt-Spring Hill, Ks.
3) Ashley Deschenes-Lee's Summit
4) Mark LaFoe-Grain Valley
5) Tyler Berry-Spring Hill, Ks.
6) Tiffany Stewart-Warrensburg
7) Joe Bunkers
8) J.W. Blankenship-Warrensburg

Late Models
Heat winners- Scott Atkinson-Conway and Kyle Steffens-St. Charles
1) Kyle Steffens-St. Charles
2) Scott Atkinson-Conway
3) Ken Dickinson-Lebanon
4) Dave Wilson-Greenwood
5) Mike Slone-Rolla
6) Joe Ross-Kansas City
7) Crispin Beaver-Joplin
8) Grant Sharp-Conway
9) Caleb Hall-Lee's Summit
10) Jim Vanzandt-Fair Grove

Heat winners- Terry Taylor and Jason Otto
1) Jason Otto-Richland
2) Ken Dickinson-Lebanon
3) Roderick Icenhower-Fair Grove
4) Robert Baltzell-Nixa
5) Jim Reaves-Springfield
6) Brian Brown-Springfield
7) Phil Harris-Springfield
8) Kyle Steffens-St. Charles
9) Tim Terrell-Bolivar
10) Terry Taylor