Bogus Mini-stock Rule

pwracing

Last season I began helping a mini-stock team. Sounded fun and I didn't have an engine in that class yet. Besides that, the person is a long time personal friend and our families have been friends for a long time. We all grew up in Delassus and being that its so close to Doe Run we were kind of excited to race so close to our old stomping grounds. Problem is, I am a parts manager of a General Motors dealership and I promote Chevrolet as much as I can for obvious reasons. Making a 2.5 engine perform isn't too hard to do. Making it stay together with inferior stock rods is another story! Last year after our first rod failure we asked if we could run aftermarket rods and were told we could. We finished the season with no other failures and managed a feature victory. At the rules meeting the following winter for some reason we were told that there would be no more using aftermarket rods. What was the thinking there? Do you want a Ford only show, was Brian coming on a little too fast for the good ole boys? I was told over the weekend that the 57 is going to consider running a Ford next year. As an engine builder I guess I can go in that direction if I choose but as a manager of a GM store,SCREW THAT!!! If you all can't see your way to letting us have the one thing we need to make our engines live, then why should I support your track or that class. There is no performance edge in using those rods, they are not even as light as the stock rods. I guess all of this wouldn't have rubbed me the wrong way so bad except for the fact that the so called tech man Cruise came up to Brian a couple of weeks into the season and told him he was turning to much RPM for a stock rod motor and wanted to tear him down. What the hell was that all about? But I guess he is happy now, since we broke a rod like the 5 other guys out there that have had motor failure with a 2.5. Bottom line is, you want our support and our money at the gate, change the rule. I don'