How to get started?

ls1car

I want to start racing in this class. To start I have no real racing experience but in a straight line. Should I buy a complete car? I just want something decent to race for a season or two and upgrade. I dont care about being competitive just getting into it. What are some of the hidden cost? Is this a growing class? I want to run in Tri -citys regular friday program. How much does it cost to enter? Also what fuel is used in these cars? I saw on the site it said race gas but could be tested any time so what do they want you to run? Also do you think I am nuts? thanks

i have a complete car turnkey with all the goodies on the classifieds i just ran it saturday at mcs the car is very fast..you can call me at 314-471-3197

I do not race late models, however I have been around racing forever. Your wallet is the thing that will guide you through this. The best way to get into any racing is finding someone who is done and buy out thier complete operation. Too often someone finds a rolling chassis and the price is attractive, however by the time they are done buying the support equipment and spares they are in way deeper than buying someone out.
I have done it both ways and by far I came out ahead buying someone out.
If you know any late model guys ask them questions, racers all tend to want to help out someone getting started.
Good luck
Jeff

yes that seems to be true I found a bunch of rollers but also think buying a complete one will be cheaper. I found a guy that is getting out of it and selling alot of spare parts with the car for a decent price turn key. What kind of support equipment do I need? thanks

Again I do not race late models, however I am certain a lot of things are common.