What is with the announcer at I-55?

bloomerlver

What is with the announcer at I-55? Where I used to live the announcer talked about racing not telling jokes and making fun of people. He announced every driver talked about every driver and announced the entire line up and finish. I'm still learning these driver and I'm having a hard time learning which driver drives which car because when he says the line up he gives some of the number with the name of the driver and other times he just says the name with no number.

Saturday night he talked about a strip club. I thought this was a family event, all the kids who were around me asked their parents what the place was.

What happened to talking about the drivers and races?

Kathy Johnston

Hey Kathy,

I agree with you. I am local and know most of the drivers as it is, but it would nice if when doing the line up he did the line up and said the car number and name of the driver. When the race is going on Mike only talks about certain drivers and Paul talked about the drivers in the Sportsman and Pro 4 class, it was interesting to know who was who. I would also like for the entire finish to be announced but not many announcers anywhere do that anymore.

The jokes and the stupid things said about people must be funny to some but not to me or my family. No offense all who love the entertainment, I go the races for races not comedy night. The girl (maybe 9) sitting next to me at Pevely ask her mother if they could go to that place he keeps talking about, Mike she wanted to know if she could go to the Hustler Club, this is a family place.

I have no problem with announcers saying who the sponsors are on a race car (I don't think Larry Flint's Hustler Club was a sponsor) but I know the Pure Pleasure sponsored a few cars, but if that is the case then just announce the place of businiess and be done with it. When you draw attention to it over and over and over again people retain it especially children.