Slone Takes Advantage of Late Wreck to Win Late Model Feature at Lebanon I-44 Speedway!


Staff member
Lebanon, MO; It looked like July was going to close out with the same two guys winning all the Late Model features, that is until turn four of the final lap.

Mike Slone of Rolla jumped out to the early lead in the Late Model feature, with last week’s winner Tony Jackson, Jr. in tow. Jackson and Slone pulled away from the field, putting on a great side by side battle for the lead, while Kyle Steffens tried to run the leaders down. Jackson would overtake Slone for the lead just past the 20 lap mark. Steffens got past second place Slone and set his sights on the leader Jackson. Chris Beaver would bring out a late race caution, setting up a 3 lap shootout for the win. Jackson kept the lead on the restart, with Slone getting the jump on Steffens and taking back the second position. Steffens would fight back, grabbing second and moving on to Jackson’s back bumper as the white flag came out. Jackson held off Steffens through turns one and two and the two headed in to three and four. Steffens dove low and tried to make the bottom stick, but it did not. Steffens plowed into the side of Jackson, taking both cars out and giving the lead to third place Slone. Slone would take the checkred flag for the second time of the night, after winning the Carget Motors Dash for Cash. Rookie Grant Sharp came home second, Ken Dickinson third, Mike VanNoy fourth, and Jimmy Vanzandt fifth.

Payton Lucas was looking to make it six feature wins in a row in the Pure Stocks, but Mike Scott and Steve Shaw stole the show from the young rookie. Shaw grabbed the early lead, with Scott coming on strong in the closing laps. Scott grabbed the lead late in the race, with Shaw staying right on his back bumper. Shaw dove to the bottom in turn four on the last lap, with Scott getting loose on the top. Scott bounced off the wall all the way down the front straightaway, with Shaw pulling up even with Scott. The two crossed the finish line side by side, with Scott being declared the winner by an eyelash.

Kyle Steffens made it back to back feature wins in the Modified feature, holding off Ken Dickinson to win his second feature in a row. Shane Roach came home third, point’s leader Jason Otto fourth, and Phil Harris rounded out the top five. Caston Jones of Belle enjoyed a productive evening in the Charger's division, taking the heat race and feature. In the Coca Cola Street Stocks, Mike Coryell of Lebanon prevailed over Fair Grove's Dale Roper, Jr. for his second consecutive feature victory.

The National Baby Grands were on hand to tour the 3/8 mile oval. Cole Williams of Sellersburg, Indiana had the fastest lap during time trials, averging nearly 83 miles per hour, with a lap of 16.46 seconds. Blake Isenberg of Bowling Green, Kentucky took the checkered flag over Williams in the first feature race. The result was reversed in the second 15 lap event, with Williams piloting his number 46 car to victory in front of Isenberg.

Another Monster Energy Chase for the Cup points night is coming up this Saturday at the I-44 Speedway. Gates will open at 5 followed by hot laps at 6 and racing at 7:30. Grandstand admissions are $10 for adults, $6 for juniors, and 10 and under are free. Tier Parking on the Budweiser Wild side is $12 for adults, $7 for juniors and children 10 and under are free. There is a $2 discount for all military and senior citizens over the age of 62.

July 31st Results:

Late Model heat winners: Mike Van Noy-Kansas City and Kyle Steffens-St. Charles

Carget Motors Dash for Cash: Mike Slone-Rolla

Modified heat winners: Terry Taylor-Fair Grove and Kyle Steffens-St. Charles

Pure Street heat winner: Steve Shaw-Rogersville

Street Stock heat winner: Mike Coryell-Lebanon

Chargers heat winner: Caston Jones-Belle

Baby Grands 1st feature:

1) Blake Isenberg-Bowling Green, Kentucky

2) Cole Williams-Sellersburg, Indiana

3) Tyler Scott-Nixa

4) Billy Mahoney-Brentwood, Tennessee

5) Pete Neimeier-Bowling Green, Kentucky

6) Austin Fullerton-Chelsea, Oklahoma

7) Chester McDowell-Springfield

8) Kevin Read-Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

9) Jody Moore-Arkansas

Baby Grands 2nd feature:

1) Cole Williams-Sellersburg, Indiana

2) Blake Isenberg-Bowling Green, Kentucky

3) Bill Christie-Shelbyville, Tennessee

4) Tyler Scott-Nixa

5) Austin Fullerton-Chelsea, Oklahoma

6) Pete Neimeier-Bowling Green, Kentucky

7) Jody Moore-Arkansas

8) Kevin Read-Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

9) Chester McDowell-Springfield

Late Model Feature:

1) Mike Slone-Rolla

2) Grant Sharp-Conway

3) Kenny Dickinson-Lebanon

4) Mike Van Noy-Kansas City

5) Jimmie Vanzandt-Springfield

6) Tony Jackson, Jr.-Lebanon

7) Kyle Steffens-St. Charles

8) Cris Beaver-Joplin

Modified Feature:

1) Kyle Steffens-St. Charles

2) Kenny Dickinson-Lebanon

3) Shane Roach-Lee's Summit

4) Jason Otto-Richland

5) Phil Harris-Springfield

6) Brian Brown-Springfield

7) Terry Taylor-Fair Grove

Chargers Feature:

1) Caston Jones-Belle

2) Sean Jones-Belle

3) Nick Moore-Richland

4) Josh Arl-Lebanon

5) Jimmy Poindexter-Willard

6) Larry Hunter-Laquey

7) Gary Davenport-Marshfield

Pure Street Feature:

1) Steve Scott-Rogersville

2) Steve Shaw-Rogersville

3) Payton Lucas-Fair Grove

4) Missy Shaw-Rogersville

Street Stock Feature:

1) Mike Coryell-Lebanon

2) Dale Roper, Jr.-Fair Grove

3) Rick Sharp-Fair Grove