Vance Wilson, Jason Pursley, and Ben Solberg top Lucas Oil Speedway Action


Staff member

Vance Wilson

John Pursley

Ben Solberg


Wheatland, MO (August 21st, 2010) - Vance Wilson scored the TNT Quick Shop ULMA Late Model Feature win while Jason Pursley topped the Pitt's Homes A-Modifieds and Ben Solberg captured the Carson's Corner Napa Factory Stocks Trophy on a picture perfect Budweiser Fan Appreciation night at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri.

For Frankford, Missouri's Wilson, it was his second win this week in ULMA Late Model Competition, as he also scored the Missouri State Fair Championship Win this past Tuesday evening at Sedalia's State Fair Speedway. Wilson held Walnut Grove, Missouri's Jeremy Kelley off at the end as two late race cautions stacked the field putting Kelley on his bumper with only a handful of laps remaining. Kelley gave it all he had after working his way from his sixth starting spot but it was Wilson crossing the AAA Start/Finish Line first. Kelley brought his GRT across the line in second while Browning, Missouri's Tommy Cordray worked the entire racing surface as he valiantly tried to get to the front eventually capturing third at the finish. Fulton, Missouri's Trace Westling ran in the Top-3 for most of the event with his GM 604 Crate Engine powered late model but could not hold off Cordray at the finish as Westling held on for fourth. Wheatland, Missouri's Andy Kennedy took the final spot in the Top-5 as 21 ULMA Late Models were on hand.

With school back in session at Skyline, the Skyline Superintendent Jason Pursley out of Wheatland, Missouri worked the slick Lucas Oil Speedway racing surface to perfection in his Allen Autosports A-Modified as he jumped to the lead from his outside front row starting position and never looked back to score his first Pitt's Homes A-Modified win of 2010. Pursley also moved into second place in the season long points battle as Shawn Nations was sidelined with mechanical issues. Galena, Missouri's Jesse Stovall also did not compete after voluntary pre-race technical inspection deemed his engine illegal for competition at Lucas Oil Speedway. Stovall continues to hold a 122 point lead with just two points races remaining on the 2010 season. Urbana, Missouri's Terry Kirk had a strong run to take the second spot while Fair Grove's Mickey Burrell finished in third. Colson Kirk finished in fourth giving the father-son duo of Terry and Colson Kirk a pair of Top-5 finishes. Buffalo, Missouri's Tracy Wolf held on to the fifth spot in the final rundown.

Springfield, Missouri's Ben Solberg won for the second week in a row in the Carson's Corner Napa Factory Stocks despite constant pressure from point leader Randy Gilmore throughout the main event. Gilmore held on for second scoring his best finish of 2010 increasing his point lead over Chris Hawkins to 38 points in the process with only two races remaining in the championship chase. Billings, Missouri's James Flood scored his third consecutive podium finish after resuming his racing program several weeks ago. Wheatland, Missouri's Chip Shaddox stalked the leaders throughout the race to score fourth in the final rundown with Hermitage, Missouri's Chris Tonoli picking up a Top-5 finish in the #71.

Complete and Updated Lucas Oil Speedway Points Standings can be found at

This Saturday, August 28th, the high powered open late models of the Lucas Oil MLRA make their fourth and final appearance of 2010 as the Pitt's Homes A-Modifieds and Carson' Corner Napa Factory Stocks will also be on the racing card for a huge night of racing action at the "Diamond of Dirt Tracks". Visit for details on this upcoming event and all events on the 2010 schedule at the "Diamond of Dirt Tracks".

TNT Quick Shop ULMA Latemodels 8/21/2010
A-Feature:1. Vance Wilson (Frankford, MO), 2. Jeremy Kelley (Walnut Grove, MO), 3. Tommy Cordray (Browning, MO), 4. Trace Westling (Fulton, MO), 5. Andy Kennedy (Wheatland, MO), 6. Danny Monroe (Jamestown, Mo), 7. Darren Turner, 8. Robert Wright (Fulton, Mo), 9. Chris Cox (Jefferson City, MO), 10. Danny Lorton (Moberly, Mo), 11. David Gemes (Warsaw, MO), 12. John Fellers (Flemington, MO), 13. Walter Imhoff (Jamestown, Mo), 14. Ashley Lancaster, 15. Ezekiel Langley (Ashland, MO), 16. James Stafford (Hartsburg, MO), 17. Gerald Gann (Lebanon, MO), 18. Harlen Kennedy (Wheatland, MO), 19. R.D. Peterson (Springfield, MO), 20. Brad Cook (Crane, MO),

