Young Guns Steal Show at I-44 Speedway Fall Shootout


Staff member
Lebanon, MO; The engines fired for the final time of the 2010 season on Saturday night at the Lebanon I-44 Speedway as fans and drivers alike packed the speedway for the 2010 Fall Shootout.

Warm, dry weather led to slick and exciting qualifying heat races. Tony Jackson, Jr. and Mike Slone took home the Late Model heat races, making them eligible for an extra $200 if they took the Carget Motors Challenge and started last in the 17-car field for the 50 lap, $1,000.00 to win feature. Jackson and Slone both quickly accepted the challenge and would drop to the back of the Late Model field for the feature.

Robert Baltzell and Grant Sharp would jump out the early lead in the 50 lap Late Model feature with the rest of the field battling side by side, two and three wide in the early going. Young gun Justin Jennings of Hannibal quickly made his way through the field after starting mid pack in the 17 car field. Jennings passed Sharp for second and set his sights on leader Baltzell, making his move to the bottom going into turn three and taking the lead just as the caution flag came out. Baltzell would regain the lead with the field going back to the last completed lap when the green flag came back out. Jennings would regain the lead on the restart as Jackson, coming all the way through the field from last, tried to make his way around Sharp and Balztell. Jackson would move into second place and set his sights on the leader Jennings as the caution flag flew for a huge wreck in turn two collecting Slone, Joe Ross, Terry Smith and Caleb Hall. Smith’s night would be finished after his wild ride on the Budweiser wild side sent him airborne and into the turn two concrete wall. Smith was ok, but his car was not and he was unable to rejoin the field on the restart. Slone would once again have to go to the back of the field after the caution, and quickly started coming back through the field on the restart as Jackson and Jennings battled for the lead. Jennings held Jackson off for several laps until Jackson’s car started fading back after a cut right rear tire ended his hopes of taking home the feature win. Sharp took over second place with Slone charging his way through the field up to third the caution flew once again for a spin in turn four involving Chris Beaver. Slone would make his way around Sharp on the restart, with Jennings still out in front. Jennings held his ground up front and never made a mistake as the 17 year old would hold off Slone over the final 15 lap dash to the finish. Slone would come home second while Grant Sharp came home third. Ken Dickinson and Joe Ross held off a hornets’ nest of cars all battling for a top five position in the final laps, to bring home fourth and fifth.

The Chargers would get the feature action under way but not until running the final Carget Motors Dash for Cash of the season. Caston Jones took the lead from Gary Davenport with two laps to go and held on for the win and the cash. The 20 lap Charger feature provided plenty of excitement with three and four wide racing the entire way. Nick Moore brought out the caution on lap 18 after hitting the turn four concrete after a right front tire went down on his machine. Gary Davenport led the field back to green and held off a hard charge from Jones and Shawn Winfrey to take home the win.

Mike Coryell got the early lead in the Modified feature with Terry Taylor and Shane Roach all over his back bumper. Roach’s night would end early as motor problems took him out of the action near the midpoint of the 25 lap feature. Brian Brown came from back in the field to quickly put himself into contention on the restart as Coryell tried to hold the field off. Coryell stretched his lead to about 10 car lengths and looked to be on the way to his first ever Modified feature win until a late race caution was brought out by a spin in turn two. Taylor and Brown charged hard on the restart but Coryell was able to hold them off and take home his first ever Modified feature win. Taylor was second, Brown third, Tim Swearengin fourth and Rocky Rash rounded out the top five.

Mike Scott and Steve Shaw led the Pure Street field to the green in their 15 lap feature and stayed side by side for the lead with Payton Lucas and Riley Sharp hounding them both for the lead. The field went three wide several times for the lead until “The Kid” , Payton Lucas, finally went three wide through the middle in turns three and four to take the lead on lap 10. Lucas would never look back and would take home the feature win to sweep the evening. Shaw came home second, Sharp third, Scott fourth and Jim Brenner rounded out the top five.

Next onto the Speedway was the Coca-Cola Street Stock 20 lap feature. After waiting for Payton Lucas to refuel his car to run double duty in the Pure Street and Street Stock divisions, the green flag flew with young Stephen Counterman jumping out to the early lead. Veteran driver Rick Sharp hounded the young driver for several laps before finally taking the lead near the midpoint of the feature. Sharp would go on to take his first feature win at I-44 Speedway since 1991, with Counterman coming home in second. Lucas and Gary Borrows had a great battle for third all race long with Lucas gaining the advantage coming to the checkers, Barrows came home fourth and David Jennings rounded out the top five.

The Fall Shootout concluded a very exciting first year back to asphalt at the Lebanon I-44 Speedway. The final rules meetings for the 2011 season were held on Saturday afternoon before the races, helping finalize the rules for next season. The final rules will be released in the next two weeks to help everyone get an early start for next year. “We really appreciate everyone who came and supported us this season,” said manager Brennon Willard. “We had a great first year back and are ready for next May to hurry up and get here.” Opening night for the 2011 season will be on Saturday May 7, 2011.

Late Model - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Race Points
1 - 56X Justin Jennings - 0.00
2 - 77 Mike Slone - 0.00
3 - 2 Grant Sharp - 0.00
4 - 21 Ken Dickinson - 0.00
5 - 27 Joe Ross - 0.00
6 - 10 Dale Roper Jr - 0.00
7 - 24 David Wilson - 0.00
8 - 38 Crispen Beaver - 0.00
9 - 16 Robert Baltzell - 0.00
10 - 69 Caleb Hall - 0.00
11 - 35 Steve Holt - 0.00
12 - 21X Rodney Phillips - 0.00
13 - 56 Tony Jackson, Jr - 0.00
14 - 7 Jeremy Manes - 0.00
15 - 98 Terry Smith - 0.00
16 - 6 Dale Roper Sr. - 0.00
17 - 07 Terry Limberpoulos - 0.00

Modified - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Race Points
1 - 5 Mike Coryell - 0.00
2 - 66 Terrance Taylor - 0.00
3 - 2 Brian Brown - 0.00
4 - 51 Tim Swearengin - 0.00
5 - 1 Rocky Rash - 0.00
6 - 99 Kevin Blackburn - 0.00
7 - 22 Shane Roach - 0.00
8 - 18 Jim Reaves - 0.00

Street Stock - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Race Points
1 - 10 Rick Sharp - 0.00
2 - 70 Stephen Counterman - 0.00
3 - 26 Payton Lucas - 0.00
4 - 21 Gary Barrows - 0.00
5 - 33 David Jennings - 0.00

Pure Street - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Race Points
1 - 26 Payton Lucas - 0.00
2 - 90 Stephen Shaw - 0.00
3 - 91 Riley Sharp - 0.00
4 - 33 Mike Scott - 0.00
5 - 7 Jim Brenner - 0.00

Charger - Dash for Cash
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Race Points
1 - 34 Caston Jones - 0.00
2 - 10 Gary Davenport - 0.00
3 - 12 Nick Moore - 0.00
4 - 42 Shawn Winfrey - 0.00
5 - 7 Shawn Jones - 0.00
6 - 74 Larry Hunter - 0.00
7 - 0 John Smith - 0.00
8 - 5 Jimmy Poindexter - 0.00