Heat 1:1. Trace Westling (Fulton, MO), 2. Andy Kennedy (Wheatland, MO), 3. Harlen Kennedy (Wheatland, MO), 4. Darren Turner, 5. John Fellers (Flemington, MO), 6. Gerald Gann (Lebanon, MO), 7. Danny Lorton (Moberly, Mo),

Heat 2:1. Chris Cox (Jefferson City, MO), 2. Tommy Cordray (Browning, MO), 3. R.D. Peterson (Springfield, MO), 4. Walter Imhoff (Jamestown, Mo), 5. Danny Monroe (Jamestown, Mo), 6. David Gemes (Warsaw, MO), 7. Ezekiel Langley (Ashland, MO),

Heat 3:1. Vance Wilson (Frankford, MO), 2. Jeremy Kelley (Walnut Grove, MO), 3. Robert Wright (Fulton, Mo), 4. Ashley Lancaster, 5. Brad Cook (Crane, MO), 6. James Stafford (Hartsburg, MO),

Pitt's Homes A-Modifieds 8/21/2010
A-Feature:1. Jason Pursley (Wheatland, MO), 2. Terry Kirk (Urbana, MO), 3. Mickey Burrell (Fair Grove, MO), 4. Colson Kirk (Urbana, MO), 5. Tracy Wolf (Buffalo, Mo), 6. Eric Lampe (Nixa, MO), 7. Jon Sheets (Nevada, MO), 8. Chase Domer (Nevada, MO), 9. Jeremy Kelley (Walnut Grove, MO), 10. Mike Hoover (Mexico, MO), 11. Jim Cihy (Warsaw, MO), 12. Jordan McCrimmon (Bolivar, MO),

Heat 1:1. Jason Pursley (Wheatland, MO), 2. Chase Domer (Nevada, MO), 3. Colson Kirk (Urbana, MO), 4. Tracy Wolf (Buffalo, Mo), 5. Jon Sheets (Nevada, MO), 6. Jim Cihy (Warsaw, MO),

Heat 2:1. Mickey Burrell (Fair Grove, MO), 2. Terry Kirk (Urbana, MO), 3. Mike Hoover (Mexico, MO), 4. Eric Lampe (Nixa, MO), 5. Jeremy Kelley (Walnut Grove, MO), 6. Jordan McCrimmon (Bolivar, MO),

Carson's Corner Napa Factory Stock 8/21/2010
A-Feature:1. Ben Solberg (Springfield, MO), 2. Randy Gilmore (Wheatland, MO), 3. James Flood (Billings, Mo), 4. Chip Shaddox (Wheatland, MO), 5. Chris Tonoli (Hermitage, MO), 6. Eddie Barnes (Warsaw, MO), 7. Chris Hawkins (Neosho, MO), 8. Allen Thompson (Springfield, Mo), 9. Bradley Gideon (Nixa, MO), 10. Timothy McMurtry (Warsaw, MO), 11. Michael Plummer, 12. Thomas Maples (Warsaw, Mo), 13. Greg Borden (Reeds Springs, MO), 14. Mike Bitner (Frontenac, KS), 15. Keith Webster (Highlandville, MO), 16. Brian Eckhoff (Higginsville, MO),

Heat 1:1. James Flood (Billings, Mo), 2. Ben Solberg (Springfield, MO), 3. Keith Webster (Highlandville, MO), 4. Eddie Barnes (Warsaw, MO), 5. Greg Borden (Reeds Springs, MO), 6. Michael Plummer,

Heat 2:1. Randy Gilmore (Wheatland, MO), 2. Chip Shaddox (Wheatland, MO), 3. Allen Thompson (Springfield, Mo), 4. Mike Bitner (Frontenac, KS), 5. Timothy McMurtry (Warsaw, MO),